Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #3: Beet-Cured Salmon Gravlax with Beetroot Slaw, Beetroot Dip and Beetroot Crisps

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

salmon 1.jpg

Hello,

Me again back for another contest in Steemit :-) This time I'm submitting my entry for Steemit Iron Chef with the theme: beetroot. It's not easy making a dish with beetroot as a main ingredients as it has earthy taste. Many people dont like it, including my partner :-D The last time I made something with beetroot, he clearly said to me that he didn't like the taste of beetroots. It felt like eating soil, hehe..

Well, I dont just give up like that. With this week's theme of SIC, I was trying to make a beautiful and varied dish with beetroots. I also used three types of beetroots for this special occasion: red beetroot, yellow chiaggio beetroot and red chiaggio beetroot. I just wanted to know how does each variety taste. And yes, they have a different taste, one variety is less earthy, the other one is so earthy but sweeter and so on. I learned a lot about beetroot this week. Thanks to @progressivechef for giving such a great theme :-)

Beet-Cured Salmon Gravlax

Ingredients

  • 4 small red beetroots
  • 155 gr sea salt
  • 95 gr granulated sugar
  • 400 gr fresh salmon with skin
  • a bunch of fresh dill, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp coriander seeds, crushed

Methods

  • Pat the salmon dry, set aside.
  • Grate beetroot then mix well with salt, sugar, dill and coriander.
  • In a tray, place the salmon skin down, then pour the mixture over the salmon.
  • Cover with cling wrap, put another tray on top, press it lightly, then place something heavy to weigh on top of salmon to speed up the process.
  • Leave it in the fridge overnight then flip over, remove the excess water and cover again with clean cling wrap. Let it rest overnight again.
  • Rinse the salmon with running water, pat it dry and cut into thin slices before serving :-)

salmon 6.jpg

Beetroot Slaw

Ingredients

  • 3 small golden beetroots, peeled and grated
  • 1 medium carrot, peeled and grated
  • 1 spring onion, finely chopped
  • 1/3 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp honey
  • zest from one orange
  • salt and pepper to taste

Methods

  • In a bowl, mix beetroot, carrot and spring onion. Set aside.
  • In a small bowl, mix yogurt, honey, orange's zest, salt and pepper.
  • Pour in the salad dressing into the veggies bowl.
  • Ready to serve.

salmon 7.jpg

Beetroot Crisps

Ingredients

  • 2 chioggia beetroots, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp herbs of Provence
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Methods

  • Preheat oven to 200°C and line baking tray with parchment paper or silicone baking mat. Set aside.
  • Toss all ingredients in a bowl. Spread the beetroots onto the pan.
  • Bake for 10-13 minutes or until crisps.
  • Allow to cool.

salmon 5.jpg

Beetroot Dip

Ingredients

  • 2 vacuum pack red beetroots
  • a bunch of fresh thyme
  • 3 tbsp heavy cream
  • salt and pepper to taste

Methods

  • In a bowl of a food processor, place all the ingredients, pulse until smooth.
  • Transfer to a clean bowl.
  • Ready to serve.

salmon 4.jpg

Oh wow, that was quite a long recipe :-D But they are actually simple recipes so it's not complicated, only the beet-cured salmon needs a long process. But it's worth the wait :-) I served the whole thing with my homemade marbled rye bread and added some arugula for the greens. I have just had this for my breakfast and I can tell you that it's so amazing :-) It felt like you're having a breakfast in a restaurant.

salmon 2.jpg

If you like my post, please dont hesitate to upvote and like my post. Thank you for reading :-)

Best,
signature-fonts

All work and photos are original and mine. Photos were taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000.

Sort:  

Everything looks spectacular! I really like the idea of the beetroot crisps

Thanks @jeffjagoe! Yours is simple but looks so fresh and beautiful with such a vibrant color :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ikaputri3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

love the look of your dish ... sounds like it was very tasty ... here I could only find the red beetroots ... I would have loved to try the other varieties

Thanks @globaldoodlegems! Your beetroot dessert looks amazing as well. I am lucky because my organic shop close to my home has a lot of choices for fresh veggies. And I was just on time so I could grab some varieties of beetroots :-)

Hi my dear! What a great entry this week! It look so beautiful and very tasty, and well presented .

Thank you very much my dear @creativewoman for your kind words. Hope my entry meets the expectation of the judge :-)

I can assure you that the 'judge' is really very impressed by all your entries so far! And he has big hopes on you!

Glad to hear that but it also gives me such a pressure :-D

Lovely surprise and what a great entry. I love everything about this dish so thoughtfully and artistically put together @ikaputri3 - One day, you have got to publish an e-cookbook or something to add all your wonderful recipes. And, I'll be the first in line to get this book. An autograph from you would be appreciated as well.

Kini, I dont know what to say. I am touched. It makes me crying. I'm speechless and super happy. Would love to meet you in real life one day. Many many thanks Kini! I really appreciate it ❤️

Please seriously consider it though - I really think your dishes are at such high level that people would appreciate having access to them.

I also think the e-book and your future bake shop would tie in well together. I sense that you are passionate about food and even more passionate to making people happy through food, and it's very evident in all your posts!

Please do seriously consider it and I would love to meet you one day too! Maybe on the grand opening of your bake shop, xoxo

I've been considering it since YESTERDAY, after receiving a big motivation from you. I am still struggling to find a good name for branding. Anyway, I'll keep you updated. Million thanks Kini! I have never felt so motivated like this. If the e-book and bake shop come true, you'll be the first person to know. XoXo

Bah, moi aussi, je t'ai dis à plusieurs reprises de créer des ebooks... -_-

Je le considère mais pas tout de suite.

Ca a l'air trop trop bon, j'adore les betteraves ! Tu es hyper douée :-)

Merci beaucoup Christel! Ça m'a fait bien plaisir de lire ton gentil commentaire. J'ai découvert pas mal de variétés de betteraves pour ce concours. Je finis par les adorer :-)

Thanks for sharing @ikaputri3!. WOW, what a beautiful dish with wonderful components! I should try your recipe as I've made beet-cured gravlax before but I wasn't successful. This motivates me to try making it again. And love your crisps!.

This was my first time and luckily, it turned out great (for my palate :-D). Thanks for your nice comments :-)

You again activated that full creativity mode I noticed my friend! What a tempting platter! Wow! You transformed the beets in such amazing ways!
Beautiful again.

Thanks chef! Glad that you liked it. I'm currently learning more about plat gastronomique, plating, etc. Oh gosh, it's hard. I dont think I can handle it :-D

The beet cured salmon looks so pretty. I think the salmon, beet and rye would be so delicious! Your photos look so professional!

Thank you @chefsteve for your nice comment. I really appreciate it. I'm still learning about food photography :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62539.28
ETH 2437.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67