Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 07: Wild Spring Grill Carnival - Elephant Garlic Spring Leeks with Wild Carrots and Dandelion Roots

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

A perennial leek that grows like a weed? And is delicious? Yes! Come into my post and get to know the elephant garlic. And then enjoy a wonderful plate of grilled elephant garlic stalks, with wild carrots and dandelion roots, too.

x leeks and roots TN.jpg


Rooting Around For Roots

Elephant garlic is a variant of the leek. But it's perennial and can spread like a weed! Most people that grow elephant garlic only harvest the big bulbs that split into cloves like garlic. But there are so many different ways to use almost every part of elephant garlic!

In the spring, the young elephant garlic stalks make great Spring Leeks. Here in Oregon's Willamette Valley, it's still a little early to harvest them for leeks. But the Steemit Iron Chef special ingredient this week is leeks, so I'm headed out to dig up a clump. There are plenty out there!

x leeks and roots 7.jpg
Elephant garlic spreads like a weed around here. Each year, the bulbs split into cloves and make larger and larger clumps of leaves and stalks that I harvest as spring leeks -- without planting them or taking care of them at all!

While I'm wandering with my shovel, I may as well dig up some other roots, too. Wild carrots are so good when they are cooked until they are tender. And this is a great time to get their roots - before the plants really start growing in the spring. And I'll dig a few dandelion roots, too. They have a parsnip flavor when they are cooked -- and leeks and parsnips go great together!

x leeks and roots 8.jpg
Top left: Wild carrot. Top right: Poison Hemlock. Don't get them confused! Poison hemlock is deadly, but wild carrots are delicious! Bottom left: Wild field mustard flowers - for a garnish! Bottom right: Dandelions. These are too scrawny for using the leaves, so they are good choices for digging for the roots.

Here's a tip: Do not clean those roots in the kitchen! You will get in trouble, even if you live alone. Instead, let the roots soak in a bucket of water for an hour. Then the soil swishes right off, leaving all that mud in the bucket.

x leeks and roots 4.jpg
Left: Wild carrot. Middle: Elephant garlic. Right: Dandelion. Look at those long dandelion roots! I dug them out of a wood chip pile!


In the Kitchen

There's a little preparation in the kitchen, but not too much. The big bulbs around the elephant garlic are from last year, so they are beginning to get a little pithy now. But their inner core is new growth, like the familiar leek. I'll show you what I do with the bulbs - and the leaves - in future posts. But for now, I'm interested in the leek-like stalk.

x leeks and roots 5.jpg
Left to right: Wild carrots, elephant garlic, dandelion.

I lightly peel the carrot and dandelion roots - and then steam them until they are tender. Then I grill all 3 on a cast iron grill pan with a little olive oil. It doesn't take long. I also make a reduction from my Spruce Tree Balsamic Vinegar that I have written about before.

x leeks and roots 6.jpg
Left to right: Wild carrots, elephant garlic, dandelion.


Serving It Up!

I stack my grilled elephant garlic leeks, wild carrots, and dandelion roots. I top them with a chiffonade of dandelion leaves and flowers from wild field mustard. And then I drizzle on my Spruce Tree Balsamic Vinegar reduction, with the soft spruce needles included. It's a springtime party!

x leeks and roots 3.jpg
The elephant garlic stalks are tender and taste like grilled leeks with a wonderful char on them.

x leeks and roots 2.jpg
The dandelion roots taste like parsnips and the wild carrots have real carrot flavor. Both are tender and delicious! The Elysian BiFrost Winter Ale is a good match with these roots on a cold, rainy night!

x leeks and roots TN.jpg
So good with the balsamic vinegar reduction and the spruce needles! It's a wild-looking plate, but hey, they are wild plants, after all.

x leeks and roots 1.jpg
I would have been happy to pay money for this at a restaurant -- it's really, really good! But it didn't cost me much of anything. Thanks, homestead, for all your weeds!


What Do You Think?

  • Do you grow or forage Elephant Garlic?
  • Do you forage Dandelion roots or Wild Carrots?
  • Do you forage for any wild food?
  • What's your favorite root to eat?
  • Would you eat my Wild Spring Grill Carnival?

I eat a lot of wild plants and show you how, because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wild places.

Thanks @progressivechef for creating the Steemit Iron Chef contest series!

I try to make content that's interesting! If you found this informative and helpful, please give it an upvote and a resteem.


Plant List

  • Elephant Garlic Allium ampeloprasum var. ampeloprasum
  • Dandelion Taraxacum officinale
  • Wild Field Mustard Brassica rapa
  • Wild Carrot Daucus carota
  • Spruce Picea spp.
  • Poison Hemlock - Conium maculatum - DO NOT EAT!

Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

This is so amazing! I urgently want my own garden where I can dig out any root I want! I remember my grandmother trying to get rid off the dandelion plants (there must have been thousands around the house and everywhere on the farm) by digging them out ... it was like tilting windmills! If she would have known that shu could simply eat them up, there wouldn't have been a lot left over! 😆

Oh! What I actually wanted to say was: congratulations on your well deserved first prize @haphazard-hstead! It's more than deserved!

Thanks, @pusteblume! It was a real surprise!

A wonderful surprise! 😃

haha -- eating the weeds is a good gardening strategy! It seems wrong to hope that you have a lot of weeds in your future garden, but if they are good eating weeds, then it's OK. ; )

looks absolutely delicious! I just got some elephant garlic at the store and was going to plant it! :) I'll let you know how it goes! I have gotten my friends very excited about the nuts you gave me at the Portland meetup! I'm going to try to skewer them with some salt and garlic tomorrow.

Thanks, @nickh725! Elephant garlic is a great plant to get started somewhere nearby. It likes the Pacific Northwest climate. I wonder how your ginkgo grilling turned out!

I really do envy you. ..you live so close to nature...as much free from the contaminants as possible
You have access to healthy organic food...that is great...
Do tell me how did you recognise all those wild vegetables, did you had botany as a major????

I try to learn some new plants every year. I have had botany classes, but not as a major. Maybe that's an interesting topic -- about how to learn plants with confidence. It's a lifelong process -- and there's more to know than anyone can learn in a lifetime. I think a good place to start is to learn the trees nearby. Because they will be there year after year. I hope you can enjoy some nature around you, too, @xabi!

So its a life long practice. ..hmm

Yes. When I think about how much free, fresh, delicious wild food I have eaten over my life, it's pretty amazing.

I would eat your dish without hesitation, it looks so appetizing.
I also tell you that Dandelion has multiple properties for health, it could also have a powerful anticancer affection that could be up to 100 times more powerful than chemotherapy. The tea of ​​the dandelion roots acts on the cancer cells in such a way that some can disintegrate up to a time of 48 hours.
Scientists who have researched the plant have discovered that the root can work better than chemotherapy when it comes to treating cancer, since it kills only cancer cells, preventing the damage of healthy cells as chemotherapy usually does.
I know of people who have been using the roots as you do to get the cancer and it has worked for them, besides it has more benefits for the benefit of the human body.
When they begin to grow in my garden the dandelion, I strengthen them with magnesium water and I eat the leaves from the flowers and even the roots that make it, now I will use the roots as you do.
I love your post I learn a lot thanks
Have a nice night @haphazard-hstead

Dandelions are great plants, that's for sure. The big, old roots are not so good for eating like this. But the younger plants have tender roots that taste good. You are a good caretaker of your dandelions! Happy foraging!

My, but you would be a handy fellow to have around. I am very envious of your knowledge of edible plants. I will stay clear of the poisonous hemlock. I do recall looking at that plant and noting a similarity to carrot greens. Fortunately I did not partake.

Wild carrots and poison hemlock can grow right next to each other. But once you have a mental image, it's not hard to tell them apart. And the smell of their roots is so different! The poison hemlock smells like a rat cage that hasn't been cleaned out in awhile, lol. Not at all like a carrot.

That is good to know ... watch for the smell:)

Yes, a good sense of smell is a big help in foraging for so many plants and mushrooms! :D

As always a wonderful post about how to cook delicious dishes from wild plants! If I ever go to a survival quest, I'll know what to read to see what can be eaten in the wild from the plants!

There are so many good wild plants to eat, especially in the spring time. It's easier than shopping at the grocery store. ; )

Beautiful dish! I like the way you decorated it with the yellow flowers... Nice photos! ;)

Good luck for the Steemit Iron Chef! ;))

Thanks, @tangmo! I'm getting so fancy these days, lol. ; ) I think your good luck helped -- because I got 1st place this week! I was so surprised!

You're welcome! Ah! My wish for you comes true..... Congratulation! You did really great job! ;)

There are always so many great entries from everyone else! Most of the time, I am just happy to get my cooking done by the deadline, lol. ; )

Ha ha! And I'm happy to see your beautiful dishes in the Steemit Iron Chef! ;D

I really love to eat spring greens! She restores my strength! Wild carrots and dandelions are my favorite plants! Thank you @haphazard-hstead!

Thanks, @olga.maslievich! I'm glad you enjoy nature's bounty, too! Here's to lots of spring greens this season!

SIMPLY AMAZING!!! The plate is wild, but I think now you know how much I love wild plants!
The nature really gives us awesome produce...we just have to look for them and be guided by someone passionate like you!
Each week I spend quite long minutes admiring your dishes and your words on the SIC post! Lovely!

Thanks, @progressivechef! And what a surprise to learn about this week's results! It really is amazing how much wonderful food is out there -- unappreciated. It's real food. And really delicious! :D

congrats on your win! this dish looks so beautiful, all available free and organic from nature!

Thank you, @celestualcow! Nature has a lot to offer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32