Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 02 : Wild Slaw Trio

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

Cabbage, weeds, a trio of homestead vinegars and other harvests, and vegan beer brats! It's a wild slaw celebration - 3 kinds of cabbages, 3 kinds of coleslaw. One plate of deliciousness!

x wild slaw trio TN.jpg


Getting My Ingredients Together

I struggled with this round of the Steemit Iron Chef. I'm a big fan of cabbage, but all I could envision is homestead-style cabbage. Not anything elevated. But then, I just started wandering around in my yard, collecting weeds. I brought them into the kitchen and then it all made sense.

x wild slaw trio 0.jpg

It's still late winter, but I'm finding some good wild greens out in my yard. And I've got a few things put by, too, from last year.

  1. The Bittercress is coming on strong. It's one of the earliest edible weeds of the year and is a relative of cabbage.
  2. Almost the last apple of the ones I foraged last fall and used in my Wild Apple Snow for the 2017 Steemit Iron Chef contest.
  3. Young curly dock leaves are just emerging from their perennial rootstocks.
  4. Homemade raisins from the seedless green grapes that have grown on this homestead for decades and decades.
  5. Wild chives or wild garlic, whichever common name you prefer. It is a garlic, Allium vinale, but it has the form and taste of chives in the winter.
  6. Homegrown sunflower seeds.
  7. Fennel leaves.
  8. Hedge mustard - it's a cabbage relative, too.

x wild slaw trio 1.jpg
Homemade vinegars and Vegan Beer Brats from Hood River, Oregon.

I'm glad I made these different vinegars last year! On the left is a vinegar I use to pickle hop shoots in the early spring. You can see how to make it in my video - How to Pickle Hop Shoots. I ate all the hop shoots, they are so good! But I saved the pickle juice and added the inner parts of Yucca flowers and Cat's Tongue mushrooms. The little Yucca flowers are floating in the left bowl. Here's my post about harvesting them. They are refrigerator pickles, not preserved. But it all takes on a peppercorn kick - so good!

In the middle is my Spruce Tree Balsamic Vinegar. It has such a wonderful spruce flavor and aroma! It's a blue ribbon prize winner from my local county fair.

On the right is my Elephant Garlic Flower vinegar. Every year, I allow some of my Elephant Garlic to flower, because the flowerheads are so huge, the bees love them, and I can eat the flowers. This vinegar smells just like Garlic Bread. It's amazing! I added dried Redbud flowers to the vinegar, too. I harvest a lot of Redbud flowers in the spring.


Serving It Up!

x wild slaw trio 5.jpg
Thee cabbages, three slaws, vegan beer brats, and a local Nut Brown Ale! Each slaw is so different - and each slaw is so amazing and full of flavor!

x wild slaw trio 2.jpg
First up. Red cabbage marinated in the elephant garlic flower vinegar and added dried redbud flowers. Mixed with fresh bittercress and topped with sunflower seeds. I couldn't taste the redbud flowers, but that's OK. This is amazing! The gentle garlic flavor of the vinegar, the pepper/mustard kick of bittercress, and the nuttiness of the sunflower seeds go together so well.

x wild slaw trio 3.jpg
Act II. Green cabbage marinated in the pickled hop shoot vinegar, along with the wild chived. Mixed with fresh Hedge Mustard and topped with 2 pickled Yucca flower centers. It's great! The garlic-peppercorn flavor, with the chives, and the basic greens flavor of the hedge mustard -- it all goes together perfectly!

x wild slaw trio 4.jpg
The finale. Napa cabbage marinated in the Spruce Tree Balsamic vinegar with the Yellow Dock. Mixed with fine slices of fresh apples, fennel leaves, and sliced raisins. This is a sweet slaw, with the lemon flavor of the dock, a light licorice touch from the fennel, a bright sweetness from the apple and raisins. It doesn't get any better than this!

x wild slaw trio 6.jpg
I sauted the beer brat slices until they were slightly crisp. They are perfect complement to the three slaws. With a slice of good bread, it's perfect. I don't think you could find any of these slaws at any restaurant! But you can make them yourself and eat even better!


What Do You Think?

  • Do you like flavored vinegars?
  • Do you forage for any wild food?
  • Would you eat my wild cole slaw trio?
  • Which one is your favorite?

I eat a lot of wild plants and show you how, because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wild places.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!

Thanks @progressivechef for creating the Steemit Iron Chef contest series!

I try to make content that's interesting! If you found this informative and helpful, please give it an upvote and a resteem.


Plant List

  • Bittercress - Cardamine hirsuta - tender leaves and stems
  • Hedge mustard - Sisymbrium officinale - young leaves
  • Yucca - Yucca gloriosa - flower centers
  • Sunflower - Helianthus annuus - seeds
  • Curly Dock - Rumex crispus - young leaves
  • Eastern Redbud - Cercis canadensis - flowers
  • Elephant garlic - Allium ampeloprasum - flowers preserved in vinegar
  • Fennel - Foeniculum vulgare - young leaves
  • Wild chives - Allium vinale - young leaves

Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

You always amaze me by what you find growing around your house. Even during the winter months. Good luck!

Maybe I should be embarrassed that I have so many weeds, lol. I think people would be surprised how much good eating they would find in their yard if they let it go a little more wild and then look closely. There's so much food out there!

I love wild gardens... wouldn't change ours for a neatly mowed grass patch with nicely categorized plants. I love it wild... although I am not too fond of some of the wild critters that are hiding beneath those wild bushes and grasses. We had a Malayan pit viper in the garden the other day... such a scary animal... but hey they are part of the ecosystem for a reason.

Holy smokes -- a pit viper is no joke. And I think you wear sandals a lot. I grew up catching a lot of snakes. And I've encountered plenty of copperheads, cottonmouths, and rattlesnakes. I always get a little jump, when I see them. I guess picking your harvests in the daytime is the best idea! ; )

Hehe... true that! Wouldn't pick my fruits in the dark. Who knows what I might encounter. Wow catching snakes... I tend to get as far as possible from them... though living in Cambodia is teaching me which ones are ok and which ones to stay away from... but with the antivenom center 3 hours away and they usually don't have most anti-venom I rather be careful with them and stay at a distance. ;) Have a lovely day!

You are really inspiring me to go out as soon as the first greens start to grow in a couple of weeks ... Your knowledge about all these weeds is amazing! I have to start reading more about the edible wild herbs so I'll prepared when they start to pop up ... Reesteemed. Tip!

It's going to be spring before we know it. I hope my upcoming posts will be helpful. We have some of the same weeds because they were brought to North America from Europe - as food plants. And many trees are good eating, too. It's worth getting to know the trees in your area. They stay in one place for a long time, so once you know an individual tree, it can be a regular harvest for you. Thanks for the tip and resteem. I do appreciate it!

You are welcome! I learn a lot from you!

looks lovely and sounds great ...

They were each so different -- and each one equally good. It was funny how fast the idea came together once I started looking at the weeds. I was stumped for what to do that would feature a cabbage and still look nice, lol.

First they looked likes sandwiches, but when I read the post and looked closer I discovered the secret :)
Very nice. I love the way you presented them and the ingredients you used. Must be yummy! Good work!

I'm glad you looked closer and read the post, then, @hanen! And I'm glad you enjoyed my different coleslaw varieties. : )

Beautiful dish and all of your cole slaw look yummy! I especially like the third one; the slices of fresh apples, fennel leaves, and sliced raisins are good combination for me..... ;)

I thought you would pick that one! ; )

Yeah! You know me well, as always! ;)

Of course I would eat that! It is simply beautiful and I think you are quite astonishing!

The wild things hide in those slaws pretty well, lol. Even people that are hesitant to try eating wild plants would like any of these, I think. I could have used a piece of hard-crusted bread, though. Then it would have been perfect!

I was just thinking I should make some nice crusty bread! But I will have to settle for arugula to go with it!

I'd take fresh crusty bread and arugula any day! :D

Everytime you come up with simply awesome entry my friend! Such a lovely array of fresh produce, simply beautiful! I can feel the amazing flavors of each one!
Great entry again!

Hi @haphazard-hstead! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.1 SBD @tipU from @pusteblume :)

@pusteblume wrote lately about: Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 02 ~ Cabbage ~ Purple-Green Lasagna. Feel free to follow @pusteblume if you like it :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

looks very healthy and delicious @haphazard

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99