You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #14: Wild Mushrooms All The Way! - Fomitopsis Tea, Roasted Chanterelles, Deep-fried Elfin Saddles, with Candied Witches Butter and Cats Tongues!

Here, they tell us to not even rinse the raw chicken, because it will potentially spread bad bacteria all over our kitchen. Nobody says that about a mushroom!

Chicken of the Woods (Laetiporus sulphureus)is a great mushroom. I didn't get any this year, but have in the past. It really does have the consistency of chicken. I like it in soup. When I find them, there's usually enough to freeze for many meals. And then there's the Hen of the Woods (Grifola frondosa). And the Fried Chicken (Lyophyllum decastes). There are a lot of edible mushroom chickens out there! :D

Sort:  

never hears of the fried chicken, i must check that one out!

And there's the Turkey Tails, too (Trametes versicolor). I use them like mushroom-flavored chewing gum when I find them. So many good mushrooms!

"mushroom-flavored chewing gum"? I guess you've got to try it to be sold on it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.17
ETH 2341.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33