Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 02 : Maria's Sprout Spaghetti

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Yup...I am into cabbage, so here is my second entry to SIC Act 1 Round 2
Maria's Sprout Spaghetti
IMG_1068.JPG
Ingredients
Brussel Sprouts
Spaghetti
Bacon
Blue Cheese (Danablue)
Pine nuts
Freshly grated parmasan cheese
Butter
Steps
IMG_0294.JPG

  1. cut bacon to little pieces and fry crispy
    IMG_6739.JPG
  2. boil Spaghetti
    IMG_4829.JPG
  3. remove 90% of the bacon and drain on kitchen towel ( for daughter ..that prefers Spaghetti with just bacon and nothing else ...)
    IMG_8705.JPG
  4. quarter your brussel sprouts
    IMG_2667.JPG
  5. add a small dollop of butter and your quartered sprouts to the remnants of bacon on your pan...
    IMG_3197.JPG
  6. add your drained boiled spaghetti
    IMG_1200.JPG
  7. add blue cheese stir quickly
    IMG_8616.JPG
  8. put your pasta in a bowl (use a spoon with holes to avoid transferring too much of the greasyness ...
    IMG_8858.JPG
  9. add freshly grated parmesan cheese
    IMG_1068.JPG
  10. add roasted pine nuts
    IMG_5907.JPG
    Take a step back and enjoy the vision
    IMG_4058.JPG
    Don't forget to take that proof pic... save a tree be reusing your note from yesterday hehe
    IMG_5907.JPG
    ...just another pic
    IMG_8935.JPG
    ...and a closeup... and now onto the best part ... devour it !
    This is a dish I usually crave at times ...this time I took it up a notch with the addition of blue cheese and roasted pine nuts, these additions really complemented the sprouts wonderfully and the experience of eating it was divine ... normally I would use the italian pancetta ... but it was quite impossible to find in any of my local supermarkets yesterday ...but the regular danish bacon did quite well too...
    This is a very easy dish to make ... and well worth it, the result is an outstanding and very tasteful dish that celebrates the beauty of the sprouts ( do not overcook the sprouts they go on raw and only very shortly on the pan retaining both color ...bite and the fresh taste !

IMG_5907.JPG
Thank you to @progessivechef @steemit-ironchef and the sponsors @canadian-coconut, @donkeypong , @trophytokens , @voiceshares and @bambam808 for their support to Steemit-Ironchef

Sort:  

I know that bacon and brussel sprouts go along very well from my memory. I guess I can rearrange this recipe to make it fitting me. Because combining brussel sprouts and spaghetti is a wonderful idea! Tip!

Thank you so much ...I often make it without bacon too ... the butter can be replaced by oil ... I tried a vegan version of Parmesan cheese a bit back and there was really no real difference on taste and texture ... it was very good, I used it when I was cooking for my besties daughters wedding party ... the bride and groom were both vegans ... so a vegan buffet ...it was lovely

Hi @globaldoodlegems! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.1 SBD @tipU from @pusteblume :)

@pusteblume wrote lately about: Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 02 ~ Cabbage ~ Purple-Green Lasagna. Feel free to follow @pusteblume if you like it :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 13:12:13
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 59.50/100.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

it should be very tasty!

Thank you so much ... it was very tasty ...perfect on a cold winter day !

I will definitely try to cook! Thank you for sharing!

I love nuts in my food! I always have pine nuts or almonds in my salad.

This looks lovely 💓 enjoy x

Thank you , me too ... nuts in food just gives it that extra touch and crunch

I love your recipe Maria especially I love brussel sprouts and pine nuts that combination so good I'll make your recipe very soon.
Happy Sunday 🌷🌺

Thank you so much ...it tasted wonderful together

I love pasta - and your dish sounds amazing @globaldoodlegems. I also served pasta to visitors today with mushrooms, redpeppers and olives

Thank you so much , yours sound wonderful too !

Never thought of adding sprouts to spaghetti, such a great idea! They are actually one of my favourite vegetables!

Thank you, I also love the sprouts and this is one of my favorite ways of eating them ...

Thank you so much !

Bacon and brussel sprouts works perfectly well together for sure! I can feel that lovely taste of your spaghetti! So mouthwatering, especially with the grated cheese on top!

Thank you ! It is one of my go to dishes that I just crave at times !