Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #17: Deconstructing the traditional Danish Christmas Dinner a bit

Well in this final Round of the First Steemit-Ironchef, we were given a challenge to use minimum 2 of the 16 products, that we have worked wit so far ... I chose apples and onions ... since it was Christmas eve yesterday and these 2 are in the filling of the traditional Christmas Duck roast... I did twist it up a bit in my Steemit-Ironchef version... IMG_8816.JPG
I got an early Christmas present from my sweet daughter... she insisted that I opened it before I cooked for my steemit-Ironchef entry ... it was very important to her .... and alas it was the awesome addition of Square food shapes to my collection ... wonderful gift ... and it was put to use here !
Xmas2017.jpg
We wish you all a very Merry Christmas ... if you celebrate it ... If not we just wish you a wonderful day !
IMG_8052.JPG
Here is a small break down of the dish
with_text.jpg

Preparing the Duck Roast

Filling
apples, onions,prunes and salt and pepper...
filling.gif

Stuff your Duck
The Duck is rubbed with salt and pepper inside out and then filled with the filling... closed ...butter on top and long roasted at 120 degrees for 5-6 hours ...under it place a baking pan with water ... so the cookingjuices and fat can go in there (later you seperate the fat from it ... this can be reserved for other things ...like to go on ryebread nomnom... and the liquid full of taste is used to add taste to your richly flavored sauce...
stufftheduck.gif

Homemade Red Cabbage Christmas style
Ingredients
1 red cabbage
50 gr butter
1 dl venegar
2 dl ribs juice ( I think that is only in Denmark ... can be replaced by cranberry juice
3 dried star anise
1 dried cinnamon stick
one teaspoon all spice
one teaspoon salt
rødkål.gif

Apple/onion paste aka filling paste
Remove the filling from the duck ... and blend it to a fine thick paste...
IMG_8799.JPG

IMG_8802.JPG

Sauce
heat up a bit of double cream
add a bit of your paste
IMG_8804.JPG
and add duck cooking juices bit by bit ... to a creamy rich sauce season to taste...and mount it with a small dollop of butter
IMG_8805.JPG
Duck
a bit of torn meat pieces from the Duck and a fitting size piece of Crispy Duck skin
IMG_8809.JPG

Plating
plate it in layers...
plating.gif

Proof Pic
...do not forget that crucial proof pic that validates your entry !
IMG_8812.JPG
...and dive in for this delicious treat of a dish....
IMG_8817.JPG
So happy to be a part of Steemit-Ironchef ... and enjoying my weekly culinary challenge and of course discovering the awesome dishes of my cocontestants !
Check out the awesome @steemit-ironchef this is a great cooking challenge arranged by @progressivechef also please check out the tag #steemit-ironchef to see all the awesome entries from all the talented cooks that have joined this challenge and get inspiration from their wonderful dishes !

Last Week of this season ... so looking forward to start again on the second season next year...

Sort:  

The duck skin shows that it has been cooked perfectly! This is so beautiful!
Thanks so much my friend for the amazing support of SIC since the start! You have been a great contestant coming up with high level entries each week!
Looking forward to some more in this new season!

Thank you ! I have so loved taking part in SIC and I look forward to the new seasons challenges !

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 23:07:11
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 30.35/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That just made me hungry...
And you just got yourself a new follower.

Thank you so much ... making you hungry = my photo's rocked the taste hihi ... I am glad I could do that !

Congratulations @globaldoodlegems! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

i like how the picture moves like a gif!! that is really cool, lol! XD great post as always and Happy Holidays to you and your family!! :D

Thank you ... I made them into gif's hihi and happy Holidays to you too !

Wow! You make a great lookin' bird! That crispy duck skin looks incredible

Thank you ... it is ... I actually made 2 Ducks for Christmas eve ... and they were incredible !

Very lovely dish. I've never had duck before. You cooked yours beautifully. I like your clear glass plate. Reminds me of some dishes my grandmother use to have.

Thank you ... it did cook perfectly ... I found the Gass plate in a second hand shop, I always take a look in there if there are some plates I can use that are a bit different ... to add to my little plating collection

wow very good looks like. Please help my vote @taniaart

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53