Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #15: 1001 Nights Onion Adventure

This was an adventure into onions and a number of techniques for me !
IMG_8632.JPG
Here is a closer look at the finished dish...

Overview of the Elements of the Dish

Text_pic.jpg

Butterpoached Quails Egg Yolk

Poach the yolk for 30 seconds in clarified butter
IMG_8538.JPG
IMG_8542.JPG
IMG_8546.JPG

Caramelized Onions
regular yellow onions
butter
sugar
IMG_8561.JPG

Bowl of Charred Red Onion
red onion ...blow torch
IMG_8595.JPG
IMG_8597.JPG

Beer battered Crispy Onion Rings

Extremely finely sliced onion rings
Beer
Flour
salt and Pepper
oil
IMG_8614.JPG

Gratinated and Butterfried Onion Toast

White bread (I used my own bread see recipe here https://steemit.com/baking/@globaldoodlegems/bake-buttermilk-bread-with-me )
shallots softened in in olive oil and butter
Applewood smoked Cheddar cheese
![IMG_8594.JPG()
IMG_8619.JPG

Crispy Fresh Onion Salad

Spring Onion
red onion
chieves
Tomato
Extra virgin oliveoil
Balsamic vinegar
Salt and Pepper
IMG_8554.JPG

Red Onion & Caramelized Onion Mayonaise

red onions...boiled in double cream
some of the previously caramelized onions
homemade mayo
smoked Paprika
salt and pepper
Worchester sauce (a few drops)
IMG_8603.JPG

Red Onion infused Whipped Double Cream

Red Onion
Double Cream
smoked Paprika
salt & pepper
Balsamic vinegar (drops)
soften the onions by cooking in the double cream with the seasonings...
strain and leave the cream to chill...
IMG_8604.JPG
whip it
IMG_8605.JPG
add additional seasoning to taste

Grilled Onion Rings & grilled Spring Onion

Onion slices
Spring Onion
Sesame oil
Coat with sesame Oil and grill
IMG_8582.JPG

Balsamic Glazed Caramelized Pearl Onions

Pearlonions
sugar
Balsamic vinegar
butter
IMG_8560.JPG

Black Foot Cured Iberico Ham

nomnom.... the best ... thin slices fold up to roses and add to our plate ...
Some of my ingredients
IMG_8540.JPG
Plating
I made a little slideshow ... too many pics to put them all up ... ( I have about 185 pics of the whole process ... a bit too much lol, so I tried to cut my step by steps down to just a few essential pics )

It was a real challenge to get my idea created... as there were many elements ... but I suceeded and I am extremely proud of my result ... and as for the tast experience it was out of this world ... everything just melted toget in a true explosion of tastes and textures ... I loved it !

Proofpic
![IMG_8628.JPG()
I enjoyed this round a lot and I think I pushed myself a lot .... I hope you guys will like my take on this weeks product : Onions...
![IMG_8625.JPG()
So happy to be a part of Steemit-Ironchef ... and enjoying my weekly culinary challenge and of course discovering the awesome dishes of my cocontestants !
Check out the awesome @steemit-ironchef this is a great cooking challenge arranged by @progressivechef also please check out the tag #steemit-ironchef to see all the awesome entries from all the talented cooks that have joined this challenge and get inspiration from their wonderful dishes !

Sort:  

Poach the yolk for 30 seconds in clarified butter

Oh, you maniac! That's awesome.

Thank you ...it took about 4 yolks to get it perfect ... they are slippery to start with , but after poaching in clarified butter they become superslippery monster yolks with a life of their own ... hihi

I'm definitely going to try this, but with chicken eggs. I could get quail eggs, but only with effort.

One thing about this is that poaching just a yolk, minus the albumen, is a really underutilized technique. It presents so well it's worth the effort and any frustration.

Scrolling back up, I gotta say, you definitely have a knack for ingredient selection. In addition to other stuff like having a good repertoire of techniques with the ability to successfully execute. Plus the way you managed to get all those diverse components to work together visually on the plate is admirable as well.

I've known many many cooks. If you consistently prepare food like this, you're at least as good as any of them.

Thank you so much, that is a real compliment !

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 14:08:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 10.10/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

omg.... mesmerizing dish... i'm wonder that how you use onion in many ways. really appreciate

Thank you ...yes there are quite a few different ways to use onions in this dish ...

Your dish looks hearty and amazing! I actually enjoy all your steemit-ironchef posts, haha... XD

Thank you so much ... I am happy to hear that and likewise I enjoy yours a lot too... actually I enjoy this whole competition a lot ...I find it wonderful and inspiring to see everyones dishes and I love having this weekly challenge

Yes, i agree...it is always very insipring and motivating for me to see so many people from different parts of the world create something different from the same ingredient, and also getting to know so many great people from this initiative. :D

Exactly how I feel too ..

You certainly outdid yourself! Great entry as usual with different delicious-looking elements. It’s quite an exciting plate, I must say! Love it!

Thank you so much I am glad to hear that !

I love that you worked out the onions in so many different ways! Simply amazing my friend!
Your techniques shown here are amazing! Great idea poaching the egg yolk in clarified butter!

Thank you so much, I am happy to hear that ... the dish was pretty amazing ! and I was very proud of my result !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52