Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #01 Green Tomato Pie

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

This is an entry for the STEEMIT IRON CHEF Challenge 01 2017. I decided since my garden was so full of green tomatoes that I found a great recipe that you know SURPRISINGLY tastes AMAZING ! It is called Green Tomato Pie. It is an old recipe from the Depression Era, of cooking. Follow me and I Dare you to try it for yourself.

Tomatoe 1.jpg

Too many tomatoes that look like this in my garden because of all the rain.

Tomato2.jpg

1 recipe pastry for a 9 inch double crust pie
4 1/2 cups sliced and diced green tomatoes
1 1/2 cups white sugar
1 teaspoon lemon juice
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 Tablespoons of Cornstarch
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 pinch ground nutmeg
1 pinch salt
2 tablespoons butter

Chop up the Tomatoes into small bits like in picture below, give them a splash of water to clean them off fist.

Tomatoe 3.jpg

Tomatoe 4.jpg

Now throw them into a pot on the stove, and add all the rest of the ingredients and bring to a slight boil stirring constantly.

tomatoe 6.jpg

For that pinch of Nutmeg I like to use fresh and grate it myself.

tomatoe 5.jpg

When it starts to thicken remove from stove top and allow to cool before pouring into your pie pastry. Then cook again in the pie shell for another 35 minutes at 350. Enjoy with a scoop of ice cream.

Tomato 8.jpg

Taste somewhat similar to apple pie, although some have said it tastes like pumpkin, So you all tell me, after you try it.

green tomato pie.jpg

Happy Trails and good luck to all my fellow STEEMIT family on their submissions for the contest. HAPPY COOKING

Sort:  

I haven't try green tomatoes in pies! Sounds interesting!

The green tomatoes are the unripened tomatoes or the heirloom green tomatoes ?

No they are the unripened tomatoes. I have grown the heirloom green tomatoes and they did do well. Thanks. Following

Looks delicious! Love the post too. It's fun to get the "doing it" photos and put them in right? Better than just the finished dish. Thanks my opinion anyway! Have an awesome day ;-)

ya it is fun, even if there is flour in all the cracks and holes of my phone. Thanks @overthewait

Green tomatoes don't seem to be popular in China (where I'm living at the moment) but I just came back from a US road trip and I tried them in so many dishes- really delish! Never had a green tomato pie though, sounds amazing!

Fried green tomatoes with salt and a little garlic is also very tasty. I am so happy that you got to try some and can bring this back to your country with you. Thanks now following you.

This post has received a 0.77 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @gardengirlcanada.

This post has received a 1.81 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @edthecanadian. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Welcome to steemi iron chef @gardengirlcanada! I really love your idea of using green tomatoes to make the pie! And that touch of fresh nutmet just bring this dish to another level!
Bravo my friend, I'm so happy to have you in the contest!
Can you please tell me why you forgot that tag to validate your entry??? Everything was perfect, it's a shame!
Look out for the next theme early tomorrow and please don't forget adding the tag!
Cheers
@progressivechef

What tag. I did tag it steemit-ironchef that was my very first tag. I am sorry I do not understand what it is I did incorrect. Please help me to correct the issue for next time. Thank you.

Oh i'm sorry for not being clear my friend! Well i meant to say the photo proof with your name and date on it! Ok let me show you my example :
DSC_0103.JPG

I did not read that in the instructions anywhere. It only says that I must use tag

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gardengirlcanada from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This is a good one for me. We are just coming into 'green tomato season' as autumn draws in and the remaining tomatoes don't make it to red. Always looking for good ways to use the 'greenies'.

Just need to get some nutmeg and we'll give it a go.

Nutmeg gives it that little bite to sweeten the palate Hope you try it, and please do share if you do. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.23
ETH 2335.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52