Steemit Iron Chef 2018 act 01 round 06 : Baked figs with toasted almonds; Fig and cardamom conserve; Clotted cream and ginger-fig compote

IMG_6454.JPG

I took a detour through Istanbul before arriving to Germany from London to visit my boyfriend's family this week and actually came across a group of tempting little figs when I had a little bit of a gander. Unfortunately, with only a one night stop-over, I had no time nor the resources to rustle anything up while I was there so I postponed the SIC prep until Hannover- hoping that's okay with you @progressivechef.

IMG_6448.JPG

I remember as a teenager, I was asked by my mother to help out with dessert at a dinner party that she hosted. I searched far and hard in the kitchen for something to make and could only find exotic fruits and nuts (something my parents love to buy so the kitchen is always brimming with foods from the above categories!). As a 15 year old, my experience in the food world was negligible and my ideas slim to none...but I have to admit, my idea to bake the figs with honey and almonds was pretty mature! The result...all adults at the party loved it! Such a wonderful memory and all of it brought back just by seeing those figs and a wooden chopping board!

IMG_6455.JPG

I went for afternoon tea last week in London and after indulging on a scone with clotted cream and jam, knowing that in China I would not have access to such foods, I made one last attempt to have these at my dinner table before heading back on Monday. The perfect candidates- fig jam and a clotted cream and fig compote.

IMG_6457.JPG

Now for the recipes...

Fig and cardamom conserve

IMG_6463.JPG

Mash 500g fresh figs and place into a heavy saucepan with 350g sugar, 10-12 crushed cardamom pods (pods removed) and 100ml water. Allow the sugar to dissolve on a low heat before bringing the mixture to a boil then continuing to heat for at least 20 minutes or until the mash resembles a more sticky, viscous syrup. It should be more solid once cooling otherwise it must be reheated to reach 105C so that it can set slightly once cooled.

IMG_6459.JPG

Clotted cream and ginger-fig compote

IMG_6458.JPG

To make the compote, add to a pan, 8 roughly chopped figs, the juice and zest of 1 lemon, 1tsp fresh grated ginger and 75g sugar. Leave to simmer on a low heat with the lid on for 30 minutes.

IMG_6456.JPG

Once cooled, it can be folded in an even ratio of clotted cream before serving.

Baked figs with toasted almonds

IMG_6464.JPG

Split 6 figs down the middle with a sharp knife as though you are cutting them into quarters, but ensure not to separate the quarters as the figs should still be in tact. Brush the centres and the outsides with honey and bake at 180C for 25 minutes.

In the mean time, blanch whole almonds in boiling water and remove the skins when they start to some away. Slice them into thin flakes and lightly toast them in a dry frying pan to achieve a subtle roasted flavour.

IMG_6450.JPG

When the figs have finished baking, sprinkle them with the almonds before serving.

IMG_6460.JPG

Sort:  

looks and sounds like a dream ... awesome !

Thank you @globaldoodlegems, ha it was a struggle to squeeze in making the food this week but got there in the end!

Inspiring. Too bad my spoon bounces off the computer screen!

Thank you @clweeks. Ha, yes there should be an invention for spoons that don’t!

You always come up with great entries despite the difficulties you face...I am impressed my friend! This baked fig makes me remember a dish i used to make when I was at the Hilton Hotel Mauritius, It was one of the best sellers on the carte. Roasted figs with cinnamon, pumpkin cream with truffle emulsion and brioche!

Memories memories!!!

IMG_3267.JPG

Lovely entry again!
Thanks so much!

Wow @progressivechef this looks so delicious, yours is definitely a league above! That truffle emulsion sounds amazing. Honoured that I was able to take you down memory lane! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59736.86
ETH 2416.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43