Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 02 : Butter-Braised, Pan-Seared Cabbage

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago

IMG_7620.JPG

This was really good. Sometimes amazing dishes are super-simple. I watched a cooking video with this technique a few weeks ago and was replicating it as best as I could from memory. Look what I started with:

IMG_7612.JPG

That's a plain green cabbage, some butter, salt, basil, and kombu.

I removed the gross outer leaves and chopped the cabbage in half. Then I heated up a cast-iron skillet with just a little avocado-seed oil pretty hot, and charred the cut face of the cabbage for about five or ten minutes. I moved it around just enough to keep the oil spread and to prevent sticking, but no more. Then I threw in a whole stick of butter and as that melted, tipped the pan up and used a spoon to continually pour the hot, frothy butter over the cabbage -- especially the thick, core section. As I did this, the water frothed out of the butter and it browned. It's a little hard to know when the cabbage is done, but I did this for a while, until it seemed right and that worked for me. At the very end, I poured in the powdered kombu to the butter and kept spooning that over the cabbage which helped lend some umami. I removed it from the heat, let it set for a minute or two, and them moved it to a cutting board where I sliced it in half, sprinkled salt over it, and tucked basil leaves between the hot cabbage leaves. (This is a little tricky to do without burning myself, but I managed.) And then I sprinkled basil blossoms over the whole thing.

Here's the braising technique which is pretty simple, really:

IMG_7616.JPG

IMG_7615.JPG

Once I moved it to the plate, it was sort of a study in lovely contrasts:

IMG_7618.JPG

IMG_7619.JPG

Note that when you tuck the basil into the hot cabbage, it starts wilting and becomes wonderfully aromatic right away -- you want to serve it pretty much immediately.

Sort:  

Actually most of the times the simple things are the best. I have to remind myself sometimes ...
Great entry! Looks and sounds super delicious! 😋👍🏻 Tip!

Butter braised, seared cabbage! that is a brilliant idea. going to steal that one. Thanks

Perfectly braised cabbage my friend! The flavors of the basil leaves and blossoms must surely bring a great touch to this dish!
Simple but yummy certainly!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 14:51:28
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 69.10/100.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

It is amazing food..

Looks and sound wonderful !

yummy ... Very delicious! I hope you have a good appetite. Greetings

Hi @clweeks! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @pusteblume :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59