Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #04 : Zucchini and Matcha Panna Cotta, topped with Crispy Zucchini "Waste", a Raw Zucchini Sauce and Zucchini/Matcha ChipssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

My submission for week four of Steemit-Iron Chef is a dessert:
Zucchini and Matcha Panna Cotta, topped with Crispy Zucchini "Waste", a Raw Zucchini Sauce and Zucchini/Matcha chips


Here is the proof so we can get to the pudding!


After learning about this week's ingredient I immediately thought about making a dessert. I love zucchini cake and wanted to think of a dessert to modernist this wonderful vegetable. Pairing zucchini with matcha seemed like a great idea and I also used lemon to pull the whole idea together.


Panna Cotta
I have been using this recipe for twenty years! It works perfectly and so why change it...? Well, this time I had to modify it slightly to include zucchini and matcha. But, It came out great so I am so happy! The recipe is funny because it come from Charlie Trotter's 1994 book called Charlie Trotter's. But the recipe is actually credited to Nancy Sliverton. Charlie loved her panna cotta so much that he included it in his book! I love that. I love when chefs acknowledge that another chef has made something amazing.
So, here is my modified version of Nancy's recipe:

  1. .75 teaspoons granulated gelatin
  2. .75 cups heavy cream
  3. .25 cups zucchini juice
  4. 1 tablespoon sugar
  5. .5 teaspoon matcha
  6. .25 teaspoon lemon zest

Panna Cotta Method

  1. Add 2 tablespoons of water to the gelatin and let it sit for a few minutes to hydrate.
  2. Heat the cream and sugar until the sugar is dissolved.
  3. Combine the gelatin, cream, zucchini juice, matcha and lemon zest.
  4. Pour this mixture into your mold and refrigerate to set.


Zucchini "Waste" Crisps

I love to find a new use for something that we have always considered "waste". I often made juices and felt horrible tossing the fiber of the vegetables just because I want to drink juice! And when people say "you can compost it". I think yes this is true... But the fiber is enormously healthful to consume. So, while I might want an easily digestible juice in the morning why not keep the fiber to include in another meal of the day?


Here is the zucchini "waste" from making juice. I just added a big three finger pinch of sugar and the zest of 1/4 lemon. I spread it out onto a dehydrator and let it go at 125F for 24 hours.

As it dried, I shredded it into irregular shapes and let it dry more. Zucchini is basically water held together by cells! It takes a long time to dry!


Raw Zucchini Sauce
I wanted a raw vegetal quality to the dessert, to skirt the line between sweet and savory. The sauce seemed like an easy way to do that. The problem was that pure zucchini juice was too thin the be a sauce. So, I simply whisked into the juice some Ultra-tex. Ultra-tex is a modified version of tapioca and it does not affect the flavor of the sauce and it works without having to heat the sauce.


  1. Juice from one zucchini
  2. Whisk in one teaspoon of Ultra-tex

Zucchini Chips

  1. Slice one zucchini thin
  2. Heat a mixture of 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup water
  3. Poach the zucchini in the liquid for 5 minutes.
  4. Drain and cool the zucchini and arrange on a dehydrator
  5. Dehydrate for 12 hours or until crisp
  6. dust with matcha before plating



If you have made it this far than thank you for reading, I hope you have enjoyed the content!
If you want to continue than I would love for you to comment below if you liked or did not like this post! I love negative feedback as it makes me a better poster! Thank you for visiting today! Steve

Sort:  

What a stunningly beautiful dish ... would love to taste that ... very unique idea !

Thank you! Such kind words! It did taste very good, but I love zucchini and matcha!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by onec from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Nice entry! Zucchini as a dessert is a good idea. Hope I find some time to recreate your recipe. It looks really great :-)

Thank you! Your entry this week is so pretty!

Looks yummy and very nice presentation.

Thank you for your kind words!

This is soooo pretty! I love the matcha vibes. And I also like how you used your waste. A true chef indeed.

I have made an unofficial post here picking out my top three entries for this week, and you are one of them!

Please note that has no impact on the actual winners 😝

Thank you! I love matcha and was happy to work some into this dessert!

This is wonderful news. Well done!

I love it I just wanted to know what I could use for an alternative to the cream no diary for me skin condition, I would love to try this I love the attention to detail and the way you used the waste. Just like at my house nothing ever goes to waste thank you.

Thank you! I would try coconut milk or soy milk or almond milk. If you try it, let me know how it turns out!

I mostly certainly will do I have never made Panna Cotta but I am a foodie so I love a challenge it looks to yummy not to try.

If you need any help with this recipe please ask! I would be happy to help you in any way that you need.

Thank you for posting this lovely moment in time for you. Followed...

Congratulations @chefsteve! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46