Steemit iron-chef round 9 : Pleasant Pea and Avo Puree starter with Green beans and Pea stir-fry

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Here is my entry for another week for steemit #iron-chef challenge by @progressive-chef, I decided to make a starter and main course as I won't be entering the challenge next week because I'm visiting the family in England next weekend.
My family are all meat eaters so I often just have to work around them in the kitchen and make my own simple vegan dinner whilst they scoff down their Sunday roast. As someone who use to enjoy meat eating it was quite a test to my vegan diet at first but when you stand by a philosophy, it's quite empowering to be able to control yourself instead of being controlled.

pea5.jpg

I am vegan for many reasons, it wasn't an over night decision but in the end it made sense to me for my own well being, for the animals and the planet. I've heard complaints that it is boring to be vegan but in fact I am way more creative with my ingredients and flavors and I definitely give my body a lot more nutrition, which it deserves. I'm more excited about food shopping as a plant based person, I go to good quality independent stores instead of the supermarkets like I used too, when it comes to fruits and veggies there's always new and surprising things to discover.

pea8.jpg

For this entry I had no clue what I wanted to make, I was doing some of my weekly shopping and found next to the fresh peas pods, and other types of bean pea things and artichokes. To be honest I get a bit confused over the different names for the green bean and pea pods as they are not something I use as a staple in my diet. I snapped them all up and used whatever else was in my kitchen to start building a meal idea.

pea shop.jpg

I used a lot of ingredients in this dish and I didn't manage to capture all of them in a photo because I was just getting inspired as I was cooking and then just adding more of just what was lying around......

ingredients.jpg


Here's a full list of my ingredients

Starter

Artichokes (seasoned with fresh lemon juice and himalaya salt)
Frozen peas and avocado pureed
Toasted sesame seed and beetroot pureed (seasoned)
Fresh peas for garnish
Green Romano Beans sliced for garnish

Main course

Sauce

Spring onion
Mushroom
Red pepper
Celery
Parsley
Himalaya salt
(lightly sauteed and all blended together)

Stirfry

Fresh peas
Green beans
Green Romano Beans
Garlic
Rice pumpkin and ginger noodles
Khmer tom yum seasoning (brought back from Cambodia)

peastirfry.jpg

At one point I felt like I was in an episode of master chef because I was trying to juggle preparing multiple things at once, my roomie was getting hungry and it was taking me hours to cook and prepare everything. In the end I felt quite rushed to finish because I was also starting to feel hungry. One advantage of being the chef is to be able to try the food before serving, although by serving time I felt in no fit state to eat the food.

pea4.jpg

It was quite chaotic in the kitchen and I didn't really manage to get cohesive shots of the food preparation process but I did get quite a few nice shots of the final dishes....

pea9.jpg

pea10.jpg

pea11.jpg

When I finally got around to eating, I was pleasantly surprised how tasty the artichoke dish was, I felt like I ordered it in a restaurant. We ate the starter alongside the main course and the 2 dishes balanced each other out really well. I was particularly impressed with the puree's they were my favorite part of the whole meal.

Thank you to @progessivechef @steemit-ironchef and the sponsors @canadian-coconut, @donkeypong , @trophytokens , @voiceshares and @bambam808 for their support to Steemit-Ironchef

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

Banner.jpg

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Here we go again with another wonderfully written entry post in Steemit Iron Chef! You are really bringing vegan food to another level, simply amazing my friend! Every components of this diner is high class...but still my favorite is the one on the first photo...really Michelin Star quality!
Great entry!
It's sad to read that you'll not be present in the next round, well...I hope to see you soon!
Cheers!

celestialcow Good post If you want to learn about how actually steemit work then see me last post .I swear this comment is not about increase view or something I want to quite steemit that's why i provide me all Experience(Almost 1 year ) to steemian may be its helpful for you .

Great looking dishes, and I am not even vegan. I like how you combined multiple dishes into one post and shared some of your own story as well.

Thank u so much @randomwanderings i hope i can inspire non vegans like urself to incorporate more vegan meals into your diet :)

That is a stunning plate! I can imagine that was a fantastic meal!

Congratulations @celestialcow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Great great post here! Love how beautiful you have styled your food!!!

The starter is incredibly beautiful and sounds delicious too! One of my favorites! Tip!

thanks for these tips and trees u are planting :) these are nice additions to steemit

Oh your making me hungry now @celestialcow. Great presentation on the dishes. Very professional if I do say!

Beautiful plating and drool worthy food!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58