Spicy Vegan Lentil Kebabs

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

bab.jpg

This is my first time entering #steemit-ironchef by @progressivechef

I saw that the theme was lentils so since I'm vegan, I use lentils quite often. Today I wanted to do something I haven't done before. I made something to resemble Middle Eastern kebabs. I'm sure it isn't quite the same but they were really delicious and almost tasted like they were made of meat.

line3.jpg

bab3.jpg

I ground the almost cooked lentils. I didn't want them too mushy so they would have some chewiness. I added a spice mix of cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper, oregano, thyme, and salt. I added some ground tapioca, which I ground myself. It was not as fine as I wanted but it worked out anyway. I didn't have tapioca flour so I did this instead.

linn.jpg

bab4.jpg

I also added cornmeal for a little extra binding, crunch and texture.

dot.jpg

ba6.jpg

I really love garlic so I added two cloves of that as well.

leaf.jpg

bab5.jpg

I love spice and hot food so since I had some jalapenos lying around I added one to the mix. It really wasn't that spicy in the end.

Untitled-1.jpg
bab6.jpg

I let it sit for a while and then I formed the kebabs on a skewer. They were placed in the oven brushed with oil and baked for about forty minutes.

linn.jpg

bab1.jpg

I made a quick aioli with vegan mayo, curry powder and a little lemon juice, and since it wasn't spicy enough for me, I had to add a dab of hot sauce on top of it.

food 1.jpg

bab2.jpg

And I guess I forgot to verify it. Oops. I will try again next time.

signature.jpg

Sort:  

I am so making these. Such a great idea! Thanks for the inspiration ;) Good luck in the contest!

That compliment means a lot to me, coming from you! Thank you @amy-goodrich

I forgot to verify so I am not in the contest. I appreciate the good luck wish all the same.

Hello my friend! I would like to first of all thank you a lot for entering Steemit iron chef! We are all so happy to have you among us!
Your entry is really very original and I like it so much!
Yes you did forget the proof photo...but your post is so wonderfully written that I'll accept and validate your entry!
Steem On!

I can't tell you how I appreciate that. Thank you @progressivechef !

Delicious! And great presentation, nice job! 😋

Thank you so much!

Great entry, good luck for contest

Thanks but I won't be eligible since I forgot to verify the entry haha. Newbie.

same thing happened to me lol

Looks like very tasty.Wish to eat.Thanks for your art.I like it.

Love the recipe!! Looks amazing :)

This looks and sound sooo tasty, thank you for the great inspiration!!! I included your recipe to my 5 favorites of the week here https://steemit.com/food/@isshappy/iss-happy-s-5-favorite-vegan-steemit-recipes-of-the-week-3 ♥♥ Have a great weekend!

Oh that is soooo awesome. Thank you so much @isshappy!

Oh when it comes to lentils, I am in😍😍😍Looks fantasic 👌👌

Lentils are a vegan's best friend haha! Thanks @vegan.ninja

Haha yes indeed! Love them, and addicted to chickpeas lately too!!!;)

ok I am making this tomorrow :).
If it is ok I will replay you back :)

Ha ha it's okay. Enjoy!

Ah I made it sooo bad. I can't take a photo.
But there are good news it is actually very tasty :)

Oh I am so happy you tried. Next time you will do it better. It happens to everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59077.53
ETH 2518.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48