Are voting bots basically a self esteem boost, and imaginary free money?

in #steemit-help7 years ago (edited)

(Steemian Generated Art by: @yusaymon)

A recent post of mine was worth 29.32 at payout. (lost $5 right at the end).

payout1.jpg

My payout was 11 Sbd.

payout2.jpg

I didnt use bots (except minnowsupport and banjo) on this post, but im using it as an example to wonder if a $35 post is worth 11sbd at what point is it worth it to spend 1-10 sbd on a vote.

Or should I really only be using the bots for promotional purpose, because the "financial" transaction seems like it tends to be fairly equal?

Because it seems like i might be losing on the 1sbd for $2.30 vote exchange....

Obviously, in the first few hours of a post, an extra boost can make a difference.

It's fun learning how everything works, I'm just thinking, hmm... I only have so much sbd, is it worth more just convert it all to steem?

which is what I mostly do, it's nice to keep a few sbd around to "play" with, tho.

So maybe the bots are really just to improve the esteem of my post, and my own self esteem. While at the same time giving me the illusion of free money.

@neander-squirrel adds that we do get reputation points when bots vote on our posts. However, I'm thinking we can accomplish this also, simply by voting and commenting.

Any help with the maths and understanding is appreciated.

Sort:  

If understanding maths is now part of using Steemit, I have to say I am going to continue to ignore all that.

Paying for upvotes is tragic - post content for humans and ignore bots!

I understand your position. However, I wonder if you might consider differently if you were a new user today, and had to work up among the masses. Sometimes an upvote bot can carry an already successful post into "hot" or from "hot" into "trending". Primarily I use the bots because people don't want to read a post that's only worth .06 if it's more than an hour old.

but seeing as you are more experienced than me, I would appreciate any feedback you have to offer.

It is really hard getting started - a key difference a year ago is that there were a lot less people, but there was also no money at all for most posts - so we had to do about 50 good posts to build an audience - I recently did a post about this -
https://steemit.com/steemit/@sift666/old-time-steemers-live-in-a-different-world-to-newbs

wow. thank you for giving me some perspective.

For sure, I'm not in a rush for "rewards". I'm in to becoming a better writer, not afraid to do the work. This whole experience (all 3 weeks of it) has been a real blessing, and quite educational.

All that to be said, doing all of that work, I'm also trying various ways I can to encourage that post to reach a wider audience.

Of course there are also the precious vests that come with payout.

I think over time, I've sort of gone through phases myself, I remember looking at the trending page when I first started out, but after a few weeks I lost interest in it - these days I only look at my own feed, and that is enough material to keep up with.

Eventually some of the people you interact with may become more wealthy, and that can make a big difference - my biggest payout this year was for a comment!

But other than working it like a fulltime job, I think for most people Steemit is a blogging platform, that may eventually pay some rewards. For anyone who is cool with that it's great, but for anyone who wants to make fast cash it will suck!

it's definitely a full time job for me. but I'm not looking to get rich quick. I'm gonna work until I have enough steem power \ following that I can afford an oil change every now and again ;-) my expenses are minimal

Yikes - you're really going to have a crack at it?

Personally it's what I've learned about Cryptocurrencies here that has earned the $ - this blogging has not paid much for the time it takes - lucky if it has paid $1 an hour - Bitcoin and all that stuff on the other hand - WOW!

well, I don't have money to invest in anything. I have time. and the incentive system keeps me motivate to keep writing. the stuff I'm writing now I will be re-working over time, polishing to have good works that add value to my life and other lives. The money... welll..... I live in a Tinyhouse on wheels, lol... minimal expenses, but minimal income also. lotta free time tho


This post got a 4.89 % upvote thanks to @inquiringtimes - Hail Eris !

That banner is so cooool!
I must stop, and watch it for minutes every time I see it:)

I hope somebody answers this, because I want to know the math too. Resteemed.

I just spent @1.7 sbd on this post for various bots, none of which are instant votes, so.... we'll see how it shakes out, and hopefully someone can help with the math

Loading...

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 8.57 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @inquiringtimes. Vote for Aggroed!

This post has received a 1.02 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @inquiringtimes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61394.39
ETH 3386.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50