Running on empty ...... refueled by by Steemit family.

in #steemit-health7 years ago

Anyone who has ever been a caregiver to an elderly friend or family member knows what it is like to feel like they are running on empty. A couple weeks ago my dear 91 year old friend Mary had a stroke that effected her right side. She does not have family nearby that can help. And, I simply can not imagine her go into the last phase of her life feeling alone. So I am in it for the long haul for her. And as a result I have not posted or shared much on Steemit since her stroke.

So today, after a particularly long day, I decided to take some time to see what my Steemit family has been up to. And you have literally blow me away with your love and kindness.



Imagine how shocked and surprised I was to find that while I have been away caring for her, my Steemit family cared about me.

I now have 402 followers!!!

There are just not enough words. Thank you just does not seem adequate. Please know you made me smile when I thought I was too tired to even do that.

You refueled my tank!

Gas Gauge photo source

Sort:  

Ah, may God bless you, friend, as you are taking on this great task of caring for your elderly friend!

😄😇😄

@creatr

I am so blessed, especially because of all of you.

Followed! 403 now! Nice little blog you got goin! :)

Awe, Thank you. Followed you back.

I like your bio. Sounds like you've had and have a full life. Love that!

Thank You I am truly blessed!

Being a caregiver is really tough work. Please make sure that you are taking care of yourself too! Oops I just saw that you are a retired nurse. I am probably preaching to the choir. Hope all goes well with your friend.

Thanks for the reminder. I have been an early to bed girl recently and not apologizing for it. Hugs to you!

I work with a lot of older adults as well. I love them, but they can be a hand full.
Tough to sometimes see caregivers begin to struggle with their own health.

For sure. I am blessed because my friend is more concerned about my health than her own.

I have found that the Steemit family can be very uplifting and energizing. We never have far to look to find great positive content in this fine house.

This has been a good experience so far for me. I am hoping for it to get better.

In the short time that I have been on Steemit I have almost quit FB due to all the negativity I find there. The only reason left to go to FB is to chat with family/friends.

I am only on FB to LOOK at the pics of Florida grand babies. Too much junk there and censorship !!!!!

I completely feel you on this one and also applaud you! I specialize in geriatrics in the PT field. Sadly, I have seen many simply "abandoned" for lack of a better word. Left at a home for whatever to happen to them. I have also seen the exact opposite of which the elderly individual has that care and support from family and friends. THOSE are the ones that nearly always fair best in the end. Even in someone's 90's, I have seen remarkable resilience of the human body from strokes to broken bone, cardiac/pulmonary issues and more. I am very proud of people like you. Good for you. This type of caregiving is often the most grueling and heartbreaking. Thank you for what you are doing

Thank you for your comment. It is sad to see my friend failing. The difficult part is she has a living will and a DRN and has requested her pacemaker be deactivated so nature can take it's course but her cardiologist will not do it. Right now she is the every ready bunny that will keep on ticking trapped in a dysfunctional body.

That's sad. When they want to go but can't because of a "medical hiccup"

Human dignity is just not as important as the money they get from her pacemaker checks.

Uh, they really are trying to take the love out of health"care"
I am burnt out in just 5 years because of it.

Followed you back

It is a tough task but in your heart you know it is the right thing so bless you and I hope you gain strength in knowing you are doing a good deed.

Thank you for your kind words of encouragement.

Steemit is such a great community. Follower #404 =)

I am Honored. Followed you back!

Stay strong love🌹 I'm thinking about you!

Thank you for your kind words!

Your reward is in heaven.

We are supposed to do good works and love one another. BUT heaven sounds fantastic. I know that is where my friend will end up.

Awe, flowers for a tired Master Gardener who has not had time to tend her garden. Thank you... followed you back.

Super great hits

Thank you for your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75