How has STEEM impacted my life?

in #steemimpact4 years ago

I've been seeing a lot of these posts in my feed for the past few days and wasn't planning to write this. I had no intention of it in the beginning but then started to read through some of the other posts. The vision, the sense of belonging, shared experiences and a home for people that had no home before.

I've been on STEEM for two and a half years now and seen a lot. It hasn't been all good as we have all seen the spammers and abusers. The trolls and the righteous but when you look at it, STEEM is very reflective of real life. These are the personalities that you will meet in any community or job, so the only question is how you are going to impact the group yourself. At this early stage it is the users and community that are dictating the future of STEEM and what it will be in the future.

So how has all of this impacted me?

I think that it has had major implications in my life. While I have some very good and close friends I was always a person who played everything close to the chest. Unless i know and trust you then you won't know much about me. It's all superficial.

There is a reason that all of my best friends are the ones that I have had sine I was in school and thats the way that I like it. Maybe it's the Irish in me but we were always raised to be stoic and unreadable. Outside of my main circle I would call then more acquaintances rather than friends. People that can come and go along the way rather than the ones you have forever.



source


If you looked at my social media feeds you will find very little of anything personal. My Facebook has photos of me posted by other people and no posts from me in about 5 years. My twitter was inactive for it's first 8 years until I started sharing my STEEM content through it. Even writing this post is slightly uncomfortable as it's putting myself out there for anybody to read or see.

But life changes you. Finding a home on STEEM changes you.

I posted more personal feelings and details on here over the past couple of years than in all of my past. Shared writings and thoughts on my profile that I never would have done before. Posted videos of myself while chasing Satoshi's treasure with @steemclan and pulled random people off the street to help me.

STEEM is a lifestyle rather than a blockchain. A community rather than a collection of personal blogs. It means something more to us than just another site on the internet. We get invested, involved and emotional about it. We see people fighting over how to make it better and protecting it from those who would harm it. I've seen steemians travel the world to meet random people they met on here and post gifts to different continents. I've seen the people here grieve for a person that they have never met when they died and send prayers and money to those struggling in different countries.

STEEM is an aspiration for a better life and a better future. It's a way to make the internet better and create a better world for the people in it. A way to share the wealth we generated rather than making the rich richer and the poor poorer. We want to change the world and it could all start in this little section of the internet.

STEEM is an opportunity for people to build their own app, business, blog or something we have't even thought to build yet. The potential is unlimited and the people bright and willing. There are struggles and failures the same as any other new en-devour but the key is persistence. Patience and persistence until it gets to where we want to bring it.

I've seen a lot of good people drop away from STEEM. Their patience at an end even though we are still early in the game. Every dream will have it's doubters and critics but if the leaders are strong enough they will keep going. Keep building and keep overcoming each problem until we reach the end goal.


source


If I had to sum it up from my past two years I would have to say that STEEM has shown me the value of persistence. That there are obstacles in life worth overcoming. It has taught me new lessons in life and given me new skills. It has shown me the value of putting yourself out there and not being afraid to do so.

Today I'm bringing my new girlfriend home to meet the parents for the first time. Something that I never had any interest before but find my perspective on life has changed drastically in the past couple of years. I like to think that joining STEEM has played a big part in that and shown me I want to build a future for myself just like we are doing here right now.

Join STEEM now and find your own place in our community. For the most part we're very friendly and would love to see a few new people join us and start their own journey.




0p2eczmztu.png

Sort:  

That’s the dope thing about steem it’s not about rules like the other site and trying to get attention you and like minded peeps naturally gravitate and form something more authentic! I’ve also been around for just over 2 years now and met so many fascinating people and content that’s opened my mind up to a world I didn’t know existed

As long as it keeps doing that for me I’ll be showing up and not giving a damn about the price

Just keep doing what your doing. I can't add any technical help to the chain but I can keep showing up every day, stacking steem and helping others along the way. We need those people too while the smart ones are building the systems.

Hi @niallon11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.129 which ranks you at #3446 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 97 contributions, your post is ranked at #80.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You post has been manually curated by BDvoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.

BDvoter Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45