How Has Steem Impacted My Life

in #steemimpact4 years ago

hmmm... this is a harder one.

I have seen this title pop up a lot lately and traced it back to this post by @theycallmedan. But it was @tarazkp who actually got me thinking about my own journey.

I am a global citizen currently living in Switzerland and created my steem account on 2017-07-26 07:38:21 which makes it account nr 283,799. All things considering thats getting close to 3 years and at that time Steem was hovering around the 1,2 dollar value before going parabolic 6 months later.

I have lived trough the High, stuck with it through the low and have seen the evolution from a pure blogging blockchain to something more and am looking forward to even more change with communities and SMTs.

image from pixabay image.png

But all these things are not how steem has impacted my life.

I wish I could say Steem made me rich or even financially independant, that would be cool but even that is not the case.

For me Steem has become a learning experience.

  • It thought me to think about a topic and how to put it into words

This is something I did not do before. I dabbled in writing and even took a stab at writing a sci-fi novel (12 chapters and 2 years writing block). Blogging came easier since the texts are shorter then novels, although finding a nice topic is sometimes harder. So this allowed me better self expression, kept my English up to snuff and tickled my creativity.

  • Steem was my first foray into Blockchain and cryptocurrencies.

I have always been fascinated by cool tech and this was one I could at least participate in so I have been reading about this new revolution ever since I heard about it. The cool thing is that a lot of this reading has taken place on the platform because not do we have gifted writers here, we have very big gifted nerds that can write human.

  • I did save a bit for my retirement

(a boring topic but becoming more and more relevant) but being laid off due to economic reasons (I used to work for Thomas Cook who went bust last year) made the need for financial planning much more relevant. So I read as much as possible about investing and saving and money. Again Steem forms a perfect place to do all these things and the advent of @steemleo made this even more so.

  • I became a member of a community

I was lucky and privileged enough to be able to go to Steemfest in Krakow and that really cemented me in this community we have. I met amazing people and became convinced of the potential this place has and still am convinced this is where I belong.

  • I like games and gamification

Seeing the beginning of the games with Dice games or Drugwars also got me rooted even more. I currently play @steemmonsters / @splinterlands as well as @nextcolony and follow the newer changes with interest (even more reading and learning to do, yay)

  • I like passive income

I see my Steem as a potential secondary income stream. Currently my @steemmonster account are making me a bit of ROI, so are delegations to certain projects and my curation both manual and automated. The delegating of resource credits is also something with future potential.

  • I get nagged at by my wife for steeming

While she abstratly gets the potential of crypto and steem she does not "get" steem and the time I spend here. That does get me some complaints once in a while but that is ok. She keeps me grounded and I married her, not Steem.

These are the ways Steem has been impacting my life. It opened up a whole new world for me to discover and this world just keeps growing.

I hereby invite you to join up

Create an account and dive into this new social media where you get paid for your attention...

Sort:  

Nice post. Steem sure got me hooked because the community is so amazing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

thanks, ye, have to agree that there are some mighty fine people here

Congratulations @felander! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 550 posts. Your next target is to reach 600 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84