Why Am I Still Here

b2.jpg
source

Steem has become a way of life that I would miss if I wasn't here.

@theycallmedan has an initiative on why you are still here which is an interesting question as everyone will have their own story to tell.

I think this question is more relevant than ever right now with the current turmoil that is happening around us. I find it devastating to think that all of this could have been for nothing. Nothing is not true though as we all got some value out of this no matter what happens.

I have been on here 2 weeks shy of two years and arriving here more by mistake than pre planned. My Binance account was hacked and that is how I found Steem as I enjoyed crypto and wanted to know how to earn crypto besides just trading. The bear market makes no difference to me as I have set my mind on being here no matter what and I have pulled up a chair for the long haul.

In the two or so years I have posted just on 1253 posts earning just over 14 500 SP. It did take a while for me to get going and feel comfortable though as this is way out of my comfort zone.

I was very naive and had no idea what it would take and the first 6 months were the learning months with very little rewards. There were many posts earning a couple of cents and maybe hitting double figures would be a big payday.

I can understand why so many accounts don't get past this period as hard work is an understatement. I have never persevered with a project like I have with Steem before and why i am proud of my achievements. I would stab at a guess that on average I have spent 6 hours a day every day for 2 years which does sound nuts thinking about it now. That is over 6 months in time on here 24 hours if rolled into one time frame.

I am here for the long term wherever that might be as we all hope this can be sorted out one way or the other. Steem is a way of life for me as it is a way for me to shut off from lifes every day stresses and get involved with something that is fun and interesting.

The people I have met along the way have been great to me with a few exceptions but I can say that 99.9 percent of the people here are genuine that I have had interactions with. People like @tarazkp and @meesterboom have gone out of their way to help me as I am not the most technical around lacking many basic computer skills.

I passed the test so far though and If I can do this then most people can as it is only time and commitment. I have not invested one cent yet even though i plan to eventually as growing over 5 years was the initial plan.@tarazkp mentioned this a long time ago that it was like a degree doing Steem and it is in an around about way as you learn so much about yourself and others. Someone should have warned me before I stuck my head in that this was going to be life changing in so many ways.

O owe Steem so much in many ways how it has helped me grow as a person and this place means more than what my account is worth. Money can't buy this place (obviously it has),but you know what I mean as there is so much value in the experience.

Sort:  

It's a place that once it gets under your skin is hard to shake off. There is a feeling I think among all us regulars that we are part of something special. Even now.

That is how I feel and if you don't then you are not doing something right and are doing it for the wrong reasons possibly. Good to know I am not an odd ball and others feel the same way.

Oh, I didn't mean you weren't an oddball... Lol!!! ;0)

It takes one to spot another one apparently lol.

So very true!

Awesome post! Those are some pretty great people! It has definitely been a journey and one that I want to keep going on. I was on the fence about posting today, but I went ahead and did it anyway. I will probably keep doing what I can as much as I can no matter what.

You have to stick with it no matter what. If you are posting for rewards then don't post maybe but if everyone keeps going then it shows others nothing gets us down.

I didn't post yesterday, but that is because the interfaces were down most of the day :)

That is a feeble excuse lol. They were down from the afternoon with me and we are ahead of you by many hours so you are correct.

I got my Sports post in before things went to hell in the morning. I also got my Splinterlands daily quests done. I spent most of the afternoon on the town hall meeting so I was busy with that too :)

I think we were all caught up in that and only got to bed at 4am here.

You were one of the first accounts that I followed so I am glad you have stuck around pal. :)

I am glad you are still supporting me as your vote makes a massive difference to be honest. I am going nowhere and just powering up whatever I can as the aim is to be as big as I can and offer support to whoever has supported me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56