[RESOLVED!] Steemimg.com Status - potential DDOS - I apologize for any inconvenience this may be causing

in #steemimg8 years ago (edited)

Currently the steemimg appears to be under a DDOS attack. Unless the site popularity has increased 100 fold in the past 24 hours... I believe I can rule this out. I am working with the server provider to try and get this resolved as quickly as possible. I was hoping to resolve this quickly as to avoid doing a post about it but it seems it it more serious then I had thought. Be assured all images hosted on the site are safe but I have suspended new image uploading and have moved the website into maintenance mode. Steemit.com caches all of its posts images via img.steemit.com so many of you may not have even noticed that your images are no longer loading. Any new visitor to your posts will see the (image not found - spaceship) I am deeply sorry for this. If you have a live post using images hosted on steemimg I may suggest hosting them elsewhere and editing your post image urls. Some may still being seeing their images at times due to my efforts to restore functionally but I may still suggest to move them.

Trust me, I am working hard to get this resolved as quickly as I can. I understand that these things happen, especially to sites that see a sharp increase in popularity and use. It also may have been appealing for such an attack based on the fact that it would effect a lot of posts here on steemit and actually have an impact. Since the site was launched we have had over 90,000 images uploaded and growing fast. Server limitations was always a factor in potential growth of steemimg but as I said we didn't hit these limitations yet. Sadly, this may be the end for new image uploads on steemimg, If these attacks start to become a regular thing I don't want the community to suffer for it, I just simply don't have the resources to combat this type of attack.

As for images currently hosted on the site, once the site is restored to full working order, I already have paid in advance 10 years of server costs at the current limitations (thanks to profit from the first post). This means you un-editable post images will safe for a long time!

I will keep everyone updated via this post, I hope that by the time you read this I will have resolved the issue and stopped the attack.

Blue


Update
Just doubled up on the resources to see the severity of the attack and the limit was hit and exceeded once again...

Update 11:06 AM EST
Just finished up a second round of major server shifting , images should be loading on posts... I don't think I am out off the water just yet but if you can see or not see the website please comment below and let me know! - Lets see how long this lasts for...

Update 11:09 Am EST
Spoke too soon. When I have it stable and up for at least 10 minutes then I announce something :/

Update 3:09 PM EST
The site is officially back up. All hosted images will work without issue.
I am going to keep the no upload restriction up until further notice.
Thanks for your patience!

Sort:  

Let us know how we can help. Happy to donate some SBD. Don't want to lose this awesome Steemit tool! You've done an amazing job with it.

Thank you! I will be hopefully coming out with a even better version on my next attempt. The tool will return!

Sorry to hear that! Your service is great and I use it exclusively now. I just checked my latest post and the images are fine as you can see.

https://steemit.com/life/@kus-knee/the-old-dog-investigates-roads-is-there-a-better-way

I hope that you do well on this post in order to help with your costs!

Thanks for the info I would have responded earlier but I had my hands full. Thanks again

Thanks for your great work man, really appreciate it!

Thank you for your hard work in fixing this issue, and for keeping us informed throughout! Despite the inconvenience, this means the site is growing and has given you the chance to make it even better. Let us know when the restriction is lifted :)

I will, I am rethinking the best solution for image hosting, I feel there is a much better solution. I will make sure the next version of steemimg is the best for steemit

Thanks for providing this awesome service. If i can help in any way, say so

Will let you know! thanks

Thank you for this site!

Hi @blueorgy! I just wanted to thank your for your SteemImg service. I have used it for all my uploaded images on steemit.

•♥•☆ @alitas •☆•♥•

Thank you :) and thanks for the support.

Thank you @blueorgy! My recipes blog on steemit would be a little boring if I had no image to show!

Oh that wouldn't be good at all haha!

Steemimg is the best image hosting site ever. Easy to use. Fast. Convenient.
Its sad to see such attacks on good works.
Il love to transfer some SBD if that can help you to solve the attack.

Thankfully the attack is over but my goal is to never ask for SBD from anyone and have a service that will stay free forever.

I totally love Steemimg.
I hope soon the Uploads restrictions can be lift up too.
I am waiting to post something on my account and i dont wanna do it with some other.
Good Job @blueorgy
Always a fan of your work here.

Same here! now I have to find another service(which I do not want to do) to upload as I am ready to submit a blog:(

Thanks @blueorgy for your SteemIMG site!


Thanks for your effort. I've been using this platform since I joined steemit early this month. In fact, I've suggested to those new in the community to use this.
Appreciate your effort and determination.

Same here! I was referred by Craig Grant here on Steemit :) I love this image uploader and can't wait for it to come back much better!

I plan on it!

Awesome , thanks for that! Hopefully I can get something up and running shortly

wooohoo, back in full business. Upload now.
oops, spoke too soon. the [START UPLOADING] bring me back to this post.

Yes Sorry @ace108 the uploading restriction has not been lifted just yet. I am working on a new approach with a lot more potential for rapid growth and explanation without hitting walls.

no worries, I got over-excited seeing the [START UPLOADING] at the front.
at least, I had manage to post a new post yesterday as I have plan in advance and load images even while planning the writeup. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65