Savoury, Smokey, Summer Baked Beans : White Beans with Roasted Fennel and Tomatoes

in #steemianfoodnetwork8 years ago (edited)

My recipe a twist on classic baked beans! Caramelized fennel brings a smoky sweetness to the dish, reminiscent of bacon. This is an easy picnic or backyard barbecue side dish, great hot, warm or right out of the fridge! This dish could easily stand alone as an entrée with the addition of a few slices of sausage. It’s an easy one but the results are sure to impress!

White Beans with Roasted Fennel and Tomatoes

Ingredients

1 or 2 large fennel bulbs with fronds attached
1 glug of extra-virgin olive oil
1 sprinkle of Sea Salt
1 pint of cherry or grape tomatoes (but really any variety incorporates wonderfully into this dish.)
3 large garlic cloves, thinly sliced (or if you hate chopping garlic like I do, use garlic paste!)
1 dash of dried crushed red pepper
1 whatever-you-feel-like of black pepper
1 15-ounce cans cannellini (white kidney beans), drained

Preheat oven to 425°F.

Clean your fennel. Chop into ½ inch wide wedges.

Put some of your fennel fronds aside.

Heat a glug of olive oil in an ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat. Add fennel wedges in a single layer.

Cook until fennel begins to soften and brown, turning them occasionally. This will take approximately 15 minutes.

Pause to laugh at this tomato that looks like a butt.

Add Tomatoes, garlic, pepper, salt and red pepper flakes. Fold together to incorporate.

Transfer to the oven and bake for 30 minutes.

Mix in beans and return to the oven for 5 minutes to heat through.

Sprinkle with remaining chopped fronds. Serve warm or room temperature.

Sort:  

Every minute of farting will be worth it for something soooooo tasty looking!!!!

Poor MeeesesBoom... Ah well!

That looks mouth-watering! And so simple to make! Perfect. Had to laugh at the butt tomato as well :)

Traditional baked beans use brown sugar for the sweetness component. I love the idea of fennel used as a substitute as well. Very creative.

Yeah! There is no additional sugar but they have a maple-syrup like sweetness to them!

Looking forward to trying it out. I am featuring your link on my blog and I am following you. Keep on creating so I have some ideas for dinner.

wish I could put my hands through this screen to have a taste.

Steemit definitely needs a bookmarking system. This is one of those few rare simple-easy-to-do kind of cooking I need :D Will definitely try this on Sunday! That buttlike tomato looks so good lol!

Awesome! I love these one pan meals, because I HATE doing dishes!

Still too many dishes!
I tend skipping cooking and eat raw.
One plate meal if that, HAHA!

Fennel is the best!

Please tell me you saved the butt tomato?

Well, saved and then ate with some lavender salt!

Looks great and its super easy! , i just posted a watermelon cake! If you want, check it out ;)

nice recipe
thanks

Where's my plate!?
Just kidding, looks good!
I want some! :P

There is plenty to go around!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64