You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Qwant - The search engine that respects your privacy

in #steemhunt6 years ago (edited)

Looks good, but there are already similar "privacy" search engines/browsers available.

For me, what these "Google competitors" are missing, or not prioritsing enough is voice search. Google's traditional search model is already in decline, due to the rise of voice searching on mobile devices, and it's here that rivals should be targeting Google.

Yes, make the browsing experience safe and to protect your data, but make a really good experience in voice search (again, without recording your personal data), and I think they stand a real chance of hurting Google's domination.

Sort:  

Good analysis, I like your point of view on voice search in order to hurt Google's domination (competition is always good not monopoly). Qwant is available for some time already (mainly in France and Europe) and I use it for a few years, pleased with the results...

Thanks. I use Brave on my laptop and have been happy with it so far (where I do most of my web-time, because I'm a creator who works a lot in Photoshop & Premier Pro. I also use presearch, which is another search engine (crypto-related) which is going after Google. Again, I think they should be focusing on voice - there's way more upside to gaining market share if somebody can become THE voice search engine.

:-) I use both. Most of the time I use Brave as browser (very good system, rewarding the websites you visited) and also Presearch, I love the concept behind this project.