You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Move Mirror by Google - Just uploading pictures, discovering more fun pictures

in #steemhunt6 years ago

Anything that has google backing is probably a sure thing. Having said that, this project looks pretty cool, I think the old typewriter font on their website adds to it as well haha.

Pros:

  • The video makes me want to try it.
  • AI learning programming is the way of the future

Cons:

  • I don't really see the point of it, what is the overall purpose?

Overall it's kind of cool, would like to see how they plan to use this in the future, hopefully more than just make GIF's from it

Sort:  

I think the amazing thing here isn't the fact that you can get a picture which pretty well matches your posture, but rather that they've been able to train an AI to determine were all your limbs are moving just from pictures in a room with previously unknown light settings.

Just imagine how useful this could be for analyzing surveilance footage. Instead of watching through hours or days of surveilance video, you could just let a program scan all videos for a human action which matches what you're looking for. This is just an example of the top of my head.

The app itself serves no purpose other than being cool and attracting attention. I did try Move Mirror. In my opinion it didn't work well enough to give me the impression that the people in the pictures were moving like me. It seemed more like a laggy sequence of random images, so I suspect that they've spent some time finding good examples for advertising. Super cool, nonetheless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88