#steemgigs: A sit down with @drpuffnstuff

in #steemgigs7 years ago

As part of my #steemgigs work for @thedailysteemit, I'll be trying to interview someone in the Steemgigs community about their experiences. This week I'm talking to @drpuffnstuff, who has completed at least one gig that I know of, and has had successful #steemgigs get other members involved in their local neighborhoods! He is even currently paying @valued-customer, 70 SBD to build and place a little free steemit library! That's a BIG GIG! Here's my conversation with @drpuffnstuff:

  • How long have you been on Steemit?

I have been on Steemit one month and one day from the time of this interview. Which has been a really good, and productive month. Over a thousand posts (mostly comments), 450+ followers, and I will have completed 3 Steemgigs soon!

  • What's your favorite thing about the platform?

My favorite thing about this platform is the blockchain that it stands upon, I feel that blockchain is the future. In general the people involved or interested in blockchain technology are good people. Steemit helps prove that to me. The trending posts are always about cryptocurrency. Yet it has grown and evolved in to so much more and every one here stays cordial, kind, and helpful! I came for the crypto, and I stayed because of the people!

  • What do you do for a living? (Your day job)

For work I service diesel trucks, and sometimes help frame houses or do adobe work. Rough work. I've started and lost a company, and I hope to start and not lose my next company in the near future.

  • Your dream job?

My dream job is to be a business owner. I would also really like to learn enough to be a witness for Steemit, EOS, or Bitshares someday just for fun! I also want to own a t-shirt company again. I have many ideas and I'm trying to hone in. Currently I'm working on buying a bitcoin/ethereum ATM or 2 and placing them in my area so I don't have to drive 200 miles to buy a Bitcoin!

My first Steemgig experience is when I stumbled across a post by @inphiknit offering to pay in SBD's if we donate to charity. I donate things quite often and never get paid, so I decided I would do it and get a bonus while they were available!! He is always doing great Steemgigs like this. Chances are he currently has one going that anyone who feels like it may participate in, so go and check in on what he is doing! After I completed the Steemgig for him I had a stack of books I was unable to give away, and the idea to have bookmarks made and donate them struck me. I came home, learned how, and started my first Steemgig! I paid 4 awesome Steemians to make me bookmarks! Donated the books and decided I would offer to pay more people to do that as well leading into my second Steemgig!

  • What lead you to create the "Build a Free Little Library" gig?

I had the idea to pay someone to build the Little Free Library since the day I drove home with the books in the back of my car from the original Steemgig I did. I have always loved the Little Free Libraries. I think reading is magical, and not enough people do it anymore! I just want to give a few people the chance to read, and if we can get a Library sponsored by the steemit community. Then its just a win/win! @valued.customer has accepted the gig, and we should see the first Little Free Steemit Library up and running within a month!

  • Any hints as to what you're next [STEEMGIG] might be?

As for my next gig. I will have paid SBD to 4 people who donated books already by the time this is being read. My library Steemgig is contracted out and underway. Once it's complete I will be hoping to go for a second steemit library actually! Between now and then, I will run my new #postartchallenge , which is basically a steemgig! Also, I have my eyes set on completing a couple steemgigs that other people are hosting! Even hiring a Steemian or 2 that offered their services for hire in Steemgigs.

  • Where do you see yourself in one year?

In one year, I will probably be still servicing diesel trucks. I like hard work sometimes. I will hopefully have at least one btc/ethereum ATM purchased and in place. I want to get active in my local community in regards to crypto-currency. Some form of guerilla marketing campaign, that's my preference! Other then that I will be here on Steemit. Posting, Commenting, and reading in on activities of all the awesome people I have met and will meet between now and then! Taking part in and hosting a few contests and Steemgigs!

  • Any words for the community? Anything you'd like to "plug"?

I'm too new here to have any impactful, or insightful words for the community as a whole. I do feel that 6 months ago steemit was much worse then it was a month ago. Today it is much better than it was a month ago! I am excited for the new hardfork, I am excited for all the new changes to come afterwards! I can see that Steemians as a whole, only want what is best for the community! I will keep my shoutouts to a minimal. @surpassinggoogle and #SteemGigs for all you are doing for the community and for steemit! #whaleshares and the #minnowsupportproject and all the other projects and Steemian's who are curating posts for new users like me. You have all made us feel welcome, you are appreciated! Lastly but not leastly, to the witnesses and devs who keep all this running and are always improving our Steemit experience behind the scenes! I don't have enough votes for all of you that are worthy of my vote, and that says something very positive for steemit! Shoutout to voting! Go vote on witnesses if you haven't already!! Thanks for having me, I look forward to having a steemit newspaper to read!

Follow @drpuffnstuff, and watch a minnow grow into a whale! And follow @thedailysteemit to read up on all the most interesting topics on steemit, starting publications NEXT WEEK!


badge.gif
Follow me @thatsweeneyguy


Sort:  

This was exactly what I needed! Thank you so much for posting. (And so well written, what a treat!)

This is my first couple days on this platform and I'm having so much fun!

Welcome to Steemit! You're going to love it here

Sounds like a swell person!

@thatsweeneyguy @drpuffnstuff & @skye1 I'm so pleased to have met you all in this way. You guys are really great, I'm blessed to know you :)

@drpuffnstuff and I were talking about doing to charity thing again, since no one has seem to come around to the idea yet.

You're welcome to! Even if not this time, I'll run something again after it expires.

Amazing work @thatsweeneyguy ! I love these type of interviews so cool Good job @drpuffnstuff :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55