You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Need Help with Microsoft Excel? If Yes, I'm your guy!!!

in #steemgigs7 years ago (edited)

Here is the first question: I have imported in my Excel table data on crypto prices from coinmarketcap.com. They come in cell formated as (for example Bitcoin) $2572.03. How can I transform this text content into a number usable in formula?

Sort:  

Hello, What is the format of the cell? Text? If yes, let's assume that you have the data on cell A1, you can use this formula: "=VALUE(A1)" on cell B1 and that will covert the text to number.

It says “General” number format, not “Text”. And I got #VALUE! error when I try that formula

Can you give me an example of how a cell looks? In your first message you asked: How can I transform this text content into a number usable in formula?

I wanna now exactly what is on this cells. Thanks.

It's a selected cell, “General” number format.

SC-2017-06-04_151848.jpg

It is imported from here:

http://coinmarketcap.com/

If you have the cells already in General format, you can use them to create any formulas/calculations with them. For instance, this image shows a selection of cells that are on General format, as you can see at the bottom of the image, excel uses the selection to calculate sum and average.

Maybe I'm not understanding the question. I'm sorry.

It's simple. You try to import data from the coinmarketcap, and then try to use a cell with price data in a formula.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52