You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: UPDATE: Steemgig: I found a Steemian and he's building a steemit inspired Little Free Library for 70 SBD's total!

in #steemgig7 years ago (edited)

I reckon I can do this. I live in a village and have never seen one of these before.

How do we proceed?

Edit: I have a place in mind in a small trailer park where people of lesser financial means reside. There is a covered laundry room, and also a manager's office, which might suit. Both indoors.

ReEdit: I have few books. When I get this done can folks throw some books my way? I reckon the most popular would be Romance Novels, considering the ppl living here. Danielle Steele, etc., Sci Fi, John Le Carre, similar fluffy stuff would likely be most popular.

Sort:  

You will have to find someone (or yourself) to host it (keep it in their front yard by the street). Or find a little local business that might like the idea to host it and keep it on their property. The 2 I went to recently were just ad the edge of people property by the street.. Then just look at examples here
https://www.google.com/search?q=little+free+library&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwi6kJKL68HUAhUE4mMKHfjQCwcQ_AUICigB&biw=1536&bih=735

Build something like one of those, paint the steemit logo and/or the words steemit.com on it. Or something saying sponsored by steemit.com.. If that all sounds possible, let me know! or if there is something I can do to help make it possible, let me know too!

The two locations I have in mind are in a laundry room, or the manager's office. Of the two the laundry room would be best, because no management to disturb, and a more central location.

Both are indoors, but accessible to the local community of residents of the park.

I am a carpenter, so making it is no problem.

I'd need the paint and materials, but can try to rustle up some leftovers from jobs. That's how I built my home.

Well if you want you are hired! I like the ambition, and I like the idea of a laundromat because lots of people might be there to use it and it could give kids who have to wait something to read! And if you take the job and were able to convert it I would send 10 SBD's up front to pay for paint! I would send it as soon as the owner of the laundromat or managers office ok'd it! And then once its built and in place. I will send you and extra 45$ worth of SBD to get it registered on their website so it will be on the map and have its own number and plaque!

Okie Doke. I'm starting a project today. We'll see what can be rounded up in terms of materials, and I'll talk to Jan (manager) and see if it's ok by her to put a free library in the laundryroom.

Is there some way you and I can confer privately?

Message me on steemit chat . My name is the same so you can look me up and send me a private message..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59032.15
ETH 2518.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46