Steemgg Interview: Tap Monsters and @surfknasen

in #steemgg6 years ago

Tapmonsters Title.jpg

Hi Everyone, the Voting of Steemgg x Steemmonsters Game Jam has started! Visit our voting page and place your vote on your three favourite games!

During these 7 days of voting, we will be showcasing each of the games that was submitted, so everyone can learn a bit more about the games, and a bit more on the developers themselves.

Our fourth entry of the Game Jam is Tap Monsters by @surfknasen. In this game, you use the monsters that you gain through levelling up and use it to defeat bosses by clicking (or tap with a phone) on the boss.


Game Review


At the start of the game, you only have one monster card, the Kobold miner, and you will notice that it is the monster that is fighting the clay golem on the top of the screen. The clay golem is the practice target, and you will gain level as the clay golem is hit by your monster. Your monster will automatically attack without clicking, but clicking on the clay golem will increase your attack rate and hence the speed at which you level up.

tapmonsters_kobold_miner.JPG

As you level up, you unlock more powerful cards, which you can then use to fight. For example, at level 46 I have the access of the Pirate Captain, which I could select and use. As you go higher up, you get to add more powerful monsters such as the earth elemental or the water elemental into your arsenal.

tapmonster_select_card2.JPG

tapmonsters_unlock_cards.JPG

When you are ready, you can press the button at the centre of the screen to go to the boss screen. There are a large number of bosses you can fight, starting from a Frost Giant. As you beat a boss, the next boss will be unlocked for you to fight, all the way to a Chromatic Dragon.

tapmonsters_final_boss.JPG

Once you select a boss, you go into the fight screen, where you click on the boss as fast as you can to damage it. When you have clicked enough times, you can unleash a massive ultimate attack by holding down the mouse button, which will give huge damage. When you finally beat the boss, you get massive experience points to level up.

tapmonsters_ultimate_attack.jpg

tapmonsters_defeat_boss.jpg

This is really a simple and fun clicker game you can’t miss! See if you can go all the way and beat every single boss!

You can find more details about the game on @surfknasen’s own post here


Game Dev’s interview


Now that we know more about this game, let’s get to know @surfknasen a little bit better! We have interviewed @surfknasen to talk about the game, game development, and how he feel about Steemgg:


Steemgg: Did you enter as a team or solo? If as a team, is this the same team you always have when you develop your games? Who’s in your team and what does each person do?
@surfknasen: I entered solo. I've always done a lot by myself. I'm a bit scared of working together with other people because I don't wanna disappoint anyone because I don't trust my programming abilities that much yet.

Steemgg: How did you come up with the idea for this game?
@surfknasen: I don't play a lot of mobile games, but when I do it's almost always a clicker game. I don't know exactly what it is about that genre that I like, I just love them. I've previously experimented with making a clicker game, but never really had a good idea. Though, when I saw this game jam I almost instantly knew I wanted to make some form of clicker game using the Steem Monster characters.

Steemgg: What is the most fun or memorable part for you in this game jam?
@surfknasen: After finishing most of the mechanics and just adding lots of monsters and bosses, it felt like things were really coming together, which was nice to see. Though, the most fun moment has to be when I was done and posted it. One of the most fun things about game dev is letting other people play your game and hearing their thoughts about it.

Steemgg: Are you a professional game dev or hobbyist? How long have you been doing it?
@surfknasen: I'm a hobbyist. I've been learning to code since December 2016. I had gotten an Arduino ("Open-source electronic prototyping platform") earlier that year, so my dad taught me some basics to get me started with that. After a while of playing with that, I realized how fun programming could actually be (I had tried some Java 2 years earlier but found it pretty boring because I only wrote stuff to the console). Today I spend most of my free time working on games that I hope to release some day.

Steemgg: What is the hardest part in being an Independent Game Dev? What is the best part? And what is your most unforgettable experience as a game dev?
@surfknasen: Well for me, since I'm young and don't have a source of income, I can't really get the best assets for my game (and hiring an artist is way too expensive), The best part I guess would be that most people in the indie scene are very passionate about the game they're working on, while perhaps it feels more like a chore for people who work on AAA games (I'm just assuming here).
My most fun and unforgettable experience so far was when I released my mobile multiplayer game, Rocketbrawl. I made a post on Reddit which got me lots of attention for my game. It was so cool to see lots of players actually playing my game and giving me feedback and comments on it. It died down a bit after that, but then the game got a feature and this time there were like three times as many people online. I think that wasn't just my proudest moment in game dev, but in life.

Steemgg: What is your favourite video game, and what would you improve about it if you call the shots?
@surfknasen: My favorite video game right now is probably Fortnite. It's such a fun game to play with friends! I don't really know what I'd improve about it since I think Epic is doing a fantastic job on it. Though, I think the cosmetics are way too expensive...

Steemgg: What do you think of Steemgg as a platform and how do you think it can be improved?
@surfknasen: I love the idea of Steemgg! I like to make short and fun games when I'm bored, and now I feel like developing those a bit more so I can post them on Steemgg. I think you'll be seeing more of my games there!
I don't have any feedback to give on Steemgg yet, but I'll absolutely let you know on Discord if I do!


Thanks @surfknasen for sharing your experience with us! We reckon you did a great job in making this game, and would be a great asset to any game development team out there! We look forward to seeing more of your games soon on Steemgg!

If you like Tap Monsters, please support @surfknasen by upvoting his game post, and placing your vote for Game #4 on our Game Jam Voting page.


Come Play at https://steemgg.com

Support @steemgg by Upvote, Resteem, Follow

Delegate to us: 50SP|100SP|500SP|1000SP

Follow our @steemgg.curation curation trail here

Sort:  

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 2 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 12 SBD worth and should receive 262 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48