STEEM Food Tours #5 : Mangia Italiana - Omaha, Nebraska

in #steemfoodtours6 years ago (edited)

ECF05A54-F86A-4273-B35A-AE1B6ABF628C.jpeg

For this entry for #steemitfoodtours, I figured that I would go back to my favorite local Italian spot with my wife. This place is called Mangia Italiana!

5E82B48C-EF91-4B05-BF9F-895CFABBEC9F.png

428FE987-5FBB-4654-BD99-7E8EA402D189.jpeg

Some history behind Mangia; it began out of the house of an Italian family down in South Omaha, this part of town is where most of the Italian immigrants came to, including my great grandparents many years ago.

For the family, business picked up so they decided to find a larger space to cook. They did lunch orders and catering until they finally decided to open it up into a restaurant.

0F6B45BB-97A1-40CE-9625-F584145FBD24.jpeg
E8386B31-125A-43AE-845C-355AB4631843.jpeg

As you can see, it is a very small place with only 8 tables inside (excluding outdoor seating and a party room for reservations in the basement). But do not let the size of the building fool you, this place is authentic Italian deliciousness!

1C37C0CE-08C6-49A0-9E37-BCE4250FC5C3.jpeg
D5BF0E5A-3BDC-45BA-B211-EBE83A45501A.jpeg

I decided to go with me and my wife’s all time favorite from here, the super buffalo chicken pizza! (Shown above) this pizza contains cream cheese, chicken, buffalo sauce, onions, jalapeños and more. It’s not overly spicy, but just enough to give it a good kick. It’s the kind of meal you want to eat and follow it up with a nap.
6218B787-DFBD-44AE-823D-7D83441C2A70.jpeg
Of course at Italian dining establishment, you gotta try their cannolis!

Some other favorites from this restaurant are: The chicken Alfredo with a homemade parmasean roll:
201FF3FA-9A17-4E55-A8B0-A88E1B1AA0EC.jpeg

And the Italian sausage:
D4A91A20-A012-46EC-B914-DBF9768FFB1B.jpeg

Literally anything you order off of the menu here is delicious so don’t hesitate to come back multiple times! Mangia also prefers quality over quantity. They do not skimp on the ingredients. All of their ingredients, including their basil comes from local farms around the city.

If you are in Omaha sometime, please check this place out and support the little guy!

Mangia Italiana is located at 6516 Irvington Rd. Omaha, NE 68122.

Check out their entire menu on there website at:
mangiaitaliana.com

Happy #steemfoodtours! Thanks for reading!

If you would like to see more local restaurant and beer reviews, please upvote and follow.

Thanks again!

Also, just wanted to include that this place is very near and dear to my heart since they catered me and my wife's wedding. They are fantastic to work with and know how to cater!

Sort:  

It is delicious! Stop by some time! Thanks for the upvote, I am following you now.

Oh. My. Lord. I think I need to come to Omaha for the soul purpose of eating food and drinking beer... That pizza looks brilliant!

Yes! It seems like buffalo chicken pizza is the new fad. I've tried many from many different pizza places and this is by far the best! They do serve Peroni beer on tap. Me and my buddy are trying to talk them into serving Brickway then we will have all we need in 1 stop lol.

Haha I love a good buffalo chicken pizza. Take a look at this one I made a while back: https://steemit.com/food/@jeffjagoe/homemade-buffalo-chicken-cast-iron-deep-dish-pizza-a-chef-jeff-recipe

P.S try your best to use only original photos next time!

Thanks I’ll check that out! And no problem, just wanted to show off some of their other food. I will definitely do that next time.

WOOOW... now I'm hungry... great post!!!

Oh man!!!! I can taste that Pizza from here.... Looks delicious!!

Congratulations @anthony-t-clarke! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56166.62
ETH 2397.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37