Steemfollower/Steemauto problems & Why? & What is the solution?

in #steemfollower6 years ago (edited)

Untitled-1.png

since 1 week ago we have many problems in Steemfollower and in Steemauto.
for example:

  • transferring problem in the SF (steemfollower) market
  • upvoting problem in SF
  • Login problem in SF
  • Fanbase and curation trail problems in SA (steemauto)
  • and ...

Why we have these problems?

First I want to explain how SF and SA and most of steem based apps works.
we need a way to make a connection between our apps and steem blockchain. for this purpose we can use RPC nodes/websockets.
You can see list of public steem RPC nodes here
since official steemit node turned off in the recent week, I used all of the listed nodes and we had problem with all of them.
another problem is there are not any way to use a backup node!

so, Why we can't use a private rpc node?
the answer is: we can use. but, the problem is the server costs!
for running an RPC node for steem blockchain, we need a server with about 256GB RAM! and some powerful SSD storage and a high speed internet connection for handling many RPC/websocket connections.
also, the server should be 100% stable!

I want to run a private rpc node for steemfollower and steemauto and use it without any problem. I should pay about 500 USD per month for running something stable.
yes, I can make 500 USD by my steem account since SBD and STEEM prices are high! but I can't predict the future of these coins.

I have 3 options:
1- Create a donation page and ask for donations in steemfollower and steemauto.
I don't want to take your hard earned STEEM or SBD. I will find another option.
2- Make some premium features and take money for using them.
I want to keep steemfollower and steemauto free of costs.
3- Add daily one post to the sites which should be upvoted by users before using the web site. (last option)
this option is not fair! users should upvote if they like, not by force.

I need more ideas. please participate and help to growing steemfollower and steemauto.

I want to create a better platform for steem users. and will continue to work on it to make it better than steemit, busy, or any other similar programs.
after a few weeks you will see something different in steemfollower.


What do you think?
if you have any suggestion or any idea, please share in comments. (good comments will get some rewards)

also, another way to covering the server cost is running a high rank steem witness!
you can vote for mahdiyari as a witness here
scroll down and you will see a form for voting low rank witnesses.
at least vote for one witness in steem community! it is important for steem future.


Regards,
Mahdi Yari,
2018-01-08

Sort:  

I have been using steemfollowers for some weeks now and I can say it has helped me a lot. It deals with the biggest problem in steemit, visibility. Instead of using voting bots now my posts can have more organic views and I can promote them even more.

As for suggestions, number 2 could be nice, see more features if you are premium like less cost for promotion or maybe more % points. However, I can see how whales can rack up more points this way but could be worth it.

For number 3 I can see the problem. Maybe you could make it as a bonus, if you vote one daily steemfollowers posts you get 2x points for that post compared to regular votes. This way you earn more points for your vote power and you have the option to do it or not. With a 2x bonus I would definitely do it.

I am not sure why the market was taken down but if it comes back you can take a percentage (10% or something similar).

@jerrybanfield do a lot of steem budget proposals. You could contact him and maybe send a proposal for him to review.

I will see if I have more ideas. I think these projects specially steemfollowers are one of the best features steemit could have.

I have been using steem followers for a week or two now. But i got a lot of contact followers and an upvote which otherwise i wouldnt have get both.
The problem is very understandable and i think having a 9000 users is a bigger advantage than the problem itself has created.

The solution i propose would be to have one vote from 9000 users is a bigger asset and opportunity. Their is an ethiopian saying 50 lemons are a heavy burden to one person but 1 lemon for fifty persons is a treasure.

So why not we use a circulateive vote useage where one person should give one vote per week or more. The duration might be variable. When 9000/7days would be 1285 upvote value per day which is good value. So think about revolving vote and if anybody wants to give more vote the system can give a little insentive to promote for an hour or more.

Respect

Have you considered running a bid bot? What is the minimum steem delegation? Require all users of your free services to delegate the minimum to a bid bot owned by you that you can make money off of. Also everyone could be placed in the bid bot's curation trail so the bot would increase the curation reward for each post and earn more SP.

I'm a young Steemian and would do it if the minimum isn't too high. After all, I make money through curation on your services.

Thanks for the post.
Thanks for all you do.
Keep Steeming!

This is a nice idea, combined with a premium feature. If you delegate to the bot you can get premium features.

And yes as a minnow, steemfollowers have helped me so much.
Best regards!

Thanks. I'm sure other options exist but this is all I could think of right now.

Any idea what the minimum delegation is?

I am not sure, I think you can even delegate 1 SP isnt it?

no minimum in sp delegation.

@mahdiyari - I think running a donations section on Steemfollower is the best idea. With Steem 6 $ and SBD at 8$, to get 500$ per month, you need just a donation of about 60-65 SBD. With more than 9000 users, if you make an appeal, getting 65 SBD a month is not problem. Even if SBD plunged in future by some unfortunate problem, I think even a 1000 out of 9000 users donated 50 cents each per month, it would be sufficient.
Thanks for putting in all the hardwork. Upvoted the post through Steemfollower
Regards,

@vm2904

Thanks for letting us know. I would prefer the last option. Upvoting is no skin off anyone's nose. You should be paid better for what is a great service. I'm happy to auto upvote the creator.

I think bid bot is the best one as we all are more than 9000 steemian,if we combine our sp it will be more than what @upme vote value is.
Also for steem follower members it should be more profitable so in return more outsiders will be attracted towards steem follower and hence more members means more sp.

"256GB RAM!" Omg it is a lot of memory!
I completely understand how difficult it's to maintain that server.

That's one of the big problems with running a Steem node; it requires a whole lot of RAM compared to what you would expect.

Since I started using Steem auto helped me a lot in the part of choosing Seguidorres and be able to give you automatic voting, now with the technical drawbacks and the cost of the equipment to curbir these expenses.

I suggest creating non-profit partners to give a monthly contribution with Certain benefits to grow the project

All of your point of view and ideas are very fair and correct. It's absolutely right that expecting some valuable ideas from our Steemians.

why did the official steemit node turn off?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63691.77
ETH 3157.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84