Steem Flag Rewards: A Diplomatic Solution to the FREESTEEM situation

in #steemflagrewards6 years ago (edited)

I was having a discussion with one of the lotto users and, during that course, an idea dawned upon me.

What was the idea you ask? It's simple. We create a script to modify the freesteem operators into contests for the best jokes and comments or customized to whatever they would like. The competitive element will inspire comments that are good quality just like a free market.

This is how it would work and I'm going to need to roll up my sleeves on the Python but I believe it is well within my capabilities.



Here's how it works. Instead of just offering SBD for upvotes. Let the pool be distributed by comment upvote scores (excluding self-votes). It will be fairly automated but will just need to swap out the permlink or identifier in the script.

So, users can upvote to enter the contest, comment leaving a funny joke or something. At the time of post payout, the rewards are not merely divvied out because you upvoted but rather that you contributed something of value. That's really what this was all about I think.

It will take me a few days to hammer out the script but I am very excited about having a good ending to all this. I think this will be a good way for Steem Flag Rewards to build bridges within in the community. What do you think? Drop a comment below.



Links to previous posts:

https://steemit.com/steemflagrewards/@steemflagrewards/steem-flag-rewards-what-are-schemes-f9da1fb6e8929

https://steemit.com/steemflagrewards/@steemflagrewards/steem-flag-rewards-watching-mentions-for-plagiarism-spam-schemes-scams



Sort:  

I like that you are looking for solutions. I used to vote on the free sbd as it was the only way that i recieved any rewards on the site for a long time.
I hate the fact that a couple of users decided to take that away from hundreds of other users just because they didn't like the concept and in my opinion did a lot more harm to steem userbase than the free sbd posts ever could do.
Instead you have looked for a way to change the situation in a way that might suit the different groups and i applaud you for taking a reasonable approach to a devisive issue. I hope that you are able to put something together.

Thank you! It's more than a couple of us. But, yes, I think this can be something that turns posting that offers little value to something that may even attract people from the outside of Steem. If you are a Reddit user, you know that the comments are where it's at.

Im on reddit. You find the best content from the users in the comments. Some of the subbreddits are brilliant.
I have heard that some of the steemit creators are working on communities for steemit which will be based on the same idea of getting people grouped together on similar subjects.
I think that every innovation on here that gets people voting or commenting is to be encouraged. We are only at the beginning so the more people that we have being active the better. At the moment there is a high dropout rate and i would not like to see any actions that would contribute to this.

I like this idea. A possible use case could be a daily discussion thread about a specific topic. It can be seen on reddit, that this will be work. I like to read these daily discussion threads on reddit for cryptocurrencies. I'm convinced that this could also work on steemit.

So we need a several daily discussion threads, which are created by a bot on trending topics. The steem user can then upvote good contributions and as an extra bonus , the best comment wins something on top.

What do you think about free upvotes?
https://steemit.com/trending/freeupvote

I'm not sure what to make of what is going on here but, as you may notice, the bid bots are used extensively on the posts and they are requiring follows to get a chance for their "free" upvote.

I'm not sure what to make of it at the moment. Possible follow farming to stand up a resteem bot but can't really put my finger on it just yet. The freeupvote account is only 21 days old. When did you notice this?

I noticed this 2 days ago. I would call this a free-resteem ring. To enter you have to upvote the daily post, write your post-link into a comment and follow. I tried this one time. But it is realy annoying, as you will then see a lot of random post in your section. The user who post their blog links gain nothing but a little more visiblity. The most gains have the steem users who set this up:

It's to hear a win-win situation was possible, at least in this case the abuse will stop - well done!

Although brace yourself for bitter battles with those who just care about their profit with ZERO regard to the community, without them flag wars won't be fun :)

We're going to give this a try here. Upvote / drop a comment to win from the post payout.

https://steemit.com/contest/@anthonyadavisii/social-experiment-mining-brain-power-with-comment-farming-via-rewards

What's the response to this? @steemflagrewards what happened? Please advise.

so apparantly he flagged this comment but keeps going to upvote his own comments.. what a child..

Steemit.com is not free of hypocrisy. I'm sure it's not easy either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90