You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Idea: #steemfirstpublishing cirle.

Haven't successfully done POD yet myself. I want to go for pocketbook format with IngramSpark, and I'm trying to learn Scribus, but I'm still confused about the whole page count to inner margins thing. Don't want to fork out €300 for a year of InDesign just yet, as of all of the indie authors I know who have done POD, none (including a close friend who sold over 50k copies of his ebooks) sold more than a few dozen printed copies, not even enough to break even on the InDesign subscription.
So for now, I need to try and figure stuff out with Scribus and the confusion about pagecount->inner margins that has currently gotten me confused.

As for ebooks, the channels I'm currently using are:

  • Google Play
  • Kobo
  • Smashwords (pushes to iBooks, B&N and others)
  • Amazon

Not doing so well on Amazon, but if you need tips on the other three, let me know.

If you have any tips regarding my Scribus/IngramSpark/pocketbook POD struggles, all help is welcome.

Sort:  

Not super familiar with Scribus, but with indesign it's a matter of starting your first page on the left hand side or right hand side, then having your master pages set appropriately on a double page layout. I found a novel template for scribus with a quick google, and the PDF they produced looks like it would be fine on a print job, with correctly alternating bindside bleeds. Maybe download it and borrow their parameters for the parts you need? http://johnosterhout.com/basic-book-template-for-scribus/

And, totally agree, I think a physical book is much better for something like rewards or marketing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44