My latest music video: Bloodbath - Chainsaw LullabysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfilm6 years ago

In the latest pop video I directed, I pay homage to the slasher genre, in full VHS quality

The other week, a video I made for Swedish death metal gurus BLOODBATH, went live on YouTube.


The video I made is for a track off their up-coming album 'The Arrow Of Satan Is Drawn'.

Now... if you're in to your death metal, give it a watch. If you're not, give it a watch.


I directed/shot/edited the video with a super small team with local performers, and filmed so locally that I didn't have to drive more than 20 minutes in one direction to shoot anything. However, I wanted this to feel like it could have been filmed anywhere, so it's visually pretty nondescript in that sense.

The bands management got in touch with me at the start of September 2018, and since then inbetween me pitching the idea to them and signing off the final edit, the video was shooting for approximately 5 days.

The idea behind the video is that I wanted to shoot a video which felt like it was a lost slasher film from the 80's that had been rediscovered after being in the attic for 30 years. The band really loved that idea, so I just got on with it.

We had an absolute blast making this video - from creating the chainsaw character, to shooting scenes in the woods and workshops - all with a view to capturing that true slasher feel. I watched a lot of old film trailer from that era to get a slight feel for it.


I hope you get as much joy from watching it (and listening) as we did from making it. More BTS to come.

Sort:  

Hahah awesome man! Gruesome stuff. I couldn't listen to the music on loud because I didn't want to draw too much attention with the younger crowd in the house, so will have to listen to it properly later :P I can just imagine how much fun this was to make though, and amazing that it was all so local too!

Haha yes! Oh the music is so intense (as is any of that genre) - it's not entirely my cup of tea but I like some of the groovy moments and see the appeal.

It was mega fun, but so so so much work.
I'd do it again though. I see another VHS b-movie style project on the horizon for sure.

Haha yea... my days of loving Death Metal have passed it seems..

I can definitely appreciate how much work this took, how long did it take you to edit and produce this?

I think about 5 days of shooting over all (not all of them 'full' days) and probably a week of editing on/off as the new shots came in.
Putting it on to VHS was a headache though, I must say!

That's insane, man! Talk about capturing the vibe of the genre and era. Extremely impressed with the video. Awesome job!

Wow, thanks @ezzy! That's fantastic to hear - the feedback I've seen from fans of the band has been incredibly positive (which is a first haha!). It really was a labour of love, with lots of time constraints.

It was enjoyable watching slasher trailers in research for the video. I wanted it to feel like a real film trailer, but also serve the purpose of being a music video. Thanks for the super positive comment :)

This is awesome in so many different ways. Eventhough it is the opposite kind of music to what most of these movies had as soundtracks and not necessarily my type of sound, it definitely works. It makes me smile and gives me the creeps all at the same time.

Awesome video! Love the 80s vibe, from clothing references to the chainsaw, from plot to the look of the titles.

Impressive job, especially learning that you only heard about this project last month! :>)

Thanks for the feedback @vincentnijman! I think the VHS format sealed the effect and made it feel more real. Thanks for noticing all the details like costume and titles too, a little bit of planning goes a long way.

Saying that, my wife made the mask 2 hours before the first shoot! She nailed it.

The mask is awesome too! :>)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations @ashtv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94