Alone in Krakow

in #steemfest6 years ago

9803E30B-0572-42F6-B78B-3AC5FE48222D.jpeg

I’m here at the Kraków airport waiting for the Bombardier flight to Warsaw, where I’ll catch a LOT jet to the U.S. @GMuxx just boarded for Amsterdam, and I’m really, truly alone for the first time since I left Chicago. I’ll be here for hours, too—I shared an Uber with Muxxy and his flight was four hours ahead of me. I might as well get comfortable.

It’s not an issue of fear—I feel very secure here and I’m happy with my itinerary. It’s that being surrounded by so much positive energy for a solid week means that re-entry into a world without it feels like stepping from the warmth of a family hearth into nuclear winter. It’s harsh. And toxic. And I miss my friends.

Leaving Kraków this morning felt like emotional surgery. No, I didn’t have sand in my eyes. I was crying, all the way from the bridge over the river to the airport. I was in the back seat of the car watering the floorboard, and even Muxxy didn’t realize I was in pieces until we stepped out at Arrivals. Thank God. Yeah, maybe it’s a little embarrassing. This was my fourth meetup and I thought I was getting past this. Nope. Even my own advice to start planning the next meetup before the current one ends was not enough to make me feel better.

By the time I’m over the Atlantic I’ll be fine. Well, at least okay. Some of us Steemfest stragglers had conversation last night about getting together in the States this spring. Gosh, I hope that happens. In the meanwhile, we have some pretty great memories of Poland to carry us through. So Steem on, folks! Even better times ahead.

Sort:  

Steem on to you :) Glad it was a great experience for you. Thanks for sharing @rhondak

It was so lovely to meet you. Give your furry babies hugs on my behalf and fufunchis 🐀🐀🐀

I sure will! And it was awesome meeting you, too. Somehow, some way, we’ll cross paths again soon. ❤️

Hopefully so :)

gee @rhondak you're such a tough bird .. how could this ever happen? ... hmm usually in a flash :)

It’s just so hard leaving everyone. I still have my moments.

Wishing you a safe trip home. You sure traveled far to be a part of Steemfest. Hoping next year they pick a place closer.

Well, to be honest I was thrilled to travel. This was a new experience for me, and I’ll never forget it. 😀

I am not trying to take anything away from your experience. It sounds like something you will never forget. Life changing for you.

😊 Definitely life changing. I hope every serious Steemian gets to experience at least one.

Not sure how serious I am. I make the best of Steemit and have improved my skills being here. I gave up on serious. The whales prosper the minnows swim.
I am going to keep swimming though. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79