My Steemfest Chronicles. Manning the front desk.

in #steemfest8 years ago (edited)

I'm writing my first SteemFest a day after it ended as I had just landed and got home. I need to wrap my head around all this and I will in this Chronicles series but for now I can only say that it was such a different weekend, for me.

For those of you who do not know, I was part of @firepower 's crew that helped everything run smoothly behind the scenes. That was initially a source of anxiety for me, before arriving. But in fact turned to be a source of joy.
It was really nice to check-in everyone, get to meet them as they arrived, hand the t-shirt to those who got one and just chat a bit before the big event. Also, being part of such a diverse team was huge learning experience.


I "stole" roeland's ring

I must say that @firepower lives up to his name. HE is pure energy and I feel that he helped us all give it all. Somehow he also managed to party more than most. No idea how.

@roelandp is exactly as I imagined and I hope @ned and the HQ really know what luck they had when he joined Steemit! This Fest would have never happened without him. Period. He deserves a GoldenSteem.

Well, a photo is worth many words so here's one. Roeland's style is rather awesome.


@roelandp and @firepower and the secret scarfs. Those are collectible items, guys :D

I won't sing praises to the rest of the team because I already kind of did in private...but you guys were awesome! There will be photos though in the next post.

This first day was really intense and overwhelming. There's something unique to talk with a person that it's really a stranger but you also feel that you know. This dichotomy can be very bewildering at times and I got this feeling constantly with every steemit friend I met. I had to readjust and re calibrate the way I see them and also what we talked in the past became more nuanced to me. All this was really exhausting yet kind of exhilarating.

After manning the front desk for about 11 hours, I had a drink with the rest of the people in the lobby of the awesome Volkshotel and then it was an early night for me as Saturday we had to be up early and get everyone to the boats. Of course, I had the key...


I'll continue the chronicles during the week. Stay Tuned! :D

Sort:  

Thank you for teaching me what a quince is :)

haha :)) this will forever live in infamy!

I really appreciate the behind the scenes people, you guys make the world turn. Thank you for all the work you do!

Dude! Thank you for all the kind words of appreciation! It was great hanging out with you! I have a lot of energy and events like SteemFest are a great way to burn away some of it! :D

haha! well said, we need these outlets! but no worries man, my pleasure to have met you, it's still amazing that we got this chance

Absolutely amazing! Still can't believe it happened! :D

You did a smashing job manning that desk and much more too! Everyone was so friendly when I arrived to register.
It was nice to see you at SteemFest!

Thank you for your help!!! Followed!

no worries, man! glad it was noticed! i follow you for a while now, had no clue you are so intense in person though :D nice meeting you

Haha, yeah I guess I am a bit intense :-)

Love the STEEM ring

It must be mine , my pretty

I was super pleased to meet you in person dude! I hope you enjoy that haggis and if you dont, dont worry.. half of scotland can't stand them either ;o)

And the t-shirt is awesome!

waiting for the photos :D will keep an eye on your blog (as always)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31