A paradigm shift: How I decided to go to SteemFest

in #steemfest8 years ago

Ever since I had heard about SteemFest I knew I wanted to go. No doubt it will be a once-in-a-lifetime event, in a debaucherous town with awesome people, united by a common interest: STEEMIT!


I'll be here!!!

Why even hesitate?

Well: money.

In Romania, the average monthly salary is about 500 euros and the Amsterdam weekend will be about 500 euros, so it wasn't a sum that I can just spend it and forget it. If you are coming from a different part of the world 500e might be more or less important so everyone has a different money question. If money was no questions, I'd have just done it instantly. As it was, I had to spend a few days thinking about it.

Another thing to consider is "opportunity cost". Even if you have money, you might use them better somewhere else: investment, savings, a rate on that dream house....you name it, there's always an opportunity cost to spending [ unless you're super rich or something ].

So, being the neurotic person that I am ( did you know this about me?! :D ) I asked around and debated with friends. Then someone said something along these lines:

"You can do all kind of things with those money but at the end of the day, you can't buy this experience"

And something just clicked in my mind. How true is that?
Because being part of Steemit is, for me, about community first! I "met" so many great people around here that I'm just so excited to meet in real life! I know that no matter what, the experience will be worth it. ( also, you get 1000SP so that's not nothing either )

But on a larger scale, it led to a small paradigm shift for me. From now on, I'll remind myself only one thing before I decide on spending money vs saving money:

Experience >> Money

So, if you are not yet sure if you should come to Amsterdam - 11th, 12th, 13th November - for SteemFest, ask yourself how much do you value this experience. If nothing else, you'll get to meet ME! ( and @roelandp and @ned and so on so forth )

I hope I'll see a lot of you there and I can not wait!

Sort:  

It's working out even more expensive for me at almost $1500!But the thought of meeting you guys is motivating me!
With the effort I am making, I hope I do make it!

You can do it!

Upvoted, anyone who is determined to get to steemfest despite a few finances being short I shall support in whatever way I possibly can. See you at steemfest my fellow steemian.

Cant wait to see y'all :)

Yay, me too. Very excited. Focusing on earning my plane ticket money now :)

Yes!
Great post. When I first heard about it my immediate thought was I want to go!
A plane ticket for me is almost 1k before other expenses. I spend less than $100 per month so it's a lot of $$$ for me.
I am going to find a way to make it though. See you there!

You can win a donation by commenting on a #steemfestdreamers posts. We are announcing the new ticket winner tonight!

For me to go to steem fest it will cost about 1000 Euros, South Africa to Europe is expensive :(

Have fun for me!

oh man. You see, that's crazy expensive. I will, I hope. thank you for the warm wishes!

Very cool. Resteemed and tweeted

I really wish I could go....UGHHH .. For one Amsterdam has my heart. Two, like you said once in a lifetime Steemit event... If only there was an inexpensive way for me to get to Amsterdam from San Francisco.

This is going to be awesome! :D

So excited to see you all there . Not much online since touching down in Europe , arranging for ADE first . Busy weeks ahead

Awesome man ! I have re-posted you, hopefully you will earn a bit more to cover part of your travel costs

Definitely, couldn't agree more and relationships you build with people will last longer and will be more beneficial :))

we might say...they are yummyer?!

When you say it like that everyone should go. Time to start earning steem dollars and power up less.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63624.94
ETH 3481.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54