You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Road to Steemfest | Funding my trip

in #steemfest6 years ago

It never seems okay to say 'I can't pay for this', because then you attract the question 'well, are you poor or something?'. And no one wants that. We'd rather pay for things we can't afford rather than bring that judgement upon ourselves.

I come from a poor background and have still had this attitude all my life. It is strange and a societal thing I think. I'm in a place of relative poverty now and yet it still erks me to ask for money, or even accept help from relatives etc.

I hear that voice inside my head, telling me to go and I've written a lot about why. This community has done a lot for me in the past year and it has taught me many things, as well as given me friends. Surprising. I've found more help and understanding here, when my bets would've been on people I knew in real life

What you said here resonated with me big time. I've experienced big love and support here when friends out in the 'real' world were pretty unhelpful and dismissive of my efforts to find a path as a freelance writer.

After all, you're investing in something, in your future - whether it's your future as a doctor or your future on Steemit, it's still an investment that won't give you any guarantees, but one that might or might not be worthwhile, depending on your inner voice, you know?

And again echoing my thoughts, which I actually wrote about in a RTSF post a few weeks ago, about how my choices have effected my life.

Great reading more about your journey to SF3 @honeydue

Sort:  

friends out in the 'real' world were pretty unhelpful and dismissive of my efforts to find a path as a freelance writer.

I hear ya. My own so called friends have been terribly unsupportive and hateful about my attempts at starting my writing career which really made me value the Steemit community a lot more. I'm glad you found yourself in my words and I hope to maybe meet you at Steemfest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67336.19
ETH 3695.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71