Why Going To Steem Fest Might Be A Total Waste Of Your TimesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfest7 years ago

DQm_PJGWw_SVgmqdx6_H3ts_GY5_Vip_Mk5_ZNQk_Q7_Naw_Tpjf_RE9vo_1680x8400


For introverts attending a conference or a fest can be mentally and physically exhausting

But avoiding them won't do you any good, attending them can actually do wonders for you and your business

The good thing is that you don't have to change your personality in order to get value from confrences

Steem Fest would no doubt be awesome and i would definately attend if i have enough funds come November

When some people think of Steem Fest, they think of Five days of endless small talk, which is their idea of hell

If you fail to change this Mindset, then you will find yourself in Steem Fest glued to a spot and unable to go around and connect with people

Steem Fest is just once a year and they may so much pressure to make the most out of it and connect with most people possible

The one key thing you should also note is that you should attend only if you are genuinely interested in going, that way you will likely feel more engaged and have something to talk about with other attendees

Or you may find yourself alone walking around the streets of Lisbon


pexels_photo_169558


But if you feel that it is not a must to connect with others you can just attend the keynotes sessions and skip the meets and greets

But doing that would surely leave a big hole in your Steemfest experience

I am an Introvert somehow and i have found out that the problem i face is not actually talking with strangers, but rather making small talk with strangers, the trick is finding someone who shares a mutual interest with me

If i find such a person then i find myself making small talk for a long period

So the real question becomes: how do you get to that moment? You will definately have to go through other moments of small talk

A good way to find people of common interest is to first read their posts here on steemit and engage with them, so that when you meet them at Steem Fest, you will instantly hit it off

When you have met with this people at the Fest and reached a satisifying number then you can go back to your hotel room and watch a movie in your pajamas


pexels_photo_132807


How Do You Break The Ice With Complete Strangers In An Authentic Way?

Like I said before, i am not an Extrovert but I am not a full Introvert either

I come in at the middle

But I have found out that the best way I break the ice With Strangers is when I take an active part in what is going on, like being a volunteer or help for others, at this stage I have no choice but to Interact With People

So for Introvert, the best way not to miss talking with people is actually putting yourself out there and being of help to others

And if you feel like the interaction will drain you, then you can leave early everyday. That's right, you don't need to feel guilty about bowing out early or anything

Just ask yourself in advance: " What will success look like for me in Steemfest?". Does it mean meeting specific people( I will really love to meet @papa-pepper if i go)

The main thing is to set your goal, so when you reach it, you can go back home gulit free

You have to factor in all this variables or come November you find yourself in Lisbon and by the time the Fest is over, you will end up feeling like you did not achieve anything

Happy Steem Fest In Advance

Thanks for Reading

Follow @ogochukwu


Like


Steem Fest Banner gotten from @reolandp Post.

Other Images : Pexels.com

Sort:  

As always,on point...how i wish i could attend also.

I am also in the middle of Intro/Extrovertism. I think they call this "Ambivert." Small talk pains me, too! Finding people with common interests I think is the key to avoiding this, and this seems to be an amazing place to do just that (I'm still new here), so making friends before you go is likely ideal for us Ambiverts and then networking from there should be a breeze.

Cheers, m8!

you may gain more insight into your personality and how others operate by studying the Meyers-Briggs Type Indicator, or MBTI. It's opened up a lot of understanding for me as an Introvert as to why I interact well with some people, and why others just plain are a pain that I don't want to deal with.

I have heard of that! Thanks for the suggestion!

You should, it is quite interesting. It can amswer many quations you have about yourslef.

Great suggestion. Did this years ago and it has been helpful I'm a INTP.

yep, I share 3 of your traits. One thing I do is in noisy environments I put a little bit of slightly wet cotton in my ears to cancel out the confusion of background noise. It helps me think better.

Haha, great read. Receive my 100% upvote for your STEEMFEST fund. Hope you have the chance to get the visa. Write me when you come ; )
My introduction post might be of interest for you. Would be nice if you want to join the team. It is actually connected with this post: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@adra/are-you-ready-to-bring-charity-to-blockchain-hello-this-is-adra-germany-calling-member-of-a-global-ngo-network

We also have a partner office in Nigeria. Maybe you've heard about it?

Ohh small talk is the worst, awkward conversations about the weather etc, if you get to the pajamas stage then you know you are doing something right and made a potential friend xD I mean that in the most non John Candy from 'trains planes and automobiles' kinda way

planes_trains_automobiles_meme_5b

=]

Take my introvert's high five!

Very Funny @artz

136 dollars promotion cost for a mediocre post about how to behave at a meeting. A few lines above you said that you do not have enough money to go there. You are generalizing all the time as well. "you mustdo this in order to achieve that". Don't take it personal now please I am saying this a a critic!

Nice advice, so we have set it up to our purpose before going to that fest. Yes.. that is good advice. Thank you my friend! :)

Thanks for reading Hanto

I am introvert myself... thats one reason i prefer blogging rather than youtube. But i guess we have to break barriers now and then

gaining information on how you view and interpret the world helps understand others as well. I've learned a lot from studying the Meyers-Briggs Type Indicator. The more you look the deeper it gets, and helps clear the air in confusing situations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55