Big H - The larger-than-life English Bull Terrier and his human, MikesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfest8 years ago (edited)

In the spirit of SteemFest, I am sharing writing from my friends. I hope, in time, those friends will cross over from FB to Steemit and when they do, any reward earned from their guest post WILL be given to them as a 'welcome gift' to help them on their way into the world of Steemit.

This is not my writing, Mike Shaw is a friend in real life as well as on FaceBook and as I’m starting something new today, I asked his permission to use his post.

I met Mike, Jude and Big H a couple of years ago.

Big H Is Gone and the world will never be the same.

Mike’s photography page

Goodbye buddy.

It's early in the morning, I've slept fitfully and decided to get up. My routine this morning is wrong though, there is too much missing.

Yesterday I held Harry as the vet put an injection in his leg, I stroked him and spoke to him as his head slowly fell to the table. I told him I loved him as his breathing slowed and his eyes stopped looking.

I was with him when he went.

I knew in the morning that his time had come but I didn't want to take him to the vets, I was being selfish, I wanted him to stay for me, I wanted him to be here because I would miss so much I knew it would hurt. But I also knew I had to be selfless this time, I knew his time had come and it hurt.

I managed to hold back the tears in the car, I carried him into the vets and still I did not cry.

When they ushered us through to a room I put him down and stroked him. I told him I was sorry for having to bring him here, told him at least I could do this for him unlike us stupid humans that have to die in pain and suffering because we are not allowed to show this level of compassion to each other. I knew Harry wasn't coming home.

The tears came as soon as the vet said what I knew she was going to say, being brave and having a stiff upper lip wasn't the order of the day and I cried like a kid. But I said goodbye, I held him as he went.

This morning I didn't think I could cry anymore, walking into the living room with my coffee I saw his things, his bed with his collar and the Harry smell that lingers in the air told me I could still cry.

I'm sat with my coffee, a normal routine when I could not sleep no longer normal. The space on the sofa now empty and silent. His breathing while asleep no longer a metronome keeping pace with my heartbeat. That time as I used to sit and watch, he not realising I'm there as being profoundly deaf he didn't know until he saw you so he would inevitably sleep on but it was comforting to know he was there.

Being there was something Harry had a talent for, he always seemed to be there when I needed him. After breaking my back in 2014 and being confined to the house for three months, he kinda knew I wasn't right. He still had some of the puppy streak in him at this time before illness robbed him of that he would love to play tug rope or chase the hoover.

When though he saw me in the back brace, he just kinda knew I couldn't do it and took up residence on the sofa next to me. We both sat and watched crap daytime TV, drinking coffee and eating biscuits. To the point this became one of his routines, up in the morning, out in the garden and breakfast then up in the sofa and he would look as if to say what no TV, don't you know Judge Judy might be on?

I've cleaned him, wiped his backside, fed him his food from a spoon, had to drag him from the local park as he wanted to eat all the other dogs. As he got older he did less and less, too many ailments stopping him from being a dog. Bad heart, arthritis and then just to top it off cushings disease that he couldn't be treated for because the effects of the medication were worse than the effects of the disease. So his hobby became eating and sleeping but I was good with that.

Walks became less and less and if you have never owned a bully then you will never know what's it's like, when they decide they are not doing something then it's just not going to happen.

So here I am, the morning after Big H has gone and I miss the old guy so much it hurts me. I never thought I would feel this way about a dog but hey, I do. The response to his passing has been overwhelming, I've had messages from around the world and the response from you all has been in the thousands. It seems Big H had a bigger family than even I knew was possible and for that I'm grateful.
At some point today I'm going to have to pick his stuff up, the bed he has under my desk, no longer there for me to be able to snuggle my feet into for a bit of warmth from his stomach. The bed by the TV, his blankets, his food bowls and his collar. For now they can stay because I need that comfort of knowing he was once there. But I know I will have to put them away, I know I will cry again.

They say it's just a dog. If you feel your dog is just a dog then you are doing it wrong. Big H was in the short time we had him my best buddy, my coffee drinking, biscuit eating, Judge Judy watching best buddy.

Goodbye Big H, I don't think you know just how much I'm going to miss you.

All pictures are Mike's and I have permission to use them

This fits into the TIL category because Today I Learned of Big H's death and it made me sad.

Added by edit: Although I believe this fits in the TIL - Today I Learned - category, I'm not 'allowed' to use it and have been warned against using the tag for 'spamming' purposes.

Until I get the hang of this, it looks like I'll be stepping back on pulling the decent writers into Steemit because god forbid I step on anyone's toes where tagging is concerned. I certainly wouldn't want my reputation to suffer...

FFS - I'll get another tag going then... Fer Fuck's Sake.

Sort:  

I'm really sory for Big H :( but being at his side when he was ment to leave this world...was the most he could whish for! I absolutely adore bull terriers, they are really something special.

I own one amazing bull terrier girl and i actually write a blog about her... so if you are interested in the breed @michelle.gent you are very welcome to check my profile (:

Wow! You went digging for this post! Thanks for looking. :)

Oh, yes i did...i just wanted to see if there are some bull terrier lovers on Steemit ;)

Mine too - which is what gave me the idea to share it here <3

He was! He was such a character, so sad <3

One of my favorite breeds of dogs!

Mine too. I first fell in love with the breed (I think) when I saw Oliver Reed's character, Bill Sykes's dog, Bullseye in Oliver!

And i when read: "Snap. The Story of a Bull Terrier" by Thompson Seton.
It's hard to lose such friends.

Yeah, they tear your heart apart when they leave.

Just a friendly warning about tag spamming:

This post doesn't really belong in the #til or #news tags.

Please use appropriate tags in your posts or you could get flagged which can hurt your reputation score and standing in the Steemit community.

You could also get added to the Steemcleaners blacklist for abuse.

Please remedy the situation by removing the offending tag(s) and using more appropriate ones.

Thank you.

My mistake now that you have explained it, it makes sense.

I actually explained the use of #til in this post Today I Learned of Big H's passing and it made me sad.

The #news part of this is that some of the people I am trying to persuade over from Facebook to integrate with Steemit also 'know' Mike and used to read about Big H, and his death would have been news to them, as it was with me.

I'll remove the tags as you've officially warned me to but I'm not happy about doing so and I'll certainly be more careful when it comes to promoting in future.

Actually that is probably my mistake so apologies for that. Now that you explain it, it makes more sense. I'm just trying to prevent people getting flagged - whilst I very rarely flag people myself some people are a lot more liberal with it. The til flag is generally meant to work like the short form til posts on reddit. Thanks for explaining.

I understand your confusion, but if you'd read to the end of the post, it was explained there already.

Yes sorry about that. I will be more careful in future:)

Awww.... Big H....
Having pets is such a wonderful gift, but saying good-bye always breaks the heart. :(

He was a wonderful character - profoundly deaf so you had to make sure he could see you... but he was a handsome and friendly chap.

Mike is looking to honour Big H by adopting another of the same breed.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.25 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61399.54
ETH 3383.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50