The Road to SteemFest 3: Coming out of the hiding spot

in #steemfest6 years ago

Finally getting around to do this. Funny how after all these freewrites, I had to spend a good ten minutes looking up 'Road to Steemfest' posts to see what they should be like, huh?
Well, I did. I didn't know if I was supposed to give you the standard introduction – quite tall, nineteen years old, blonde hair, my hobbies include...
But I see people don't do that and to be honest, I think it would be a bit pointless. After all, if you follow my blog, you know me, by now, or at least, you know the part of my life I choose to disclose to this community (which I've noticed is increasingly large, you know? It's very weird, but I find I've painted a pretty good picture of myself here. Odd for someone as quiet and introverted as me).
And so, you've seen into my head. With my fiction, you've seen some pretty dark places of me and in my writing about life, I've talked about many challenges that came up, personal victories, feelings and all that jazz.
And that's why we're going, isn't it? At least, for me, as I haven't been before (when SteemFest2 was rolling, I was just a newbie, I had no clue what was going on). To be honest, I didn't get it back then. Why would people travel so far away from home only to meet some people off the Internet?
(I know, don't judge me.)
steemfestopengraph.jpg
But now, I get it. And boy, how much do I get it. In the past year (I'm celebrating my one year on Steemit at the end of the month), I've learned so much. I've seen what a wonderful place Steemit can be, I've met many amazing people, willing to help you, to listen to you. I've met a lot of wonderful creators – people who fill canvases and blank pages with worlds from their heads. And to think I would've never met them were it not for Steemit.
So, of course I get it now. Steemit is a family, not just a place off the Internet and going to meet some of the people you spend so much time with online makes a lot more sense.
And this is precisely why I don't think I should give you the standard intro. After all, you're not going to SteemFest to meet the 19 year old @honeydue with blonde hair who likes fantasy stories, you're going to meet the girl who writes here. If you'd just seen the standard intro, you would never travel all those miles, because you don't care to meet any of the standard descriptions of the people on here. You're traveling to meet the bodies behind the minds you've explored on Steemit.
Or at least, that's why I'm going. I've already got quite a few names I'm looking forward to meeting at SteemFest3.
In the months I've been here and especially now, with the publication of my book, I've received so much support from the Steemit community, so much love and appreciation – something that I never thought I would see in an online environment.

Another reason I'm going is to learn more about the blockchain, about cryptos, because I know I don't know enough. You can't know enough and I hope that through SteemFest, I'll learn a lot of new things, as well as meet a bunch of awesome people.

And third reason is it's travel and it's the best kind, in my opinion. It's seeing a place, while you're there doing something else, so that seeing the city isn't the main event. I've always found, in my travels, that I enjoyed touring a city while there for a concert of some other even far more exciting than just going to see the city.

And from what I've read on here, @roelandp is an amazing organizer and the last two were loads of fun. So yeah, I'm going and it's exciting, because this is the first event of this type I've ever been to and I'm really curious as to how it's gonna be.

But I've got my plane ticket and I've got my room booked and I'm ready to find out!

And before you go, why not head on over to @anomadsoul's post, as he's the man behind this wonderful get-to-know-each-other venture. If you're going to SteemFest3, you might even want to read the rules and join in!

I've had this song stuck in my head throughout this freewrite, so now you should too.

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

Yes I totally resonate with your post. I am an introvert and I must say last year I went there to step out of my cocoon mind. I had wonderful experiences and I hope you will have the same feeling. Steemit is a very cool place because of its people and of course has all the flavours and you can just pick your tribe. Hopefully we will meet :)

Ah, I hope it's the same for me :D I can't wait to go! And yes, maybe we will meet, that would be awesome! :)

I'm sure you will enjoy Steemfest 3! We are somewhat like a big family on here, showing support and affection. I imagine Steemfest could be like a family reunion where you meet relatives you haven't ever seen. Fun times ahead for you. :)

I imagine it the same way, funny :D

Nice to hear that you will be attending SteemFest3 @honeydue, though I haven't attended any of the previous editions, yet I believe the journey is worth it and the experience overall is going to be amazing.

I didn't know you were publishing a book soon, guess I have really been far away from this platform and that, I can blame on my blockchain project occupying my life full time.

I will like to still have a podcast chat with you so we can discuss some really cool stuff and share our weird concept of life.

I don't know if you do discord, if yes, drop me your username and I will reach out to you.

What blockchain project? That sounds fun!
The book is already out! It launched on the first of August: http://a.co/aKzXSdf

Sure, I'd still love to do the podcast thing, although you will have to bear with me, as I've never done one before :P I'm on Discord as honeydue#8397, just start typing honeydue, I'm bound to pop up! Talk there :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73