Returning From Steemfest

in #steemfest6 years ago (edited)


Connections Great and Bad


Oh my goodness. It has taken me one and a half hours to get this far with making a post at Krakow airport. Steepshot just kept disconnecting and it's taken me this long to get on line.

That seems to have been the name of the game for me at Steemfest. I was unable to connect with my phone the whole time I was there.

The human connections were brilliant. The technological ones have been a nightmare.

So I'll keep this short and sweet before I get cut off again.

But, if you were wondering, that's why I've not been in touch for 6 days! 😱

20181112_145236.jpg

This is just a quick shot from the taxi window on the way to the airport.

I'll post more of the event when I am home and settled.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

Sounded like a wonderful time. Maybe I'll see you next year for the 4th one :)

That would be fun @robertandrew although there seems to be a lot of speculation as to what it might be like next time. :-D

Didn't know you were going to Steemfest! Hope you had a good time :)

I did thank you, @seanreilly. And now feeling pretty shell-shocked! 😁

Haha, how come you are feeling shell-shocked?

Because I'm used to spending a lot of time on my own @seanreilly and, to be around 350 people I didn't know, was a big challenge for me.

It took a lot of getting used to and, just as I was working out how to manage it all, it was time to come home. 😂

Hi - great to meet you, hopefully catch you @ a UK meet up sometime... I hadn't realised you had connectivity issues.

Ironically I've spent more time offline this last week than I have in ages!

Currently on bus from Heathrow. It is a bit of a downer!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great to meet you too @revisesociology.

It is a bit of a downer!

I bet you weren't thinking you were going to write that, about your return, when you left home. 😁

It will take a while for everything to settle down I think. Still feeling more than a little shell-shocked.

Ironically I've spent more time offline this last week than I have in ages!

Me too. It's the longest I've gone without posting since I joined Steemit! 😂

I couldn't connect on my phone anytime I was out of the hotel and when I got back to my room I was too tired to write anything. Many people tried to help and I even called customer service but I gave up in the end. 😁

I hope we will meet somewhere again too.

Krakow's moments without a phone are like stepping back in time. Krakow Menalcholia has crept in :)

I am sorry to hear that but there will be something to remember.

I hope that after all you had a great stay and in a long time I will see some posts :)

It was a good trip @margaretwise. It just takes a bit of getting used to.

Still don't feel like writing about it yet.

I'm off to see my daughter and the grandkids this afternoon which will be lovely.

hope things are better with you. 💙

I understand you very well, my Dear.

I wish you great moments with your family.

My situation in the family is stable, with good prognosis. I hope it will stay that way.

In December 12th we will be in London. After all these events in my family I am very happy with the trip. :)

Lot's of love

I'm glad to hear you situation in the family is stable, with a good prognosis.

If you fancy a trip to the coast when you're in London, let me know. It only takes about an hour to get here by train and I could come and meet you at the station. Or a similar time to drive. :-D

I will let you know my friend :)

Great to know.

Thank you

Human connections i will chose any day Gillian, glad to hear you had a blast! Ok, will wait for further pics😎😎

I'm not sure where to begin @immarojas. I will probably wait for the dust to settle a bit.

It's a shame you're not closer. I would far rather sit down in a cafe with you and tell you all about it in person. 😍

That would be lovely and ideal Gillian! Miss our meet-ups but soon. xoxo

Oh!!!! I have been wondering how you loved Krakow and the Steemfest and the PEOPLE!

How jealous am I?? :)

I look forward to hearing all about it!

!tip

I'm not sure where to start @dswigle. 😂

I think it's going to take sometime to assimilate it all.

Thank you for the tip. 😍

No worries! I am a patient person!

Well, well, well, @gillianpearce!

You went! I guess I missed the part where that decision got made. I'm glad, though, since it sounds like it was pretty powerful. At least, that's the vibe I'm getting from it. Hopefully, powerful in a good way.

Okay, so, when you get your thoughts together (after being home for a while, of course), I'll be very interested in seeing what you got out of all of it. Obviously, the people meet and greet was right up your alley, even if you're phone didn't really allow you to do much.

the people meet and greet was right up your alley

It was and it wasn't @glenalbrethsen. 😁

I keep going to write a post but then find I don't know where to start.

I ended up going because @cryptogee wrote a very strong encouragement - "do it, do it, do it" - on a comment I'd made about sitting on the fence. So I signed up there and then. It was the last day of the cheapest tickets so it was a sort of "now or never" moment.

I'm not sure if I actually posted about it specifically. 😊

Well, okay, but I still missed that exchange, so I guess I need to pay more attention to the back and forth in the comment section.

Well, I can see that you've still not blogged about it, which is interesting. Either you got busy with something else or it's still swirling around in your mind.

I do have to say, I'm curious about the "it was and it wasn't" comment referring to the meeting of people at STEEMfest. I would think of all of it, that would be your reason for being there.

Which leads me to conclude that some meets weren't all they were cracked up to be. Maybe some people had a hard time living up to their online persona? I don't know. Not going to speculate. I'll just wait to see if you want to tell me here or put in an eventual post. Either way works.

Hope you've been getting some rest since you've been back, and have more in mind as to how you want to proceed (or not) with STEEM.

Was a pleasure to meet you there ;-)

You too @shortcut. It's going to take some time to inwardly digest it all.

I'm looking forward to getting home now but still haven't checked in yet! 😁

Totally agree, it always takes some time until all the Steemfest impressions are sorted. I’m happy, that we connected. Have a safe flight ;-)

Mercury in retrograde will be with us for another week still Gillian. A good time to just mellow out and assimilate all your Krakow experiences. Wonderful to have placed yourself in what may have been a personally challenging situation. Would have been for me too so I can relate.

You will have gained so much from it all now. Looking forward to hearing about it ~ When you are ready. Maybe you could give a series of glimpses and impressions instead of going into overwhelm with the idea of bringing it all together. !tip ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

A good time to just mellow out and assimilate all your Krakow experiences.

I have certainly been doing that @allyinspirit but still not felt like posting.

I hope things are good with you.

Thank you for the tip. 💙

Best thing is to be kind to yourself and not feel pressured to do anything. It will come.

When I've been away from Steemit there wasn't a day when I thought ~ I really need to ~ But the energy was being taken by something else that needed to be worked through. We have to be so allowing of ourselves at these times.

It's been an exciting and very FULL week for me Gillian. Really interested and inspired by a group of homesteaders setting up a co-op to sell their eco products for SBD.

Has given me the incentive to develop my 'nests' and 'baskets' into saleable items ~ Bit of a challenge, but I think it may be possible. Have a wonderful and restorative week-end. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Best thing is to be kind to yourself and not feel pressured to do anything

I'm doing really well at this since I got home @allyinspirit so feeling very pleased about that.

Really interested and inspired by a group of homesteaders setting up a co-op to sell their eco products for SBD.

That does sound inspiring. I hope you develop you 'nests' and 'baskets' into saleable items so you can join in.

I hope you have a fun weekend too. 💙

I was wondering where you were. I somehow missed the post where you said you were going.

You're the second person to say that @jacey.boldart. Maybe I only said so in a comment. I can't remember.

I have taken a big step back from Steemit anyways so that's why you've not seen me around.

Hope all is good with you. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82