Great Desire For Steemfest Or Maybe Not

in #steemfest6 years ago


To Go Or Not To Go?


The price of the Steemfest tickets goes up tomorrow, apparently, and I still haven't decided whether to go or not.

I find, that if I don't decide on something right away, and act there and then, the decision just gets harder and harder to make.

Earlier in the year I had a great desire to go to Steemfest but, by the time the dates were announced, I was less keen.

Then it turned out to be in a city that I have already visited and one that will be cold and I hesitated. And here I am still sitting on the fence.

I don't have a photograph of myself actually sitting on a fence but I thought this one was pretty relevant. 😂


great desire.JPG

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!


The photograph of the motto "I have great desire" was taken whilst waiting for the cyclists in The Tour of Britain to finish their day. It ended on the King's Esplanade in Brighton.

The people are standing at road level, leaning on the Victorian railings waiting for the cyclists to hurtle past.

Standing there gave them 2 shots at the spectacle, once when the cyclists whizzed past on the road and then again when they turned onto the lower level promenade racing to the finish line.

Now that was an event I didn't have to decide whether to go to or not. As soon as it was announced we made out plans and stuck to them.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Sort:  

What to do? I am excited to see where it is next year and have enough time to plan on going.

I can't imagine what I will be doing this time next year @sjarvie5. So much will have changed by then I'm sure. 😊

Yes, for sure. It would be a great reason to take a trip though!

Hey, @gillianpearce.

I guess the decision for me wasn't nearly as hard. Logistics, expense, my wife's input—all those kind of get in the way before I even stop to consider what Krakow might be like, let alone in November. So, I have no problem sitting back and waiting to see the posts that come from those who did end up going to STEEMFest, and hopefully, the next one will be somewhere warmer if not closer, and my own situation will be better.

As you say in a comment, who knows where I'll be then.

Yep. It's certainly easier when you know you can't go @glenalbrethsen. Although I still might have spent some time mooning around wishing I could. I can be my own worst enemy at times. 😂

I am sitting on that fence right next to you. ;)

Oh. That's a bit of a relief @denisechips. I haven't come across any other fence sitters. 😂

Any reasons in particular why you haven't decided to go? Have you been to either of the others?

Hi! No I havent been to the others. There was always a schedule conflict in the dates. This time around, its the expense of the plane ticket & thinking that if we were to do a big trip, it would be nice to bring the children, but they are in school & it would be very expensive. But...sometimes you need to sacrifice to make great memories...so you see...the fence 😉

Well. After reading @cryptogee's comment yesterday I finally got off the fence and bought a ticket @denisechips 😱

As you say "sometimes you need to sacrifice to make great memories".

Dooooo it, doooo it, dooo it, doo it, do it do it do it do it!!! 😂 😂 😂

I'd love to meet a fellow fence sitter in person. We can agonise over which event to go to together. Or where to eat. Or what time to have breakfast. The possibilities are endless. 😍

HaHa! Well congratulations!!! You are a fence sitter no longer! Yes, I'd imagine the possibilities would be endless! Imagine the fun we would have, lol! :)

Imagine the fun we would have

I'm imagining it @denisechips.

Quick. Get your ticket.

Dooooo it, doooo it, dooo it, doo it, do it do it do it do it!!! 😂 😂 😂

Lol, @gillianpearce! It would have to start with a conversation with @joechiappetta, since he would have to be on board with it all ;)

Sounds good @denisechips. I hope you started the conversation. 😂

Dooooo it, doooo it, dooo it, doo it, do it do it do it do it!!! 😁😁😁

Seriously though, I'm finally getting it together for the first time after threatening to go to the first two. It'll be a blast, you'll meet some great people and you'll regret not going!

I just did a post about how you can get a cheap Air bnb in Krakow. If you use my link in the post you can get an extra £25 off your booking. So you could end up bagging 5 nights accommodation for under €100!

Anyway enough yabbering... enjoy :-)

The Road To Steemfest: How To Get Cheap Accommodation

Cg

Dooooo it, doooo it, dooo it, doo it, do it do it do it do it!!! 😁😁😁

Ha, ha, ha. @cryptogee. 😂

That's exactly what I needed. Thank you soooooooo much. I've done it. I've booked my ticket! Woo hoo!

I owe you a drink . . . or two so I'll see you at the bar. 😍 😍 😍

Yes! That's the spirit 😁😁😁😁😁!

See you at the bar indeed!! 🥂🍻🥂🍾🍾🍾

Cg

I can't offer you much advice @gillianpearce, because I tend to do the same thing. If you book it, you may spend countless hours berating yourself about the cost and what you could have otherwise spent that money on, and if you don't book it, you'll spend the same countless hours imaging the spectacular time everyone's going to have there!

Ha, ha, ha. We're so alike @lynncoyle1 but after reading @cryptogee's comment I went over to the site and found that the prices hadn't gone up yet so I booked! Woo hoo!

Now I've just got to keep the positive vibes going. 😁

Update to @lynncoyle1. I'm freaking out this morning at the thought of the trip. 😂 😂 😂

hahaha just wait until tomorrow; I'm sure you'll be .... still freaking out about it :)

Yep. Freaking out about it even more now @lynncoyle1. I have this picture of myself in the middle of a room standing all alone with no-one to talk to whilst 500 other people are milling about having a great time. 😂

UGH!!! A high school dance all over again! :)

Have a glass of wine. But probably just one. More than that could get messy haha

Have a glass of wine.

That's OK in the evening @lynncoyle1. But I seem myself walking into breakfast and not knowing to sit.

It doesn't bare thinking about. Just picturing it makes me want to run to Tesco and buy a load of instant porridge pots so I can make my own breakfast in my room. 😢 😂

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-21T11:02:42
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 3100.59/3200.00
Total Photos: 410
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 5.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

If I wasn't in Thailand at the same time I would be there!

Did you go to either of the other ones @o07? 😊

I didn't as just had my 1 year Steemit anniversary last week.

I'd love to go, Gillian. If this helps you to take a decision, then go ahead! Then let us know how it went! Cheers, my friend!

If you were going to be there that would help a lot @nolasco. 😍

Aw, thanks! But I really can't sweetie! Maybe the next year!

Aw. I know@nolasco. I wasn't trying to encourage you to go this year. I was just saying that would have helped make the decision. 😍

I know, sweetie. I'd love to meet you in person as well! Btw, have you decided already?

Yes @nolasco. I bought a ticket after reading @cryptogee's comment on this post.

It was perfect timing. Just a few hours before the prices were due to go up.

Now I need to decide on accommodation. 😂

Aw, I'm excited too! I'll have the news in first hand! Yuppeee, I hope yoy enjoy and meet some wonderful Steemians there!

I hope yoy enjoy and meet some wonderful Steemians there!

I hope so too @nolasco.

It's a bit of a challenge to be honest. I'm better one to one or in small groups. 😁

I'd better try and get some practice posting with my phone too.

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.830 which ranks you at #4342 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 27 places in the last three days (old rank 4369).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 426 contributions, your post is ranked at #37.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Was just going to ask you what you've decided, but I saw your answer in the comments!!! So great to hear :D

Thanks @redrica. I will see you there, if not before, hopefully! 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78