I'm going to steemfest2, come hell or high-water.

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)

I first heard of Steemfest
on one of my researches to know more Steem sometime before I became a member.

Naturally I got curious, one video after another, I just got pulled into the festivities of it and just can't get enough. Knowing full well that I am joining into such a community. I finally ended up on the Steemfest salon page, and I just ABSORBED everything in. Each picture, each presentation, each post on steemit. It got me thinking "this is a community I should've joined back in July.."

See, I first heard of Steem last year. The only reason I wasn't a member then was because of a weird [read: regretable] error that registers my phone number as "invalid" for the extra digit I have in relation to my country code. Normal Malaysian phone number has 10 digits whereas I have 11. (I know now that I'm not the usual conform-to-the-crowd type person and many times I suffer for it)

In a ideal enough world. I would have been there for Steemfest and will be telling you how excited I am to be going to Steemfest2.

I missed my chance and Steemfest in Amsterdam.

When @roelandp announced steemfest, I tell myself immediately "I'm not missing this". There is no excuse for me. Not because I'm a minnow, not because I've hit low-point a few months back and have been jobless and has no savings now. Not because of anything.

I hope this post doesn't come across as begging because it will be an entry for the @steemfestdream contest. I will need any help I can get. And if by any chance my plane ticket can be bought for me (That would be so so nice @theprophet0) it would have solved 60% of my hurdles.

I am going to be fully transparent here and show you guys what has been my plannings so far. These plans may change as time goes by.

Logistics

I'm travelling a distance of 12,464 KM. Screenshot (1).png

but it actually looks more like this.
Screenshot (2).png

I will be flying from my hometown of Miri,Sarawak to Lisbon. It would be flight with 2 stopovers, KLIA Kuala Lumpur and Heathrow London before finally reaching Lisbon. I am grateful at least for my country's diplomatic relations with the EU that made sure i will not have any visa issue when stepping foot on London or Lisbon. Thank the EU for Schengen Agreement!

I would carry with me enough attire for 5 days, (thats 5 shirts and 2 jeansfor me), my trusty rinky dink laptop (duh), and probably enough trinkets from Sarawak to give to everyone with from yours truly.

Upon reaching Lisbon, i have a friend from Germany who is willing to take a few days off from university to fly to Lisbon to meet me. She is not a Steemian yet and i'm in the process of converting her to Steemianism, what with the help of the atmosphere and everyone i will meet there in Steemfest. Howbout that? a fresh new Steemian attending Steemfest! she would bring a Sony Alpha 6000 and a tripod on my behalf.

Expense

These are the budgets i've planned for with the info I currently have, of course, it will change over time.

Flight cost

The cheapest flight i can find so far is by British Airway, offering two-way ticket for less than $700 Dollars.

Screenshot (3).png

Even so, prices can go as high as $1600 for other airways or if i book my flights too late. Goodbye dreams when that happens. *cries in corner

Accomodation

Roelandp currently has something in the works as far as we all know. Of which there would be hotelpackages. but for the sake of budgeting i would be looking at the mean airbnb cost for 5 days. Lisbon is quite cheap.. averaging at $30-40 per night with some listings below $20 if you are lucky enough. I would have $200 ready for 5 nights for the duration with the posibility of extending to a day or 2 post steemfest travels (which will come out of my own pocket)

The post literally came out as I edit! so budget for stay will be 75 x 5 = 375 Euro. which is about 430+/- Dollars. But even so, i may stay in airbnb if money is tight and hop around rooms (anyone allow me as squatter maybe?) where the party at.

Food (maybe Entertainment)

We were promised top-notch catering. So I wouldnt worry. But, in the event where there is more people than food. I have budgeted roughly $15 a day in case. The Big Mac index of Portugal is 3.19 against 1.79 where im from. So i think im pretty comfortable with that. But if all goes well and everyone's tummy is taken care of, I hear portugese wine is really cheap. :D

Estimated Expense

Very very rough estimate with only rigid point being plane ticket. Every other expenses i can find ways to cut corners. But as to be cautious im setting the budget on theoretical max.

ff.jpg

How Im funding the dream

I am currently working in a 9 to 5 job, it's a new one and I'm quite happy for it.

IMG_6875.JPG

By putting myself through a strict budget and save up 70% of my wage, I'd be able to put aside $180 dollars every month. Yes i know what you're thinking. But then again its very cheap living in where i am. A little side hustle here and there, i may be able to scrounge up $200 over the next few months.

budget.png

If push comes to shove, I would be powering down what little i have for the sake of going to Steemfest. if that is still not enough, i'll be willing to go as far as risking a friendship for a hard 15% loan. I'm that desperate. YES, DESPERATE!

What i will do there

Steemfest may be a place for fun and games. but for me.. It's all about WORK. there's no other time in the year where you get so many awesome people gathered in one spot.

  • I am going to make friends with every single one of you until either time runs out or i drop dead. I'm going to be that loud minnow who holds up his name and be AWESOME.
  • I will document/vlog near every single minute of my time there. With the help of my friend. If i am still not a vlogger by the time i reach steemfest 2. i will be one. Steem has made me kickstarted my blogging "career" in the butt so why not take it up a notch and be a vlogger as well.
  • I will help out in any way i can. I like to run around. I like to carry heavy stuff. I like to be ordered around. it's what i do best.
  • I may not yet own a drone, but i am a drone pilot. If there is a need to take drone imagery/footage, Steemfest 2 will have a pilot with actual logged flights.

Why i want to be there

Portugal, community, fun and games, party, conference. what other reasons?

My medium term plan for going to Steemfest is to use my experience/photos/vlog as a Call to Action to the Malaysian community in specifically Sarawak my homeland and beyond. Steem has opened to me so much opportunity. There exist a generation here that is deeply hungry for that same opportunity but has been hurt by ponzi/scams that seem to run rampant in my country. I want to show them an alternative. Perhaps I'll reveal my plan in a future post but I was very inspired by what @firepower has done.

I admit, I may not offer very much on the table now. I literally start with only $30 investments in bitcoin which i turn it all to Steem. A small minnow. Which is why i want to work so hard right now. Spending every free second I have on this platform either authoring or engaging with you guys.

My Dream

I believe in Macro patience, Micro speed. I'm on this for the long term. It's my ambition to be one those guys that show people the Welcome page en masse. Doing free marketing for Steem full time, running small scale meetups and regional conference. If all goes well i might do just that in 4/5/6/7/10 years time, i'll never know when. But the joy is in growing myself, picking up skills from mentors found here that i can learn from and give back to Steem.
For now, all i can think of is what can i do to make myself a worthy part of the community. Where can i meet people's expectation. How do i give value to others.

I'm going to Steemfest2, whatever it takes. Because being there is not my end goal, it's the beginning.

I'm going to Steemfest2, come hell or high-water.


I'm @awesomianist

Stay Awesome.

Sort:  

great write up, hope you can make it. Note that regarding the room: the hotels have many twin-bedded rooms. If you can find a room mate, you can split the price with the both of you! So it's actually half the price.

Thanks @roelandp! Appreciate the suggestion. Yes it would be half the price for accommodation for me now and its waay easier in terms of budget.

I'm very very determined to make this come true. I must meet you there in portugal!

Cya there hopefully! ^^

Have fun !

The fun is in grinding to get myself there. :P

You will i am sure !

Steem fest will be a great fun and ability to network with fellow steemers. Would love to see you guys there and party steem to more success. Thanks for sharing

You're going there as well? If so then we should meet! See you there!

I am leaning towards to going there, not cemented yet due to work schedules..lets keep in touch. Following you

Great post, we can see you put a lot of effort into it. Can I ask you to upvote and resteem an article of mine with all cheap flights to Lisbon? It can help you out as well! https://steemit.com/steemit/@borderedge/guide-to-reach-lisbon-by-plane-for-the-steemfest-all-destinations-included

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65