[Steem Diary] Written and Musical Entry no. 2 "Nostalgia"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemdiaries014 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! This is the next entry in my Steem diary for this week. I think my outlook today is a little bit different than yesterday. As in yesterday's article, I will include some original music at the end. Let's get into my day, and then my thoughts:

Entry 2

My Day

Last night, I went to bed around 11:15pm, so I woke up at 8:15am pretty well rested. The day started off with a call for my AP music theory class. We are still reviewing how to harmonize a bass line, so I am obviously struggling a ton to try and keep up!

A photo from when we went to see the Nutcracker last December.

After the theory call came a call for choir class. We discussed our plans for the remainder of the year online, and discussed the possibility of making a virtual recording of something a capella. We were also assigned homework to copy our part for the school Alma Mater. Just for kicks and giggles, I am thinking about going above the call to copy just the Bass part by submitting the orchestrated version I made for the graduation piece. I think that would be funny.

After the call ended, my beautiful girlfriend and I talked a little bit. We had a very productive conversation. I am very thankful for her during this whole period of quarantine.

After talking to her, I checked to see what I have to do for my English class. We have a large final essay to work on, and I am happy to say that I am allowed to discuss music in it. We are to write about any of the themes that we have read about in class this year. I am still trying to figure out what to discuss, and how to relate it to music.

After that, my father and I created my girlfriend an account using @steemchiller's "Steem World" since Steemit still hadn't created her account a week and a half later. I then drove the flash drive with her keys over to her house and left it in her mailbox. I hope she experiments with, and enjoys this platform a lot!

When I got home, I checked what I have to do for calculus, and watched the video that my teacher posted (and read the instructions for the remainder of the year).

After doing that, I began working on the music for this article. Sadly, I did not have time to learn it to record it because I got a call from one of the admissions offices of one of the colleges I have applied to. I learned about an additional scholarship that had yet to be communicated with me that I have received. In addition, I realized today that I have another scholarship to one of the other colleges which I have applied to, so that is a huge blessing. I am very thankful! I have been struggling with deciding for college because the school I want to go to offered me a very substantial scholarship, but their tuition is still three times as much as my second choice, and almost 4 times as much as my third choice. The question becomes whether that extra cost would be worth it for the program. It is a hard decision to make.

Though I am writing this around 5pm, the rest of my day will consist of dinner with my parents, and then watching a movie or tv shows.

My Thoughts

Today I am not as much of a Debby Downer or Depressed Dolores as I was yesterday. Everything which I discussed is still happening, but my perspective is a bit different. Today, it is not as much that I am upset, as it is that I am nostalgic. I miss the way things used to be before this whole pandemic started. Because of that, today's phrase reflects nostalgia. I think it is much better than yesterday's phrase, and I might turn it into a full-fledged piece one of these days. Here is today's phrase:

The melody reminds me a bit of my second Nocturne which I posted in January. I wonder if it is because I miss the the friend who I wrote it for. He was most impacted by this pandemic because he had to go back to Germany in the middle of HIS year studying abroad in the US. I hope that I get to see him again someday! It is impossible to describe how much I miss him.

Something I love

Today I was reminded of this huge virtual recording made a few years ago by the Mormon Tabernacle Church Choir of Handel's Hallelujah Chorus. It was quite enjoyable to watch it for me today, and I am sharing it here so that you might find enjoyment as well. It brings back nostalgic memories for me of last winter when I got to do the whole Christmas portion as well as the Hallelujah Chorus with the Chester County Choral Society. There is nothing like Handel to put me in better spirits! His is the music which even kings must stand for!

(Note) In order to encourage meaningful feedback on the platform, I will check comment trails of users who leave superficial comments (ie "Awesome post," or "Upvoted.") and will mute any users who exhibit a pattern of leaving "spammy" comments."

Sort:  

You post has been manually curated by BDVoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.



Are you a Splinterlands player? Get instant 3% cashback on every card purchase on MonsterMarket.io. MonsterMarket has the highest revenue sharing in the space, no minimum spending is required. Join MonsterMarket Discord.

BDVoter Team


thanks a lot for your support !!!
Start where you are. Use what you have. Do what you can.
*Arthur Ashe*


(if you dont want these or consider it spam then please leave a reply to this comment instead of downvoting and i will follow up)
unless stated otherwise, you receive these because you voted on a @goldmanmorgan post

$trendotoken

Congratulations @tyrnannoght, you successfuly trended the post shared by @cmp2020!
@cmp2020 will receive 0.27228150 TRDO & @tyrnannoght will get 0.18152100 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations @cmp2020, your post successfully recieved 0.2722815 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@tyrnannoght earned : 0.181521 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank you for taking part in the Steem Diary Challenge.

Good luck with your choice of college. Did you manage to visit them all before the lockdown?

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

Thank you very much! I did manage to visit them. I will post within the next few days about where I am going. I think I have pretty much decided, though there is one factor still keeping me from committing.

I am very impressed by the 100 days of Steem so far, as well as the new Steemit team's efforts to curate. I look forward to what is to come!

Will look forward to reading the post.

And thank you for your support for the 100 Days project.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71