Esteem.Life v1.1 - Minor bugfixes and preparations for v2.0

in #steemdev7 years ago (edited)

After studying feedback and thoroughly testing the site myself I was able to set up a new tasklist for Esteem.Life. Today I tackled the issue of a few bugs which have been nagging at me since release. One in particular was the "Load More" button, which would cease to function properly after the first time it was clicked.

I proudly announce that this bug, as well as others, have been fixed and are currently live at https://esteem.life ! Feeds were slightly optimized as well so loading speeds are slightly quicker than usual. There is still much work to be done, however!

For those that haven't seen Esteem.Life in action yet here's my set of custom feeds:

You can also share links to these feed pages! Here's mine as seen above: https://esteem.life/u/rebelskum/feed

On the road to v2.0 I have several agenda items to address that users can look forward to seeing over the next few weeks:

  • Fix emails getting caught by spam filters
  • Custom profile page widgets/content sections
  • Enhanced UI (much needed)
  • Optimization of scripts and media for speed
  • Series/collections (posts which authors can group and archive together in one location)

Thank you so much for your support Steemit and I'll be seeing you on the other side of the future!

Sort:  

Hi, I've been using it for the last 3-4 days. Really useful for me and other curators. I won't get into the missing features as you're working on it, but the two issues for me are -

  1. The performance, of course. I'd like to see many more posts load together and faster.
  2. The min/max payout filter doesn't seem to be working.

I'd also like to see other qualifiers in the future, but we can think about that for v3 and beyond. One feature I'd like sooner, though, is that users I've muted on Steemit don't pop up on my Esteem.life feed.

Look forward to v2, hope to see the above two things fixed. I'll start recommending it other curators then :)

Awesome stuff! Definitely put those two items to the top of my to-dos, but I had some extra shifts at my day job this week to wrestle with as well. Thanks for using the app and all the notes so far though! It helps me to stay focused on what people really want and not just what I feel like throwing code at that day ;)

Super you are using this tool, I discovered it some time ago. I created a promotion posts, well review post of the tool and even linked one of your posts in it about what to vote for and what not to vote for, hope you dont mind :) Post here if your are interested to have a look at it.

I also do like to see time as a configurable parameter. As well as keywords (not only tags).

Definitely agree about time. I actually requested a whole bunch of filters a while ago, including time.

Great! I really like this tool. Wondering what all is required to get things done. Unfortunately I'm not a developer, so I cannot contribute.

Upvoted to support development, Please put these reward to good use.

When Steemit wins, we all win. Thank you kindly and let's rock 'n roll!

BTW I'm supporting you so we don't have to depend on Steemit, Does it make sense to you?

got my attention

Thank you kindly! :)

voted up! just signed up didnt get the email yet

edit: got it!~

Nice! Welcome aboard! If anything for now the custom feeds can be pretty handy.

I'll sign up tomorrow during a break and start customising it. It sounds like a great idea, and a useful tool to make steemit more attractive, so I resteemed the post.

Gonna crash out now, and the next time I'm on Steem it'll be hf19!

See you there!

Great! Eagerly awaiting v2.0. I'll be using this tool everyday and recommending it to all curators.

PS: Hope to see more posts load with "Load More" though! Feels like I'm constantly clicking it... And it stops working after a while. So not really ready for daily usage. Hopefully that comes with v2.0!

Thank you kindly! I noted your earlier feedback and will keep eyes peeled on your feed for issues.

Added a PS there, hope you have a look. Past about 30-40 minutes of posts, the "Load more" seems to not respond.

While still not quite perfect, I spent the better part of tonight fixing up feeds using your page specifically as a model. Feeds are more scalable, work in more diverse situations, and are a bit faster, but there is always improvement to be done!

Thanks again for the feedback!

edit: It looks like for now feeds with lots of tags/authors cause a memory leak and may not work quite right, but this is a current limitation with SteemJS. I will add that to the list of SteemJS items if I can or else I will develop some alternative.

Thank you, that definitely made a difference. It doesn't get stuck anymore, but "Load more" still takes some time.

It takes a village to break software, but that's also how we fix it ;)

Congratulations @rebelskum! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks, great post. Follow me for the latest in tech headlines from my paid subscription to the Wall Street Journal.

Hi..

Its a nice thing..I am interested.going to start some study on it..Thanks Dear for such beautiful Concepts

Done some promotion for your Tool here. Hope you like it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52