You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Benchmark: steem-python vs (work in progress) asyncsteem

in #steemdev7 years ago

I just did :) Cloned it and got it running. But I ran into the issue I saw you already opened a bug for.

I was preparing a post where I differentiate between different functions in steem-python and comparing the execution speed against various RPC nodes. And I wanted to include asyncsteem as well. :)

Running benchmark_asyncsteem.py is working but is throwing a lot of errors and seems to silently die after some time.

Did you get that error during your initial tests or is it something that popped up as you extended the library?

Sort:  

The bug seemed to have appeared when I replaced synchronously logging to stdout with logging asynchronously through twisted.logger.Logger. It probably was there already but the synchronous logging might have kept a race condition from actually occurring.

I think there is some race condition in asyncsteem/jsonrpc.py, that occurs occasionally while doing parallel JSON-RPC posts, but the lack of a stack trace in the error messages is making it rather hard to get my finger behind it.

This comment has received a 2.70 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @fersher. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

Found the problem. Pushed what I think fixes the immediate bug (an uncought exception while logging about a non-JSON response from a server). Will push some more thorough exception logging later today so bugs like this should proof Easyer to find in the future.

Oh, as for performance, there is some interesting stuff related to parallel RPC calls and new batch calls that are now supported by api.steemitstage.com that need some looking into. Seems there could be a sweet spot somewhere with respect to batch size vs parallel RPC count max. Currently I'm to buddy with core functionality to look at it, so if you happen to have the time for it, I'dd be very interested in your findings.

This comment has received a 2.99 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @fersher. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68773.73
ETH 2716.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72