You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Tool] Make posting UI better without any browser plugin

in #steemdev7 years ago

Good job! However what makes this more save then a plugin? We need to run javascript too. We also can review the js code of a browser plugin... so there is no difference. I suggest you pack the script as a plugin :-) while keeping the source code on github. You'll get more users.

Sort:  

Thanks! :)

I don't think it is the same. Plugin is no more safe when your PC is compromised, even if the plugin source code is safe. Malware could twick the plugin to do something else that was originally not intended. What if the plugin is no more working due to Steemit.com's UI update and if it asks updating? Who can guarantee the new version is safe? How can we trust them? I would not trust anyone. And if your PC or browser is compromised? Plugin suddenly become a super useful tool for the hackers to grep the private information.

My short script cannot do anything else but readjusting the div tags. Easy to understand what it does and you don't need to worry about what it does behind the scene or what it would do if your PC is compromised. It is definitely million miles safer than installing plugin in my opinion.

I won't get more users if I make this code embedded into a plugin because then it won't be any better than the plugin which is already working well with tons of features. My script is only useful when you don't trust plugin.

Thanks for your opinion, I really appriciate it. I want more discussion about security and the code :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56