Steemdev: Feature request to add a hyperlink from an introductory blog into user profile settings, to be displayed on home page

in #steemdev7 years ago (edited)

I want to see your introductory blog

Why? Because you are my new friend! Mr reputation 68! I wonder what you are about? Tell me some things I don't know about you. Ahh, I have an idea... I'll go and check your intro post!
Five minutes later, you are still scrolling down and waiting for the next set of posts to load for this user... it must be here soon, they joined in July 2016...
OK, found it!.... Ah crap, this was the 3rd post they submitted... Hang on... I thought they'd moved to Asia... and were married now?! Balls! This post is way out of date! Maybe they have an updated version... I'll start scrolling back up... ahh, forget it, [clicks home and starts scrolling down again].


Sometimes we can miss the obvious

This actually wasn't my idea, I think I have been here too long to come up with it. 'New user' and girlfriend @osm0sis, is keen to grow her 'follow' list steadily, building relationships with photographers and travelers. For older users, we may have resigned ourselves to the fact that this list is about as useful as a chocolate fireguard, but if you could start from scratch, you'd do it better this time, right? :)

'I want to know where they live, where they are from, what they are interested in'

'I need to imagine the person'

Fair points, and something which could help answer these questions would be to read a users introductory post. However, the current issues are that:
  • This post could be 2000 blogs down a users feed
  • They may have 2/3 revisions hidden within their feed

What we need is an easy way to keep our latest 'about me' post visible and easily accessible



Presenting a possible solution

In the 'settings' page, an option to enter the URL of your most relevant introduction post:


4.png

The link to this post now appears on your 'blog' profile page when users click your username:


fin.png

Like all the best ideas, it's simple and I presume quite easy to develop into the existing interface.
How high on the priority list it would reach I am not sure, but I hope it is at least considered.


What do you guys think? Useful? A waste of development time? Or

We don't care! (stop talking about Steemit and do more blogs about yourself?!)


Thanks for reading and have a lovely Sunday!


Asher @abh12345

1.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @abh12345! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83