Can Steemit take a share of Linked-In? And find me a new job?

in #steemcv7 years ago (edited)

My Curriculum Vitae - Is it a Steemgig, a SteemCV, or just a blog?

(I up-vote all worthwhile comments on my posts)

A CV on Steemit? Why? What's the point here?....

Well, a few things really

1. How good is the markup on Steemit? Can i present a CV professionally, better than Linked-In?

2. What's visibilty like currently? Who's going to see/find it?

3. I need a new Job!

cvsteemit.PNG
source

The first i can answer by presenting my current CV.......


Asher - Curriculum Vitae

PERSONAL PROFILE
A polite and enthusiastic team player experienced in the delivery of custom applications as well as integrations between existing software and tools across the Microsoft platform. Fifteen years’ experience in internet technologies and databases, with responsibility for business critical systems. Seeking to continue and develop his career in SharePoint 2010/13/16/online as a technical/functional consultant.

BUSINESS EXPERIENCE

  • SharePoint Administrator and application ‘go-to’ from configuration to end user support
  • Development team lead
  • Software development, installation, configuration, and support experience gained in education and governmental organisations
  • Proven knowledge of software development and project life-cycle and business analysis
  • Experience working in multiple cross-functional / matrix based teams

PROJECT ACHIEVEMENTS

SharePoint 2010/13/16 Implementation, Development, and Support

  • Installation and configuration of multiple server farms supported by SQL cluster
  • Configuration of service applications including Search with multiple query components, User Profile Synchronisation Service with AD profile imports, Office Web Apps, and Session State
  • SSL provision and Kerberos authentication
  • Migration of existing publishing and team sites using PowerShell
  • Deployment of 2e2 CRM solution to provide document storage through SharePoint 2010
  • Custom Web Part deployments to provide personalised Student portal
  • Design and development of change management solution using custom workflows and forms

SharePoint 2007 Implementation

  • 18 month project resulting in 2 large intranet sites, student portal, and team site infrastructure
  • Multiple server ‘stretched’ farm to aid performance and provide redundancy at web tier
  • Leverage of InfoPath to provide electronic form submission
  • Integration of 3rd party custom navigation solution for publishing sites

QUALIFICATIONS

DateLevelResultSubject
09/2001Degree2:1BSc Hons in Computer Studies with Industrial Placement
09/1995BTECDistinctionComputer Studies

CAREER EXPERIENCE

DateCompanyJob title / role / duties
09/2016-Present...SharePoint Administrator
  • Manage standard administration activities – creation of site collections/databases; security
  • Deployment of solutions in pre-production, and production environments
  • Monitoring, Configuration, Performance tuning, and optimization
  • Incident analysis and troubleshooting
DateCompanyJob title / role / duties
08/2008–08/2015...Senior Software Engineer and Support Analyst
  • Acting development team leader
  • SharePoint 2010 – Technical Lead / Architect
  • Multiple server farm install
  • Service Application configuration
  • Content DB migration and upgrade
  • SharePoint 2007 – Technical Lead / Architect
  • Farm configuration, SSP, Search, InfoPath, Audiences, Monitoring, Backup, SSL
  • Card swipe and access control – Lead developer
  • Windows Server, SQL2k/5, ASP.net, C#
  • Migration of VLP data to new E-learning environment – Lead developer
  • Exchange Public Folders, WebDAV, ASP, SQL, VBScript, JavaScript
DateCompanyJob title / role / duties
06/2001–08/2008...Software Engineer / Virtual Learning Portal – Developer and support analyst
DateCompanyJob title / role / duties
07/1999–06/2001...Software Development and Support analyst
  • Web-based questionnaires
  • Online timetabling information

PROFESSIONAL TRAINING
PRINCE2™ Registered Practitioner (March 2013 expiry)
ITIL version 3 Foundation / Organisational Context - ISEB
SharePoint Administration Certified Professional / SQL Server 2005 Integration Services – Learning Tree

INTERESTS
Gym, Football, Travel, Ancient History, Reading


Straight-forward enough

The markup/styling is plentiful in my opinion, much better than you can do on Linked-in. Still, not quite up to the layout potential of MS Word - good enough though?

Visibility & final request

Now we just need the agencies / employers to join Steemit. I wonder what it would take for agencies to consider Steemit a location to hunt down new employees? For now, i suppose a google search could help locate the CVs. And could it be the forthcoming 'Communities' here on Steemit that can aid in connecting employers and future employees?

So... Is there any potential here? Anyone got a job for me!?

Thanks for reading today

Asher

1.gif

Sort:  

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 13.77 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @abh12345.

Wow, also took BS CS but I'm not as techie as you are ;)

Steemit is still growing, and a lot of ideas can be incorporated here such as steembnb, linkedin etc.,

But yeah, the linkedin tab, or lookingforajob tag can have its own subcommunity here I think. The companies are not here yet (but if they come here, they will just make their own money, and promote their own businesses), but there are a lot of people here who are in the tech field, who might be looking for entrepreneurs, or a start-up partner. Good luck!

Did you?! I wouldn't have guessed that!

It's something to think about, I hope companies would be here to recruit and not just take from the reward pool instead of looking to hire.

Obviously #Steemit has a long way to go before they can do anything like linked in, but there is scope for many things - steembnb is a good one!

Thanks for your comments as always!

Yeah, because I am posting my beach bumming around stories. But programming is taking so much of my time, confining myself in a room, maybe because I'm not that good lol. I like more data analysis, queries, more. I even have my own data and steemit report hahaha.

Yeah, look at travel category, there are already companies here just taking from our reward pool.

Ok good luck, I hope you find the right people here or may the right people find you.

Cool! What's on your steemit report? I need to get me one of these :)

I'm not too fussed about the new job just yet, there is a chance I'll go to Nepal to help at an orphanage for a few months. And yes, I'll be bumming it - no 5 star round there!

no 5 star round there!

This made me laugh, someone just commented on my post that he's into 5-star short trip and I said "ok good for you", lol!

Help at an orphanage? Wow, I didn't realize that!

So impressed. ;)

I just made my own report on excel, no fancy app lol. You just gather all your posts data, ex, post, links, time posted, author reward, whalebots, %, profit, lol. Then make a pivot table / charts haha. It's not so technical lol.

Ha! I don't think I've ever stayed at a 5*.

It's not definite yet, but I'm sure Steemit will find out if it does happen!

I'd like a report like that, I guess it's time to look at SteemSQL...

That's a very good CV, I'd like you were working with me!!!!

I think you should join Simbi and get some eyes on your cv. It's a barter platform and lots of good people are there. You will have enough points by joining to get 3-5 people looking at it and helping you improve.

I looked at your post since I am also looking for paying work now and thinking of steemgigs as a way into that.

You answered one question for me - I think it would be better to get your resume into a png and post that here so it looks better. The formatting of regular text is too much hassle, I think.

I think no matter what - you should make an update of your progress on this weekly and then people will follow your search and maybe have ideas for you as they have time to think of it. If you use Simbi to improve your cv you would show it in a post here, for example.

Here's my Simbi link if you want to try.
https://simbi.com/sharon-french/welcome

Hey, thanks for the link to Simbi, I will take a look and register through your link.

Currently still employed and lying at the beach so this will wait for today!

Thanks for your comment :)

You're welcome - the beach is always a great choice :)

Vow..You have experience on SharePoint 2016 new version. Great

Yes a little! Need some assistance? 😁

Yes, I would like to know what's new in SP 2016 as compared to 2013. Thanks

This post has received a 30.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @abh12345. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

This post has received a 6.70 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @abh12345.

There is also another role but it offers a bounty. although the bounty is one that gives basic income

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45