Every Day Can Be "Local Comic Shop Day" - Share Your Fun Events, Wednesday Hauls, and Shop Stories Here!

in #steemcomiccon6 years ago (edited)

Tomorrow, November 18th, is Local Comic Shop Day. This event is organized by the ComicsPro professional retail organization to help support and spread the word about independent comic shops in our communities. You can find out more about it at www.localcomicshopday.com.

local comic shop day.jpg

While it's a great initiative, much in the vein of "Small Business Saturday" which follows a week later, everyday can be Local Comic Shop Day and for many enthusiastic collectors a trip to the "LCS" is a weekly ritual.

If you're looking to discover a great creative business to support in your area, head out to your local comic shop! Share your favorite shop, events, and new acquisitions in this thread (whether it be on LCSD or just any day in the future!) so we can all revel in the geeky goodness together!


This post is the start of a discussion thread for the official Steem Comic Convention Forum. It is best viewed via the ChainBB service, here.

Visit www.steemcomicconvention.com

Sort:  

I got home from my Local Comic Shop Day excursion in the early afternoon. Setting my new acquisitions on the car's passenger seat beside me, their weight was enough to cause the passenger side airbag to disable for safety... It's always a good day when you know you've got geeky goods that are the equivalent of a small child right next to you.

I was at a shop just down the road from me which I previously wrote about here. For LCSD they were running a few different sales, such as half off most of their back issue comics. Since I've kind of moved away from collecting "floppy" issues and more toward building some bookshelves of quality collections I bypassed the back issue bins in favor of a decent selection of collected editions that were all 75% off!


Here's the hernia inducing pile.

LCShaul1.jpg


It's Marvel heavy, and is a mix of quality stuff such as MiracleMan & Batman Black & White, artists I really love like Frank Cho, Art Adams, and Leinil Francis Yu on the Hulk and Secret Invasion books, and some pure youthful nostalgia for me with the New Warriors trades and Acts of Vengeance Omnibus. Those take me right back to buying comics off the newsstands in 1990. Everything but the New Warriors are some nice, quality hardcovers which I prefer!

LCShaul2.jpg


Acts of Vengeance is the first Omnibus I've ever purchased from Marvel. These are massive books (this one clocks in about 750 pages) that are of great quality and gorgeously reproduced. I'd love to have a shelf full of them in the future, though it'll have to be one sturdy ass shelf due to how much just one volume weighs!

LCShaul3.jpg


All in all it was a great trip. Dropped about $70 ($280 cover price... those Omnibuses... Omnibi? Whatever... are $100+ alone) on what I'd like to say was some early Christmas shopping, but truth be told they're all for me. Ah the lure of 75% off. I hope the shop cleared some "dead stock" and shelf space and had a great event all day.

Anyone else take in a nice haul of their own recently?

Good luck with it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98