Acused of spam by steemit cleaners

in #steemcleaners7 years ago (edited)

This hermit is DONE. Pke me with a fucking fork.
I will hang in for papa-peppers contest, but I will not be posting anything else.
Spam. Fuck that. 'Trying to help newbies. 'Spam. Fuck that.

OK. I am a little calmed down, I am going to explain the best I can.

I got my first "real world" friend to join yesterday. I used the "introduceyourself" tag on my "Fish Net Stalking" award to her. It is the ONLY time I used that tag, because it was a REAL friend. Stemmitcleaners said I was abusing the tag.

I also decided to stop the "Fish Net Stalking" award. I started it to try to help nebies, it was not really helping them and it was becoming a sad thing for me to do... pick someone and "highlight" them so they would get nothing much for the effort. I used the EXACT same tags to announce the end of the award that I used to give the award all this time. Stemmitcleaners acused me of spam again.

I feel like steemitcleaners zeroed in om me and decided to wreck my reputation for doing nothing more than trying to help new people on steemit.

Powering down now.

Bye.

Sort:  

About three months back someone of high reputation replied to my comment with the words 'Haha! Brilliant. You have a great name! UPvoted and followed! =)' and then downvoted me, by mistake I'm hoping, tumbling my rep several points.
I was furious for hours until I realised it didn't matter at all in the scheme of things and I was enjoying myself too much on Steemit to give up.

I love your blog, always something different. Please reconsider.

Thanks for the kind words. The whales using bots to upvote each other without reading content and then making bots to downvote original content that no human ever looked at to see if it really deserved to be called "spam" is not something I care to participate in. This is not a new problem. no one ever tries to fix it. This will soon be a site where bots go and make whales richer and new people get trashed by the bots the whales made to prevent newbies from ever becoming whales. This site will die of whale ego - bot supported circle jerking. I am a "canary in the coal mine" sort of person. If this site is to become something that average HUMANS want to support, the bots have to go. At LEAST have downvotes reviewed by an actual human before they go shit on people. Yes, I am WAY too sensitive, but I REFUSE to become cold and heartless so I can tolerate shit from bots that no human should tolerate.

I hope having your issue reviewed by an actual human makes you feel a little better. Patrice seems to be a good skin who does a lot of sterling work for the platform. I do hope to see you back, but all the best anyway.

Totally understand what you went through last night and still going through... and very glad we already connected outside of steemit... Hope you'll leave me some comments here and there, as long as I still give this a try... as you know, I feel pretty much the same about the issue and listen to the canary in the coal mine.... big hug!!!!

Absolutely, you are the "gem" I found on this adventure!
HUGS!

I'd love to see @sherlockholmes do an investigation on @steemcleaners.

When Steemit's SELF-APPOINTED spam police become spam/abuse themselves, then who is to be accountable for that?

Unfortunately not them because they've managed to out-power most of the users they are calling out. Like do they call out anyone they can't overpower?

@steemcleaners is like a cop on a power trip.

Who is/are it/they?

Here's their introductory post - https://steemit.com/steemcleaners/@steemcleaners/announcing-steemcleaners-the-steemit-abuse-fighting-team

Apparently, they are us? Whatever the case...some of their actions are questionable.

Tags are here for us to use on our posts. Which tags are trending is irrelevant. We are limited to 5 tags to prevent us from spamming tags. Who is @steemcleaners to decide whether our use of a certain tag is relevant or not? In my humble opinion, the Steemit tag is always relevant.

The fact that the @adm account ALWAYS upvotes the @steemcleaners comments is shady at the very least.

There are a lot of posts regarding this:

This is one of the broken parts of Steemit. I'd like to encourage you to stay and help fix it.

Thank you. I thought adm was actually the administrators of the site, leading me to see no way to fix it if this is how the admins WANT it. Even if that is just a bot, the actual admins have never bothered to tell them to stop with their spam... so... I am pulling my earnings out. I am not posting any more content, why risk having a whalebot undo all I work for? I will stick around long enough to finish powering down, and comment here and there. If there is some EFFORT toward fixing this before I am powered down, I may hang around. What I see is a LONG track record of these bots trashing the actual ORIGINAL CONTENT of ACTUAL HUMANS and Ned and Dan off on another money making scheme, can't be bothered to fix this one. They got their fortune out of this platform and moved on... left it to be run by bots. They whales do not curate, they use bots to upvote their buddies without ever reading the content. Then they set up "whales" that ARE bots to go downvote the posts of real people. Unless and until the WHALES decide this is a problem there will be no changes... and the whales are making bank. The bot was in a twist over posts that made TEN CENTS. Yep, that is me just raping the rewards pool... Meanwhile, they go vote each other's hate speech up, making more for their bot-driven circle jerk posts than I have ever made for a fully original post.

What can I say? You have many, many valid points.

Did they actually downvote any of your posts though? I can't find any.

Well, you may be right. I saw that some 75 rep whate and the adinnistrators of the site had called my posts "spam" and pretty much freaked out. I suffer anziety issues, have not had an attack oin over a year but that send me into one INTSTANTLY.
You know, the Lauralemons thing happened right after I joined. I am NOT sticking around to let BOTS beat me down, and I am stunnned that everyone thinks it is just OK to let AI shit on humans.
I have many valid points you say... DId I hear an apology for wrongfully acusing me? Nope... that would require you admitting in your mind that your precious bot made a mistake... and if a bot made one mistake, it might make many mistakes.... and there is no human taking responsbility for those mistakes...
And you can justify this and rationalize it all you like, it is NOT RIGHT.
Turn off your fucking bots and be a human tallking to humans, THAT is "social media." What you all are running is a bot-driven cult of personality. The whales are too lazy to even read posts any more, just upvote by bot for their favorite people.
Have a great time, I am not going to let your fucking AI ruin my self esteem every again. I thought they were real people...

Um, with all due respect and my empathy for what you've been through, but it sounds as if you're directing this at me as if I am a part of it, and that's just not the case.

If I have misunderstood, please forgive my mistake.

I agree with you...hence me saying you have many valid points. I actually commented on your post because I resonated with the things you were doing...such as your curation post.

I felt that, like me, you were trying to find a way outside of Minnow Support (I have my own story with them!), Curie, and the many other mutually beneficial systems in place, to do your own thing on your own level to help others here on Steemit.

I have created a half-baked idea along those same lines in Project Uplift.

Anyway, like I said, I agree with what you are saying, but I'm not ready to bail just yet. I'd rather see it through and perhaps be part of a possible solution than do that.

You gotta do what you gotta do though, so I wish you the best.

My apologies, I thought you were somehow "representing" the damn bots. I don't even know what "curie" is. I was "sold" on the site as a "meritocracy" where people decide what content is good and what users are being trolls. Then I get bots with reputations higher than most of the real people calling my posts "spam" and the humans are all OK with it. It is NOT ok... not by me. But I am still "out of sorts." That is the thing, I have given up MANY activities that I loved because I cannot function for days after one of those damned attacks. I am still in "fight or flight" at a certain level, you showed up and I was ready to fight... My apologies.

No worries, my friend. I hope a change might occur during the weeks that you are powering down, and you can stay.

I have no desire to stay unless the bots are booted, but thank you.

This is terrible news, and an example of a system not working. I am sorry this happened to you - your award was the first thing that happened to me here and really got me excited about the platform. I looked forward to checking out your choice every day. I just didn't have the juice behind my upvotes. You were doing curating on your own which must have been tough. You should have been applauded for that, but instead got flagged :( Booooo on the system that flags you.

Thank you. That comment means the world to me.

Hello,I'm a new be, please explain.

Thanks. The only part I really understand is "Fuck that". Been pissed off many times.lol

I will really miss you here, you were a super fun poster in my feed and turned me on to a number of newbies. Ya know you can always come back. Much love

Thank you. I have 13 weeks before I get my earnings out of here, I will try to converse with the friends I have made at least but no more original content for the bots to trash. I am human, I have feelings and I have "issues." I had a full blown anxiety attack over that bullshit that kept me up half crying all night. I do NOT need that kind of bullshit in my life, and I will NOT tolerate having BOTS ruin my day. Or night. Ned and Dan and the whales can fix this bullshit but they choose to ignore it. They use bots to upvote each other and create bots to downvote the peons. I am hoping to see some sort of change before I am fully powered down but have NO expectation of it. Everyone making money loves things JUST the way they are...
But thank you for your kind words, it means a LOT more to me than bots who trash me.

I am so sorry to hear. You are very much correct. I had a few run-ins with @cheetah before I fully understood it. And IIRC I got some flack for using the #steem tag -- and I was talking about the currency!

Please reconsider. I will miss you a great deal. Or, musically:

Looks like both steemit.com and steemitstage.com are broken today; I'm typing this comment on busy.org. Really sucks for my investment, although I'm surprised that STEEM is staying over a dollar -- it had fallen prior to the bad software update and initiation of the DDoS attack. Both of which happened at "the same time" so I'm wondering if there really is a DDoS attack at all, or if it's just a cover for bad practices...

I am staying until the selfie contest is over. It is my ONE chance to actually earn a little bit for the time and effort I put in here. If by some chance Dan and Ned step in and put the reins on bots running around here like little auto-tyrants, I will stay. I do not see that happeneing. All the humans have WILLINGLY surrenedered their RESPONSIBILITY to keep the content quality up to AI. I am NOT jiggy with that. I will NOT have AI judging my work, and declaring me spam for my original content. I don't care HOW meaningless the post is, I will NOT be judged by bots. This is not just a negative thing, when I found out you were upvoting me without reading my content I asked you to quit. You know that. I think it is destryong the site, turning it into a cult of personalities rather than people actually READING posts and upvoting GOOD posts. But then to have bots run around and declare some people unworthy... No, no, hell no. Fucking bots gave me a VERY real anxiety attack. You want me to stay for more of that? Frankly, I worry about you being on here, with bots running our emotions up and down. Real people are hard enough, but when IMAGINARY BEINGS start deciding what is worthy of reward and what is not... I am OUT.
I WILL NOT be judged by bots and I will NOT recommend this site to anyone else until this is a HUMAN interaction, not a big whale-blowing-bot-fest.

It's amusing that the 46 cent upvote on your comment I'm replying to was done by the account @gentlebot.

I think you're overreacting, but I know I do the same so please don't take me as saying "calm down" because that doesn't help.

However, the facts here appear to be that a piece of software was triggered and made an automatic comment on your post.

It did not downvote you, it did not affect your reputation score, and it did not affect your wallet or earnings on that post.

It was written by a faulty human (or more than one) and it likely has faults that were not intended by the developer(s). And looking at it differently, steemit.com is a "bot" -- it's a piece of software that takes certain actions based on inputs, and gives certain outputs.

If you're making an ultimatum that "either the bots go or I do", well, I think you're going. And that makes me sad, because I want to think there's something I can do. I can't eliminate the bots. But I might, just might, be able to help you to change your mind.

I love your stories and I will miss them. You have great character, and some wonderful experiences and a flair for writing about them in a compelling fashion.

The angry whale incident was rather traumatic for me. I empathize. I considered leaving then, and took steps to make myself "less popular" -- delegating everything to MinnowBooster, for instance, so my upvotes went back to being worth nothing.

The errors with the site in the past few weeks have been even more discouraging, especially as an investor (at much higher levels than it's at now... :( ).

I understand that your perspective is consistent -- you asked me to stop the automatic upvoting, and I did. I'm conflicted on that feature, myself. I come from a background of writing software, and specifically automating things that were generally previously done by humans, so I've written a lot of "bots" in my career although we didn't call them that, just "scripts" or "programs".

I really want to be able to write software again. I'm reading the EOS whitepaper right now.

As something to consider, Facebook and every other "traditional" social media site uses "bots" to filter and censor. They might not be identified as such, or visible to the user -- but, they ensure that truthiness doesn't spread much, and "fake news" does.

We have each others' email, so please let me know if you find a better place to converse.

"It did not downvote you, it did not affect your reputation score, and it did not affect your wallet or earnings on that post."
I do not give a flying fuck about that stuff. I spent all night thinking not just humans but a 75 rep whale and the site administrator had personally called me a spammer. I am a chicken farming granny, not a tech person. I barely get around on here, I can't tell a bot from a human unless someone tells me most of the time. It is a fucked up thing to let AI say shit to humans as if they were a human, when no human ever even looked at the post.
I do NOT think I am over-reacting, I think everyone who is OK with bots passing judgement on humans is doing a "head in sand" maneuver. You LIKE the idea of transhumanism?

Well, I have worn glasses for decades, so I guess, guilty as charged...

We're communicating using computers. Computers are designed to automate processes. I used to write software to do so. Now I don't, but I also don't think the computers should be destroyed.

I have a feeling that two of the goals of the transhumanist movement are to get us away from God, and to make us more willing to accept "the chip". So -- perhaps, I should think the computers should be destroyed.

I'm familiar with how software works; so, this is somewhat "my domain" just as the other social media site was more "your domain" as I hadn't done much in politics, and still haven't although I did attend that caucus in '12 which was eye-opening. Anyway I know there are evil things that happen in politics which you had to become aware of in order to be successful in that domain, and I'm hoping that this is another of those instances. And that it won't drive you away.

I took myself away from the other place twice; once for a month, and then later for a year, even though the site closed a couple months after I left -- I still felt the pain of my decision for many more times longer than I needed to, due to the amount of energy I had put into my rejection.

I also felt rejection and abandonment, even though I had caused those -- I stepped away. It's not other people's "responsibility" to reach out to me and see if I'm okay, even if they had the ability to since only a few had my email.

I know you are feeling bad. I hope that you don't take actions which will make you feel worse, like I have done.

Well, the two times that I have taken months long breaks from the internet I enjoyed it immensely. I do not like "communicating" on telephones, let alone computers, it has cheapened the concept of "communication. First we removed body language with phones, then we removed tone of voice with email, then we removed nuance with texts... we call all this "keeping in touch" when actually it prevents us from going and physically being with the people we are supposedly keeping in touch with.
I am eager for the day there is a major grid outage. People are disconnecting not only from each other, but from the very notions of what make us "human."
Just to be clear, I am not sitting around feeling sorry for myself, I am pretty much "over it" already and excited about how I plan to use the time I freed up. I am sticking around until the end of that contest, and the 13 week payout thing I realized is sort of a perpetual "drag it on" so I will leave the account open, but I will stop replying to comments after the contest is over, I will stop even checking this site except on rare occasions to see if there is anything to cash out. If by some chance the humans here decide to overthrow the AI, I will come back. I do not see that happening, everyone appears to love their bot overlords. Cheers!

You haven't been flagged by steemcleaners. I looked at the posts and the full comment should not have been left as you are not tag spamming. I edited it to the abbreviated version.

We've stepped up commenting on those using the 'steemit' tag after a post calling on user to flag posts incorrectly tagged 'steemit' were heavily flagged dropping reputations below 10. I've had to help a few members recover their reputation when they misused the tag.

We don't target anyone. Either someone reported the tag misuse or one of our members happened to see it as we were curating.

A, fabulous. It is an entire team of self appointed thought police. But such benevolent cops, after they beat you up, they help put a bandage on you.
What you all are doing is what will ruin this platform. If you did not READ THE POST then do not upvote it or down vote it. Bots ruling over the humans here... that is just stupid. Humans lining up to be regulated by bots hoping for a few pennies... pathetic. Humans grabbing the "power" of ruining then restoring reputations... TYRANNY.

This is by far the best post I have ever read on steemit

Congratulations @fishyculture! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am very sorry I never had your reward, I never even heard of it till now. I do not like this, but it is a bot is it not @steemitcleaners? or will there be real people behind it? I think it is set to certain words.

This is several months old now, and I stuck it out. Thanks for the kind words. I also learned some things since then, but I am still not 100% sure this is accurate - I think the cheetah is a bot, and when cheetah upvotes your post steemitcleaners, who is a person, comes and checks. If there is plagiarism, they will downvote you. If there is no plagiarism, the won't. The bot still shows up, and every time that bot "upvotes" anyone, their post is DEAD. People don't see it as an "upvote" they see it as an accusation of cheating, and then scroll on by. If steemitcleaners checks it out, cheetah should have to remove their vote, that bot IS guilty of serial "abuse" in my opinion.

that sounds horrible! I had it with my contest, and I answered the bot with yes it is the same text of course and I hope to do it for years. Now it did not succeed but it never got flagged. Like you say that is not a good system, I was on the search for steemcleaners when I came to your blog. I wanted to go there to somehow find out if you can not give a penalty to someone who you think goes very unrespectful about serious happenings like the shooting at that school and so on.

Accusing someone of plagiarism and not liking what someone is saying are not really on the same level. If you don't like what someone is saying, click on past, mute them, flag them if it really bothers you. Why would you attempt to silence people just because you don't like what they say? They may be correct, even if you do not like what they say, you know?

Oh yes I do know what you mean, of course they can be right although about the shooting in the school in US, and bombing in Brussel I doubt if they can be right, about Belgium I know they are wrong. But when you write something you have to be able to a discussion or not? To be told , believe what we say or shut up and listen silently or f of, was for me reason to flag. And lucky more people did think so, because the whole artikel dissapeared due to law ratings. But when you look what is wrote in the past, you know you better watch them close and step in as soon as it goes to far. But maybe you and I have a different view of that.

OK, I agree with that. There are terrible lies being told to all of us, we need to be gentle with each other and SEEK THE TRUTH.
Peace, my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64116.01
ETH 2758.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65