Introducing Project Uplift - An Open Source Curation and Promotion Effort for ALL

in #steemit7 years ago

Since the moment I staked my claim on Steemit, I've been trying to think of ways to add value to this community, uplift other users, and promote what I think is important around here.

I spend more and more time on Steemit everyday reading, commenting, and writing.

I feel a great responsibility to this community in exchange for the privilege of being a member of it.

I first had the idea for Project Uplift exactly a month ago today.

I originally wanted it to be an acronym, and I brainstormed all kinds of ridiculousness that U.P.L.I.F.T. could stand for to no avail. 

Can you come up with something? I'd love to cram more meaning behind the movement.


Image

The General Idea

The general idea I had behind Project Uplift was to, well, UPLIFT others. I'm not talking about the people copying and pasting YouTube videos all day or the ones copying anything really. 

I'm talking about the people who are writing exclusively for Steemit. 

They write well-thought-out posts that add value and diversity to our community.

It's hugely important that the effort be crowd-sourced to be effective.

If it's just me, there are limits on the amount of content I can share and who that content will be from.

When I was new to Steemit, it was a solid 2 months of being the lone stranger before I began to see decent returns on my efforts. 

I look at a user like @jerrybanfield, and it really puts things to perspective on what can be accomplished on this platform. He joined the same time I did. He must have accomplished the status of Whale in record time!

Our Responsibilities to Steemit



Image

We have a couple responsibilities around here. 

👉🏻 First, we need to offer value to the community via the medium of our content. The best case scenario is that your content and the content you choose to be a part of Project Uplift be written for, and exclusive to, Steemit.

👉🏻 We are the Steemit Police. Because of the nature of this place, it's only natural that people will try to exploit the reward pool. There's a fine line between policing based on personal opinion and policing based on spam, hatred, etc. Be on the right side.

👉🏻 Honor yourself and others with your activity on Steemit.

I'm sure there's more I could put here, but I find too much of this kinda stuff stifling. It's not up to me to tell you how to use Steemit. 

Evolution

This could possibly evolve into a regular curated post much like you see from the likes of @ocd, @curie, or @cem

If that's something you'd like to be a part of then I'd love to collaborate with you because honestly, I haven't a clue how to run something like that...but I'd like to.

How to Participate


Image

Comment on this post and help me develop this idea?

Use the tag: projectuplift

DO NOT use the tag on your own content unless you are writing about the project. 

Well How Am I Supposed to Use the Tag Then? 

It's not like I can change the tags on someone else's article.

Right. 

This is where I need help. 

I've used the tag on an article I wrote to share a Steemit Chrome extension with my followers because I really liked the tool. However, I'm not sure creating a whole new post about someone else's post if the best approach. 

I guess this is kind of where the "open source" part comes in. Rather than creating a Project Uplift account or bot or whatever that reaps all of the rewards of the curation posts, YOU create the curation post of the people you see fit to uplift and promote. Use the tag. Let others comment, upvote, and resteem. 

The idea is to uplift each other and share ALL the rewards together.

Let's make this idea grow into something larger than ourselves.

Sort:  

This is an excellent idea... I hope it works out. As someone that writes exclusively on Steemit, I can tell you that it's difficult work- ideas don't just write themselves!

It's a bit half-baked. I've been thinking about something like this for a while, but I don't really have the technical understanding currently to make a go of it.

My interest is writing, not learning every minute detail about Steemit. Blockchain is freaking complicated.

I'm also not interested in creating something where I reap a ton of rewards. Of course I want rewards, but I feel the rewards should go to the content creators and community as a whole.

I'm by no means saying that other curation projects are doing it wrong, I just like to march to my own drummer.

I want to do something amazing...that is all.

You will... Nobody succeeds on their first idea (usually) I know I haven't!

Oh good, I'm on like my millionth idea. LOL

Cool... Just do what I do- keep chucking them out there and sooner or later one will hit! I hope I hurry up, I'm running out of time lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64866.50
ETH 2555.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65